We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and Top Notch facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2011

After reading previous reviews on this website I had mixed feelings about this hotel. I was staying there over a weekend as well as attending a function in one of their function rooms, all I can say is wow! The staff are amazing and friendly, never once did I have to ask for anything It was all provided with a smile, from the front desk to the waiters nothing was ever too much for them. The rooms were great and the decor was outstanding. I arrived on Friday night after a long day and flight I felt a mess and was exhausted, and was definately not looking forward to my conference starting the next day. I arrived at the check-in desk and everything was handled swiftly and efficiently, I was escorted to my room and given the low down on how everything works and made to feel extremely comfortable, I fell in love with the rooms designs, the soft comfortable bed and just the general cleanliness of the decor and surrounds. The bathroom was exactly what I was needing after a long day with a fantastic powerful shower,fluffy robes and slippers, and the little touch with the turn down servide with Lindt chocolate made me feel right at home. I also sampled their delightful breakfast (which is included in your room cost) the room service and had the most amazing cocktails on the pool deck, I cannot think of one bad thing to say about any of this. The food was gorgeous from their salads to hamburgers it was all lovely.
On the business side of things I got to use one of their function rooms, here again they outshone, constant refreshments, sandwiches, pastries, freshly baked biscuits and tea, coffee, water and fresh juices. Their function rooms are light and airy with all the neccesary equipment you might need. The whole conference never wanted for anything from opening a door to producing delectable goodies we were all suitably impressed!
All in all an amazing experience!! This is a hotel which goes the extra mile. I was made to feel like royalty and everyone was amazingly friendly and helpful. A huge congrats go to the team at Da vinci. Thankyou for making my stay amazing and for taking note of the little things. Next time im in Joburg you will definately be seeing me.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jvandermerwe, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your value, positive, feedback. We have shared this information with all our staff as we use positve and negative feedback as training on an ongoing basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Thank you again.

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 595 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed there with a high end tour. The location is excellent, right by Nelson Mandela Square.
The hotel is balck and white everywhere - very modern. The rooms are poorly designed. Some things, including the clothing racks are so high they have to provide a step ladder. I suggested they just lower the bar. The bathroom is glass and separated from the bedroom with a curtain but if one person puts on the light it wakes their spouse.
The beds are comfortable and the service fine.
The chairs in the breakfast restaurant are so low you feel like you are sitting on the floor.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jvandermerwe, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the feedback form and for meeting with me on departure. As I explained to you then, we were in the process of lower the rails in all wardrobes and I am pleased to say, have completed the whole Hotel.
With regards to the lighting, we are looking into a "Night Light" solution, as used in Hotels in America, however this is not a very energy / green friendly solution. We are therefore experimenting with various other LED / battery operated options and hopefully will come up with a suitable solution soon.
Lastly, we are sad to hear that you were not impressed with the design and the interior of the Hotel. It is quite new and different, which is in line of what we stand for "being completely different yet we offer all the standards in service on expects from traditional 5 star Hotels".
If there is anything else I can assist with that will change your perception of the DAVINCI Hotel & Suites, please do not hesitate to call.

Best
Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Came just after World Cup n only 2 months after hotel opened-bad move. Pros: good location, spacious rooms, nice gym. Cons: reception staff failed to call to follow up on a matter despite promise to do so, house keeping did not pick up phone despite calling over a two hour period, rubbish in bin not cleared upon checking in, house keeping did not replace empty tissue box, no in house movie channel, tv channels not set up in proper order, electronics in room not stable, directory on phone inadequately listed (no room number labelled, no instructions on how to do room to room call), lights poorly located

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jvandermerwe, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Dear Guest

We have responded to you personally in writing with regards to your listing on the DAVINCI Hotel & Suites. We trust this is in order and will go a long way in remedying the perception and experience you have with us.

If there is anything further we can assist with or if there is anything else we can do that will ensure your return to our Hotel in the near future, please feel free to contact us.

Best
Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Valtien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui_Antunes1, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Martavibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank carolturchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
979 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $169 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing