We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here on the last night of a two week tour of South Africa. Everyone of the staff were well trained, professional, and eager to please. The hotel is well located on Mandella Square and attached to a large shopping mall. The decor is modern with all the perks you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supergil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Supergil,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report for us. It is always good to hear when our guests have a wonderful stay with us as we strive to offer only the best possible service.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 617 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel briefly, only one night while on our honeymoon and we were very pleased. The location was great and the room was beautiful. I enjoyed the modern decor and the plush bed and pillows. The staff was very accommodating and surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a plate of delicious chocolate truffles.
The adjacent restaurant, Maximillien was great as well. The included breakfast was plentiful and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear MiamiTravel101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and that we could contribute to your honeymoon memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My first contact with South-African people was immediately very positive thanks to the kind, helpful and professional attitude of the staff of this hotel. This positive experience continued when I discovered a beautiful room with a very good bed, complete bathroom and all the amenities (and even more) you can expect in such a kind of hotel. The breakfast offered a large choice but I had to wait long for my coffee each morning. I didn't try the restaurant but the whisky/cigar bar is very cosy and offers a large choice at moderate rates.
Two tips: ask to open a credit on your room by check-in since they don't propose it to you spontaneously: it will help you to charge some expenses on your room later. Second tip is to ask (pay) for a more MB on your WiFi because the basic package is very low and does not allow you to open all your files needed.
I can thus absolutely recommend this hotel even if I was waken-up once at 05:00 am by the noise of a generator (extern on the hotel) starting to work during 2 hours...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Karl H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above report on our TripAdvisor profile. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy their time with us and that you were welcomed with true South African warmth. Please accept my apologies that you had to wait for your coffee each morning. This has been discussed with the Food and Beverage Manager who will be taking the necessary corrective action. Each guest receives a 350MB internet allowance per day, but should you require any additional MB, please do not hesitate to contact reception during your next stay. Currently, we do not charge for any additional MB given to our guests. I would also like to apologize for the generator noise that woke you up at 05:00 in the morning. The building managers responsible have been contacted in order to avoid similar situations from happening again.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Two nights out of three that I stayed at the DaVinci, there were cockcroaches in the bathroom; three times out of three that I called the reception, they asked for my room number and said they'd call back or send what I had asked for, but never did; talking face to face with the receptionist, one must prepare for an eye-roll, a cold shoulder or becoming the butt of a joke. Also, housekeeping barged in without knocking while I was changing once.

When the bellboy asked if I had a "great" stay, I wanted to say... at least it was memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear nadia_beijing,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report. All feedback is taken seriously as it assists us in correcting possible shortcomings.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences and lack of service you received from us. I can assure you that this is definitely not the service we pride ourselves on and the necessary corrective action has been taken by the Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager to improve this.

Thank you again for bringing the above to our attention and we hope that you will give us another chance to offer you the “true DAVINCI experience” that we are known for.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for Meetings Africa Very convenient for Sandton centre and close by shops and restaurants within same complex with conference centre just over road which you can reach by a bridge. Rooms are very high standard with everything you need (except an ironing board!). Service excellent and friendly. Nice swimming pool area Buffet breakfast not quite 5* standard whilst everything else is. Close by Gautrain which is 15 mins from international airport and there is a complimentary shuttle from Sandton Gautrain station, even though you could walk it. DSTV and wifi works well

Room Tip: View over the pool;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Zetat0ours,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer only the best possible service to our guests and therefore we will be adding a new organic and gluten free breakfast buffet section. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

As a returning guest, it is welcoming to return to a hotel where you are remembered by name! The service is excellent - from the porter-front desk-housecleaning etc. The rooms are well maintained and clean. The hotel is situated with walking distance to the Sandton Mall, Convention Centre etc. Ask for a room overlooking the pool.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Judith a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and it is wonderful to welcoming you back “home” so often.

We look forward to greeting you with smiles on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is superb; customer service top notch, rooms very comfortable, incredibly clean & restocked promptly every day. Breakfast buffet/a la carte - don't matter, both have very good choices with tasty healthy options. Location is right next to Nelson Mandela Square with plenty of shopping and restaurants specializing in a variety of cuisines. Didn't feel unsafe at any time while there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear DragonflyStar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first time in our beautiful country and that we could enhance your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#9 of 47 in Sandton
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $202 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing