We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
399
202
45
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
202
45
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareshopping mallglass doorlarge mallexcellent hoteldirect accessshower and toiletmodern hotelnespresso machinelate checkoutstar hotelthe air conditioningsouth africaturn down servicemini barbusiness triprooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 672 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Hearing so much about the security situation in Jo'Burg, I wanted a secure hotel in safe environment. The hotel met all my expectations. The standard twin room was very comfortable and I love the big bathroom with bathtub in a separate area. The breakfast was excellent. Most of all, coming back at night after a whole day of conference, I could just eat at the fantastic restaurants around Nelson Mandela Square. The shopping mall is connected to the hotel, and there is no need to go up to street level, so it feels very safe and convenient. The service at reception was pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveningGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your overall feedback and providing us with detail around your guest experience. Knowing whether guests leave completely satisfied (or not) is key for us to improve our services and facility, hence we appreciate your valuable comments.

Kind Regards
Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel must be the best new hotel in this location. its on Nelson Mandela Square which is the most happening place in sandton. The hotel is themed modern hotel with their house color as black, White & Grey. Rooms look new and elegant, fresh towels huge bathroom with separate bath and bath tub, internet is complementary & room service was good. there is no lift from parking area, you will have to enter into a shopping mall to reach the hotel lobby. I was only disappointed with the buffet spread which had limited choices. overall i enjoyed my 2 nights stay & i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Sandton and thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is especially rewarding to read your kind comments about the staff - feedback such as yours is a great motivator for our employees and I would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation. We very much look forward to welcoming you back one day soon !

Kind Regards
Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here twice in a week either side of a safari trip to KwaZulu Natal. The hotel is incredibly well located, just off Nelson Mandela square in Sandton and only a few minutes walk from the Gautrain. For first time visitors unsure of Jo'burg (as I was) it is perfect as the journey from the airport is very quick, easy and safe (there are security guards patrolling the entire route). The area around the hotel is a massive shopping mall with several restaurants around the square itself, which does make it a bit sterile but again feels very safe.

The hotel rooms are big and the bathrooms are very spacious as other reviewers have stated and are well equipped. As you would expect from a new hotel everything is in good order throughout. The gym was well equipped and there are computers that you can use to get on-line, the swimming pool was small and I don't think heated (I could be wrong) but was good to dip in to cool off if sun-bathing)

The staff were welcoming (especially on our return when they recognised us) and friendly and the variety of food at breakfast was excellent.

The only sour note to our stay which I gather is not unique to the Da Vinci was the price we were charged for a car. To go to soccer city and back (a 30 minute journey) cost 900 Rand! I live in central London and have used cars from 5-star hotels here are they do not cost that much - so be warned!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Domtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor.

We constantly strive to offer the best possible levels of service and your comments are testament to this.

We look forward to once again sharing our warm hospitality with you in the future.

Best Wishes
Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great rooms, firendly staff and nice ambient. You fell welcome from the moment you enter.
Conviniently located with easy access to Mandela Square, restaurants and shopping - and close to Gautrain train service to Johannesburg Intl.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Falch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your overall feedback and providing us with detail around your guest experience. Knowing whether guests leave completely satisfied (or not) is key for us to improve our services and facility, hence we appreciate your valuable comments.

Kind Regards
Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Modern, well staffed hotel in a great location. Very safe location for those worried about personal safety in SA.

I stayed here for business this week. The service was first class, free valet parking, wonderful breakfasts included in price and warm welcoming rooms with stunning bathrooms.

As it is located at Sandton square visitors just need to walk downstairs to a choice of restaurants and wonderful range of shops.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Just a short note of gratitude for the kind recommendations of our beloved hotel, especially coming from a TripAdvisor contributor such as yourself.

We will share and celebrate your feedback with all of the team members at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Rui Antunes
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews