We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
45
51
23
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
51
23
5
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 133 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

If you prefer an apartment with lots of space and good parking then this is the choice. Good quality furniture spacious rooms, good seating room and full kitchen. In the center of Sandton but in a quite area

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 776vitorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Hello Vitor B,

Firstly thank you for your review, feedback is one way we ensure we offer the best possible service at a great price. Being centrally located in the Sandton CBD and in a very quiet area, ensures your stay is very peaceful and safe. Hope to see you soon.

NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

You have to keep in mind that this review is being written taking the cost of this accommodation into consideration. If you're looking for luxury accommodation, look elsewhere. That said, for the price and area of Johannesburg (Sandton is probably the safest and most up-end suburb in the city), you'd be hard pressed to find better accommodation than the Glenalmond.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating -- even before our arrival, they made arrangements for transportation to await us at the airport (which we paid directly to the driver), and for two day tours (the Cradle of Humankind and Soweto) at very good prices.

The rooms are small fully furnished (including kitchen) mini-apartments with a living room (with TV + cable) and balcony, and one or two bedrooms, with air conditioning in the main room. Note that the one-bedroom comes with a single double bed (the two-room has a double bed in one room and two singles in the other), so if you need a different arrangement (e.g. extra mattress or folding bed in the bedroom or living room), make sure to let them know in advance.

The bathrooms are not super-modern, but acceptable and reasonably clean. Showers have good temperature and water pressure. There's even a washer and dryer guests can use at no charge (just bring your own wash powder).

The hotel has a pool as well. We didn't make use of it, as it was a little cool (winter-time...), but I'm sure it would be nice in the summer.

Breakfast is served in the "Coffee Shop" next to the reception (and may be included in the room price, depending on what you reserved). It's a reasonable breakfast in South African style, with warm food (eggs, mushrooms, sausages; on one of the 3 days we spent here they also had bacon), and muesli/cereals with fresh fruits and milk or yogurt, and of course coffee and tea.

The hotel is quite safe, bring situated in what is generally considered the safest residential location in Johanbesburg, and like most other hotels and private residences in South African cities, surrounded by a security wall. As it's generally considered not safe/unwise to leave the premises after dark, there's an entire menu of restaurants from which you can order deliveries to your room (at reasonable prices), via one central number -- you get the delivery within 45 minutes.

During the day, you can go out and it's a short (~15 min / a little over 1 km) walk to Nelson Mandela Square and the Sandton City Mall, apparently the largest shopping center in the city.

All in all, taking into consideration the cost, a good accommodation option in Johannesburg which I can recommend.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank igal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Hello Igal,

Wow, what a very detailed review with a lot of very very useful information on our establishment. We wish we could give you more than one like for the review :-) Your reviews on your trips are one of the best. Thank you for choosing the hotel and your honest opinion, we hope to see you soon.

NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights. The apartment was very spacious and clean and I think reasonably priced! It's walking distance to gautrain station and Sandton city. I didn't recieve the best welcome at reception but the service and friendliness over the next few days made up for it. I also was a tad concerned about the locks on the doors as some seemed faulty. But otherwise a big 4 stars!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank lariebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Hello lariebo,

It is great getting very insightful opinions from out guests and for that we are grateful. The welcome was certainly not what we stand for but we are glad that it improved over the duration of your stay. We will address the issue of the locks and perhaps look into a better system. See you soon.

NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

My apartment was much larger than I needed, and very spacious and bright. A couple of problems though: there was no privacy if the bedroom curtains were open, plugs in the bedroom not enough, kitchen was not well equipped, and noisy staff in the coffee shop (they shout at each other instead of talking) My arrival was late, and I didn't feel welcome and was a bit apprehensive to go in as the Night Manager? security officer? receptionist? was not terribly friendly. But a great location, comfortable, and excellent value for money

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Hello Mozchick,

Thank you for your review, we happily welcome any recommendations of our establishment. Your suggestions have been looked into and actioned. Our sincere apologies for the welcome which did not suit our image as a warm friendly hotel that is an area of staff training which we will certainly address. Next time you are in Sandton do give us a try.

NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

We stayed for 3 days on a business trip. Nothing was too much for the staff. A friendly hello with a smile from the gardener and gate personel to general management. Exceptionally clean rooms. We arrived in the rain and there was a puddle at the entrance to our upstairs door. It was no trouble to get a large bathmat for us to use for our feet. When the municipality switched off the water one the afternoon, we received a letter from the front desk explaining the situation and then a 5L bottle of water! Breakfast can be ordered and delivered to your room. What can you say ... but on the ball staff. Our upstairs apartment had views of treetops and with the birds in the trees, you didn't know that you are in the centre of the city.

Room tip: Choose an upstairs unit - its much more private and secure
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeKotzenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Hello DeKotzenhof

We are glad you were impressed by our hotel and even more that our wonderful staff made sure your stay was great. Thank you for understanding the issue of the water cut due to repairs by the council. We hope to see you again soon.

NJBL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews