We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel - didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel - didn't want to leave”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The room was very beautifully designed - everything is so modern and black and white. Very Eco friendly.
The bath was beautiful, the wal paper everything!!! If I had a studio flat tho would be it. Not sure re the curtain as a bathroom door- had I been staying with a friend!! And glass door could have been dangerous in the night.

Loved that the mall was just steps away and there was a great choice of restaurants. The breakfast was the best - variety and quality great. Would go back!!!! The art and decorations Are great. We loves it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Alybuk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report.

I am very glad to hear that you had the true DAVINCI experience and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles to our beautiful property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    176
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
48
110
32
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in this hotel before going on Safari. We had no complaints about the hotel or the staff. Everything was first class. The only meals that we ate in the hotel were the breakfasts that were included in the price. The selections available were broad and of good quality. Our room was clean, had everything that we needed and was very comfortable. The staff was exceptionally attentative to our every need. If we should ever return to Johannesburg we will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldJetJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear OldJetJock,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be exceptionally attentive to your needs. We pride ourselves in offering only the best possible service to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A coworker and I had to travel to Johannesburg for two days on business. Another coworker who had been to Joburg many times recommended we stay here (our company generally has us stay in Courtyard-equivalent hotels). It was good, I recommend it.

Sandton is a really nice part of the city. The hotel is attached to a modern, classy mall. Lots of restaurants around it.

I really liked the room. Nice furniture, lighting, comfortable bed. The room has an easy-to-use safe.

I had no problems with the internet connection. Free wifi (with a MB limit).

Right when I checked in a lady came by for turn down service, which I declined, but she gave me chocolates anyway. Nice.

Breakfast was included with our room fare. The breakfast buffet selection was excellent.

I'm from the USA. I don't know if they have adapters available; I brought my own. (type M plugs)

We also really liked how close the hotel is the the Gautrain station. Just a block or two away. There's a Gautrain that goes straight to the airport from the station.

It's on the upscale side. I don't know how its prices compare with other hotels in the area--we had to book our trip pretty quickly so we didn't shop around for other hotels in the area. This one was recommended to us by a trusted coworker. No complaints, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trafalga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Trafalga23,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay and for such a wonderful TripAdvisor report.

We pride ourselves in offering only the best possible service to all our guest and it is always good to hear that our guests experienced the true DAVINCI standards.
Your comments will definitely be shared with all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What to say...I wish someone could read my memory stick and experience first hand the fantastic time we have had at the Da Vinci! I am famous in the family to be a "pain": i always find something to complain about in every hotel, in every restaurant , in every bar...not at the Da Vinci..not for the entire 8 days stay..not a fault just praises at their 2 bedroom apartment...at the Maximillien Restaurant... at the Concierge...no faults even with their transfer services ...or the speed of the lift !!!!Our girls have enjoyed their stay fully: particularly the constant supply of Lindt Chocolates and the Nespresso!!! Front office has been particularly attentive and helpful: thank you once again Angelique - PS: the results are visible! i am now stressing my husband to buy a Da Vinci Apartment.

Room Tip: pick any but we loved the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valentina K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor report.

We pride ourselves in offering our guests the best possible service and I am delighted to hear that you had the “true DAVINCI experience”. Your report will definitely be send to all the departments and especially to Angelique.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks in June in a standard room, and was very impressed. Each room on the 7th floor shares an alcove which is great for kids if you want them in a room next door. I returned in July and stayed 5 weeks. Great location, clean modern rooms and great staff. I made a mistake in recommending the DaVinci to colleagues, and now cannot escape them! That being said, I will be back.. (Oh yes, oodles of free Wifi)

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Divisions Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Tim B,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful TripAdvisor report.

I have heard a lot of descriptions for the DAVINCI, but “An island of heaven in Johannesburg” is definitely one of the best, thank you! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be great and the staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my third stay in the DaVinci within a year . On all three occasions I have stayed in their one or two bedroomed apartments which are comfortable and well appointed . they also occupy the higher floors and are quieter.

Despite having a few niggles this trip regarding my requested room type not being available on check in and faulty DSTV , this remains my hotel of choice in Johannesburg .

The staff are friendly and service is good . The location is also perfect .

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms backing on to the construction site across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Kenny T,

Thank you for the honest feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you have taken the time to provide us with your thoughts on your guest experience, both positive and negative. Of course, we regret the fact that there where a few niggles during your stay but hopefully our team resolved these issues as efficiently as possible. We would like to thank you for your continued support over the last year and look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli , Libya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in a nice shopping mall. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and suitable for anyone. I stayed in the hotel during Ramadan and as I was fasting and they offered me breakfast in the bedroom without extra charges. The staff were very friendly and professional. The Internet worked in a strange way as I had to renew my subscription every 350 MB. If I visit SA again I will certainly stay at the DIVINCI.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Guest Relations Officer at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Nedo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the TripAdvisor report.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was only our pleasure to accommodate your breakfast requirements during Ramadan. With regards to the internet, you are allocated 350MB per day for your visit, but as you experienced, Reception will assist with additional internet data should it be needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Property: DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing