We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Da Vinci”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been staying at the Da Vinci since July in the appartments which are great. Really enjoyed my stays at Da Vinci , being in sandton as well there are all the restaurants and shops at hand. Staff are superb and really make the stay at Da Vinci a pleasure, nothing is too much of an effort, well done!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Mark T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report for us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us was wonderful and I will definitely ensure the staff see your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and should we not see you before the end of the year, we wish you a wonderful festive season.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 617 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Super hotel, right in the heart of Sandton. Everything about this hotel is excellent, absolutely no complaints. As the Manager rightly said, its the home away from home. The staff at Da Vinci is the best and takes care of your every need.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Shalz86,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that every one of you needs were taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After traveling 17 hours, we arrived at the hotel mid morning and were told that the rooms would not be available until 2pm. My room key was given to me at 2:45 and I was quite perturbed. The hotel is stark if you like that modern look. Later I called the front desk and asked if they could send me a waste paper basket for the bathroom. The response was "We only supply one basket per room." It wasn't until the following day when I spoke with other people that I was told there was a drawer in the bathroom that opened for garbage. I had been too tired when I arrived to look for it!
Although the mangement did nothing to help give us our rooms early, the rest of the staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passionate-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear passionate-gardener,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report for us. All feedback and guest experiences are taken seriously as it assists us in correcting any possible service shortages.

Even though we do our best to assist guests with early check-ins when they arrive, this is unfortunately not always possible due to high occupancies. I would however, like to apologize for the fact that you only received your room key at 14h45 as our check-in time is 14h00 and therefore you should have received your key by then. Our Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper will definitely investigate and take the necessary action to ensure similar situations do not happen again.

I can assure you that the response you received when enquiring about the waste basket for your room, is most definitely not the DAVINCI standard that we pride ourselves on and the relevant people will be addressed.

I trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can have the true DAVINCI experience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very Impressive Hotel. the breakfast is nice, the rooms are amazingly large. Wifi was very good except for the pool area and the manager promised to look into extending wifi there.
I felt safe in the hotel. they had car service available 24/7 and are directly on top of a shopping mall. They made my stay in SA very pleasant and I would visit again.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor but assume all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokyotraveller918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear tokyotraveller918,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor report. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us as we strive to offer the best possible service. As you mentioned, we are currently looking into extending the wifi signal to the pool area and we hope to have this up and running in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles for another pleasant stay at DAVINCI.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent there 3 days and everything was good so far. The room is very well furnished, it has two plugs with adaptors to European standards both in 220 and 110 (just in case you come from the US). Staff is very friendly, positive, assertive and helpful. They all do their best to satisfy your needs. Food is good but if you prefer something else, you've got a huge mall adjacent.

Location is great, right in the middle of Sandton. There is nowhere around where you can take a walk, jog, run, whatever but that's always been an issue in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear RafaHN,

I thank you for taking the time to share your views regarding your stay with us, I will be sure to pass all your compliments onto staff and management and thank you for your kind words.

Regarding running and walking outside the Hotel, we do in fact have a jogging route map which we can supply at Concierge with distances and directions around the Sandton CBD. They are rather popular jogging routes and we recommend them to many of our guests.

Furthermore we hope to welcome you back again to the DAVINCI Hotel and Suites.

Kind regards,

Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed in your hotel in the last 3 months and would not hesitate to visit again and reccommend this hotel to my friends. All the finer details of a quality hotel are there for everyone to see.

Great Service, Great food, Vey clean and very helpful staff.

I hope to visit again early next year, but for a holiday this time.

Thanks to you all

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Tony S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor Report. I am delighted to hear that you once again had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife was here for her school program to visit business in JoBurg and I just tagged along. We arrived early from an international flight and the room was not ready. No worries though, the front desk rushed the room, porter held our luggage, and we had breakfast in the mall the hotel is attached to. When we were done eating the room was ready. The room is spotless and has all the amenities one could need. The FD staff was nice and assisted with all my questions. There is always a person by the elevator to open it for you. I ordered room service just about everyday and the service is prompt and the person delivering was always smiling. I truly think the room service prices are to low along with the alcohol at the bar. Any business people will be amazed how cheap it is, so take full advantage. If this is your first time to Africa, as it was mine, dont worry about it being dangerous. I walked around with my friend and used common sense. I took the Gautrain and walked around the vicinity of the hotel by my self. People in JoBurg are kind and welcoming. Of course there are bad ones, but they are in every city. I rate hotels very hard and I know what to look for (I am a front office manager in Orlando) and this hotel is absolutely perfect. If you are planning to go toJoburg pick this hotel. I will be coming back and I will bring my little daughter next time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ksul7784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear ksul7784,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the TripAdvisor report.

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time with us and found the service to be prompt and effective. We pride ourselves in offering only the best possible service to all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back along with your little daughter the next time that you visit Johannesburg.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#9 of 47 in Sandton
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $202 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing