We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel...”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is in an excellent location in the Sandton mall. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within a few feet of the hotel. I would consider it more trendy then luxurious but still very nice. The service was definitely one of the best parts. I contacted the hotel ahead of time to arrange for something special to celebrate my husbands birthday. I got a response within the same day and they arranged for wine, cheese plate, complementary chocolate covered strawberries, and romantic turndown service. Upon entering the room I was shocked at how nice it actually was, they really went above and beyond. I also visited the spa for several treatments and was also impressed. The staff are very well trained and friendly. Ivy, who did most of my treatments was excellent, and I was impressed with her skills and knowledge. One issue we did have was our transportation which was organized by the hotel did not show up at the airport. Although this was quite frustrating, the hotel fixed the problem quickly and didn't charge us. Overall I had a great stay and would definitely return to the DaVinci in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear ShannonS1981,

I thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the transport, this was discussed in detail with our Transport provider.

Furthermore I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, the Hotel, facilities and service. I thank you for the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto all staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    179
    41
    12
    7
See reviews for
50
114
32
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel easily accessible from the airport by Train or hotel arranged transport, hotel sits directly above the shopping mall which leads to Nelson Mandela square with many restaurants.
the hotels restaurants are also fault less.
Staff actively try to be helpful at all times. but be prepared for everyone to wish you a good day and ask if they can help.
Sitting by the pool for dinner of lunch makes it difficult to drag yourself away. There is also an excellent second restaurant which is also used as the breakfast room.
Stayed in a King room, décor is far from bland event though it is black and white throughout.
Attention to detail throughout, high end bath, walk in shower, Extremely comfortable bed and chairs in the room.
Wi-Fi is faultless and substantially faster that others in the area first 350Mb was free and sufficient for this business trip, would also stay for leisure if it was not so far away from home.

Room Tip: There has been some building work in the area over 2013 continuing through 2014 affecting many hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALGH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear ALGH2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and elaborate report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have visited this hotel once some while ago and am about to stay here again in 2 days.
I found it to be extremely convenient, elegantly built, very good cuisine and most importantly polite, courteous and helpful staff. Easy to reach, solid wifi access, great places to visit outside and luxurious breakfast spread.
While this will just be my second stay here, I have recommended Da Vinci to several colleagues and almost all of the employees from my company coming to Sandton, stay here only by choice. And I get the credit for recommending the place :)
PS: just 2 points...i just wish there were some smoking rooms, but thats a minor inconvenience considering all the other positives of this place. also, i wish the mini bar had at least some complimentary alcoholic beverages. i was told its only available for upgraded rooms.
Rekhank Pant - Wipro India.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rekhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Rekhank,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.

It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the mini bars in the rooms. Although we offer a few complimentary mini bar items in some of our upgraded rooms, these do not include any alcoholic beverages. Although we do not have any smoking rooms in the hotel, we will definitely try to give you a room with a balcony for your next stay.

Thank you very much for recommending us to your colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I found this to be a very clean, functional and efficient business hotel in a prime business location. The staff were all friendly and efficient and both early check in and late check out were accommodated on request. The free parking was useful and the easy walk to the Gautrain too.
Breakfast was better than other hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hglynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear hglynjones,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rui Antunes
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel. . Wonderful location The lifts take you to the shopping Mall. The staff were just a pleasure to talk to and deal with.
Hats off to Martha, The Front Desk Manager. Very pleasant Lady.
Will be here again on my next trip

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank afzalmoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear afzalmoti,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely pass your feedback on to Martha. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at this central sandton hotel twice in a week whilst on a business trip in Southern Africa

These were the first experience of this hotel (although I have stayed at their hotel in Accra) and this was a joy. Quirky restaurant on one floor reception three floors above, and then rooms above that.

Rooms well appointed and of a good size only one observation there are not enough plugs sockets that you can get to to charge things - in today's age phones, iPads and Blackberrys all need to be charged each day

Service was great friendly and the when you wanted it.

Recommend? Of course this is a good place to chill at the end of the day

Room Tip: If possible get a room over looking Mandela Square they are quieter than the ones over looking the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Barry B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for your future stays we will assist by adding a multiplug to your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend here in June 2014 and loved it. It was refreshing to be surrounded by a black and white modern decor as opposed to the regular beige that's characteristic of most hotels.
Check in was fast and efficient, staff was friendly and always willing to be of service.
Our room was meticulous and though we didn't spend much time in it (shopping and dining was what the weekend was all about!!) we appreciated the standards that the hotel keeps.
The breakfast was fantastic with a wide array of foods that catered to every palate and diet. Their gluten free bread was particularly appreciated. Kudos to Mr. Osward Musonda from the restaurant who went above and beyond in ensuring that out needs were met to our satisfaction.
We're definitely staying here again soon!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chikoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Chikoj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above review for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful weekend with us and will definitely ensure that Osward is made aware of your comments.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Property: DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing