We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in South Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is superb; customer service top notch, rooms very comfortable, incredibly clean & restocked promptly every day. Breakfast buffet/a la carte - don't matter, both have very good choices with tasty healthy options. Location is right next to Nelson Mandela Square with plenty of shopping and restaurants specializing in a variety of cuisines. Didn't feel unsafe at any time while there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonflyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear DragonflyStar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first time in our beautiful country and that we could enhance your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    168
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
46
108
32
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have stayed at the DaVinci for a total of 7 months whilst working in Johannesburg. I had one of the apartments which are perfect for a longer stay. The kitchens are well ordered and have everything you need although sometimes the contents are a little hit and miss. I stayed in 3 different apartments and always had different combinations of utensils and saucepans - just little things like that which can make cooking a little awkward but equally nothing that can't be resolved with a quick call to Housekeeping. The bedrooms were lovely and the beds super comfy. The decor is really nice and modern, very clean and nicely decorated. The bathrooms were always clean and well stocked and you could almost swim in the baths. Sometimes the bedding and/or towels were a little worn but always clean. The rooms come with a full DSTV bouquet which was great, plenty of channels to choose from.
Sometimes there was noise from the buildings opposite which was their air conditioning (I think), did get very loud and annoying but eventually you get used to it.
The staff really make the hotel, very friendly and welcoming, unfailingly polite and helpful. I was always greeted by name and had a little chat.
The gym is not too bad for a hotel gym; the cardio equipment is basic but works and there are plenty of weights and a few machines. I used one of the Legacy Balance PT's whilst I was there - Shane Oliver (his card is in the gym reception) very highly recommended. A great PT and makes the sessions fun as well as hard work.
The pool deck is nice although sadly you only get sun for 3-4 hours a day so sunbathing opportunities are limited.
The food is good, I have had room service, eaten in the bar and Maximillian and all were nice and good value.
The location is great, right on top of the mall with shops galore and plenty of fabulous restaurants. There is also a cinema in the mall which was great value for money and I used it a lot.
I used the travel company to provide my cars - Kwathlano - my driver was Ernest who is wonderful, always polite but would give you a little tour and interesting facts as he was driving you around.
Overall great hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room pool side to reduce traffic noise. If you don't like aircon sleep with the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulabelle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lulabelle215,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive and wonderful TripAdvisor report for us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your 7 month stay with us and that we could make you feel at home. We pride ourselves in offering only the best possible service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles I the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable business hotel in sandton, close to large mall and nice restaurants at mandela square.

Staff: as you might expect in a 5 star hotel polite and okish - nothing unusual, quick check-in, experienced somewhat longish check out but not sure was is system fault or sth else

Room: nicely designed, very comfortable bed (materess firm, pillows soft), spacious room with lots of light thru large window, one thing I did not like was location of ligth switch which was few steps away from main entrance, might have missed the other one but if not this is not very comfortable unless you leave lights on while leaving the room

Breakfast: nothing special just ok, not a very wide choice but quality ok

Facilities: not tested any so cannot tell

Location: perfect for shopping plus many restaurants in Mandela Square, did not have time to check other options

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Komen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Good day Komen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report. We appreciate all feedback as it assists us in correcting any possible shortcomings.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you were not shown around the room and advised of where everything can be found. The light switches for the room lights are build into the side of the headboards, while the bathroom lights are on the pillar leading to the bathroom.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Davinci on many occasion and have always enjoyed my stay. The location is ideal as it is located on Nelson Mandela square. My hint would be to ask for a end room facing the convention centre.

Room Tip: My hint would be to ask for a end room facing the convention centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear RyanMackie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report. I am glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a find. Had to do business in the city centre and was recommended to stay at Da Vinci.
Exceptional welcome by well trained and genuinely friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and have everything you will need.
Hotel is part of Nelson Mandela square, so eating out at night is so convenient and an absolute pleasure. Next morning, we were treated to a feast at breakfast. The choices are vast and will cater to everyones taste. Once again, although the hotel was very busy, management found time to have a friendly chat with us. Our check-out was smooth, friendly and we felt as though we were leaving without a single regret of staying at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard suite, which was very good and offered comfort and very adequate space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and warmly thank you for your lovely compliments, I will be sure to pass them onto all staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are great, huge with bath and shower. Modern and very well appointed. The staff are helpful and friendly and more than happy to accommodate any requirements, especially in the breakfast room. That team goes above and beyond your expectations. All the requests of fussy Americans we dutifully provided with a smile. One thing to note is to avoid the street facing rooms. The scaffolding on the construction site across the road is relocated through the night. They are still banging at crashing after 11:30pm!!! Even with the windows closed you get disturbed. The hotel is an easy wander to the Gautrain to the airport. The hotel provides a free luxury transfer. The hotel has essentially direct access to Nelson Mandela square and its restaurants and Sandton City shopping centre. The hotel is quite pricey but is top notch.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Matt-kal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful, friendly and more than happy to accommodate any requirements. Please accept my apologies for the construction at Sandton City which kept you awake. We have been in contact with the Site Development Manager as they are not allowed to be on site at night, and subsequently we have not had any problems since.

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback, I will ensure that all the relevant staff are made aware of your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The rooms in the hotel are superbly done up. It has got a very chic feel.the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem over here was the wifi connectivity. Coming in from Botswana ,I expected the wifi connectivity , sadly there was no connection available with the login and password provided by the front desk. The breakfast had a wide spread of brads and cereals,which was decent. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mohitm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear mohitm1975,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered with the wifi connectivity. We will gladly assist you in setting it up on your visit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Property: DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing