We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel was fantastic, but a BIG Thank you to Safari-Online for finding and booking this hotel. The location was perfect, cross the road from the shopping center. The hotel staff also make you feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast buffet was great, good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear ednaleigh,

Thank you very much for giving us such wonderful feedback and for taking the time to write the report. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are made to feel welcome during their stay and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities, location and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    176
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
48
110
32
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel met all of our needs as we flew in from a 15 hour fight and were able to get a good nights rest. The service was fine, as was the breakfast. The hotel has easy access to a giant mall with many dining options. The only issue is that we could have been in the financial district of any international city. However, it was safe, clean and friendly and when you are dead tired, that is a good thing.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Divison Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Alicia W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this TripAdvisor report. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel met all your needs after such a long flight. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Myself and my colleague visited The Davinci hotel last week from Cork in Ireland.
The hotel is located in a perfect location and within easy walking distance from Shops , restaurants etc. Nelson Mandella square is just a stones throw away from the hotel with an assortment of wonderful restaurants, all of which are great value for money for those travelling from outside SA. The food in all the restaurants I ate was just delicious.
The staff of the DavInci, without exception are very warm and welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Robert the GM of the hotel was always on hand to offer help and assistance when needed. He is a great ambassador for the hotel and for South Africa.
In short, the service is exemplary, the hotel beautiful, the South African people warm and friendly. We will definitely go back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Julie M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback.

I am very glad to hear that you and your colleague enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in delivering only the best possible service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Upon our arrival, though through no fault of their own, the hotel did not have a reservation for us - our tour company apparently erred, yet they did very little to help us communicate with our tour company and book a room for one night. Like other reviewers have said, it is in a very business-like area, though for other safe options in Johannesburg, it is quite limited, so be wary if you are on holiday, it doesn't feel like it in this area. The room is functional, nothing special. Lastly, upon check-out, there was an error in our charges, and they made a great show off making sure the R50 difference between the quoted and actual prices was reality, rather than us trying to steal R50 from them. Customer service did not appear high on their agenda, which was disappointing for a hotel of their supposed quality. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilike2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Alex E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your valued feedback.

With regards to your reservation, we have conducted an investigation and found that your reservation was made by the tour company, cancelled by them and then reinstated again. We received notification of your initial reservation as well as the cancellation, but once your reservation was reinstated, the booking notification did not pull through to our system. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused, our system administrators are working on the problem to ensure it does not happen again.

I would like to apologise for the way the R50.00 discrepancy was handled by our front desk staff and can assure you that it is not the service we pride ourselves in. I have taken the matter up with our Head Concierge, who confirmed that when you enquired about a trip to the Apartheid museum, our preferred transport company did not have a car available. Our Head Concierge then found an independant driver who was available at that time and quoted you his rates. Once you arrived for your tour, the independant driver was no longer available and our preferred transport company took you to the museum. This was where the R50.00 discrepancy came in as the transport company rates are not the same as the independant driver's rates. The R50.00 discrepancy was then taken off your account upon check out, but I would like to apologise again for the way you felt it was handled.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you want a safe, efficient international place to stay in Johannesburg, this will work for you. If you want something with atmosphere, somewhere to sit and socialise, anything with outside space or a hotel that feels like you are in South Africa, go elsewhere.
I here stayed for 11 weeks with a team of colleagues. We each had one of the apartment rooms, (tho also experienced the hotel rooms.) Everything works. The beds are large and comfortable. the bathrooms are almost a suite in themselves. The kitchens (in the apartments) are well-equipped and practical. If there is a criticism it is that each room has too much furniture and all of it too big. You get the impression the interior designer neglected to take measurements before buying shed-loads of chairs and couches. And then the big thing...the whole hotel is decorated in black and white. Nothing but black and white. That combined with the lack of outside space (there is a pool area but it exists in a light well between two buildings with a distant ceiling of sky) make for a very claustrophobic stay. The only bar area is also the lobby area. Often noisy, always busy and not a comfortable place to hang out or relax. The pool is really not somewhere you want to swim, being overlooked by reception, the bar area and the gym window. Equally, to get to the gym, you have to cross reception and then stand on machines gawped at through a window by everyone sitting in the bar. The main restaurant is downstairs through part of a shopping mall, and feels strangely un-invinting, though breakfast are excellent and generous and staff always charming.
That same mall, gathered around Sandton's now celebrated Mandela Square, does give access to every shop you could need and an array of restaurants. As a group and individuals, we preferred to spend our evenings eating in one of these, or shopping in the nearby brach of Woolworths to cook in our apartments.
Security is a big issue in Johannesburg. This hotel certainly feels secure and you can shop and travel from here in comfort. So worth considering if that is high on your criteria.
Management staff were always charming, helpful and out-of-their-way keen to help.
In summary, come here on business or a short functional sot-over. Don't expect ambience or Africa. Neither are here.
If only they could add another terrace, create some comfortable bar space, and bring in some colour, it would have a lot more to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a higher floor, to be quieter and have more light. A room on poolside is quieter. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Film Traveller,

I thank you for taking the time to give us such an extensive review on your stay with us. We also thank you for your very valuable feedback and positive critisism regarding some of the areas in the Hotel.

Apart from the items mentioned, of which we have taken serious note, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel and Suites in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here on Business for a few days. First thing to note is that the hotel is a very impressive building, and nicely designed.
The staff are also very obliging, friendly and helpful. Though unfortunately there was no early check-in allowed. I was advised in advance that the only way to guarantee an early check-in is to book the night before.
The room itself was nicely designed and furbished. However, while the room design is great for individual, I do not think it would work very well for two people sharing a room. The WC and shower cabinets each have glass walls. The lights also take a bit of getting used to, with all the controls on the headboard of the bed.
Nice TV in the room, with many channels, including English football games.
Also there is a WI-FI allowance, however, I was requested by the system to purchase more data, when it also advised me I had only used half of my allowance!
Room service usually good. Though on one occasion they forgot replenish the coffee, and on another occasion they forgot to replenish the bottled water. Bottled water is important to me, since I would not wish to drink the tap water. Also, irons are provided on request, but the iron I was given on one occasion would be considered unsafe in the UK. Also, the ironing board was past usable condition.
Breakfast also very good. Though again, on a couple of occasions they forgot to offer me a coffee. I always have coffee first thing, and had to find a member of staff to get me a coffee. But staff at breakfast also very helpful.
There was one lady on the reception desk who remembered me from the beginning, and I never had to give my name or room number when I spoke to her - very impressed with her!
Overall, I loved this hotel. Since I travel alone on business, the rooms are great for me. However, there are a few areas for improvement in the service and housekeeping.
I will doubtlessly use this hotel again next time I visit South Africa on business.

Room Tip: All rooms are way above ground, so no issues with ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear MinkySpinky,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. All comments are taken very seriously as it assists us in improving any service shortcomings.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be seeing you again. We try and assist with early arrivals, but unfortunately this is not always possible due to high occupancies the previous night, but as you mentioned you can guarantee an early check in should you book from the night before. With regards to the WI-FI, thank you very much for bringing this to my attention. It is a new system that we implemented and we will most definitely inform the relevant people so that action can be taken to solve this problem.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of service you received in the restaurant during breakfast. I have brought it to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager and he will most definitely take it up with his staff. With regards to the iron and ironing board as well as the replenishing of your amenities, I would like to apologize. That is most definitely not the DAVINCI standard that we pride ourselves on and the Executive Housekeeping Manager has been made aware of the incident. We are in the process of procuring new irons and ironing boards for the rooms which should be delivered soon.

Once again, thank you very much for giving us feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I always enjoy my stays here. From the friendly staff who meet you at check in throughout the stay and at checkout. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to shopping and restaurants. I will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Rooms Division Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Peter F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the TripAdvisor comment. I am very glad to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Property: DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing