We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of Tladi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tladi Lodge
Ranked #22 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I spend three weeks at Tladi Lodge in May 2012 and loved it. It is beautiful, serene, clean and friendly without the owners and staff being too 'in your face'. The two pet dogs and cat are also friendly without being over-familiar.

It is a short drive (under ten minutes) to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square and yet still has a nice quiet, suburban feel. I didn't get to use the lovely pool or tennis courts, but breakfast was delish and dinner is available on request.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you're looking for first class lodging at very affordable rates, look no further! We found Tladi Lodge on TripAdvisor and after spending three nights there, we are thankful this was our lodging of choice. The exceptional service provided by Ian & Sylvia and their entire staff, the peaceful atmosphere, the wonderful accommodations, the excellent meals by Chef Daryl and his kitchen staff and the nonobtrusive presence and companionship of Savannah and Levi made for a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Tladi Lodge has our highest recommendation for anyone desiring quality lodging in the Jo-Burg area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Tladi Lodge for Valentine's night. What a good choice! A beautiful lodge, stunning suite, great food and attentive hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fish Eagle Suite. A large bedroom, large lounge, beautiful bathroom and even a wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

It is a very beautiful lodge. Sylvia and Ian are great hosts. Good breakfast and very nice rooms. The outside area with swimming pool invites you to relax and enjoy the silence and the birdsongs.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you need more space tell it Sylvia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had our wedding night here, Is the most amazing friendly and beautiful place in South africa, the food was amazing,
Thank you
Pablo y Michael

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablo30uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The most amazing guest house in theJ ohannesburg , Sandton area. Incredible food, home cooked to perfection, they also cater for many dietary allegies. Sylvia and Ian Harrison are incredible hosts. It's a quiet, peaceful location in a beautiful thatched lodge near the buzzing metropolis of Johannesburg and Sandton. Apart from great accomodation, their sightseeing and safari tips are worhtwhile following up on.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, it really depends on your budget which one you select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Tladi Lodge is a safe and characterful thatched lodge centrally located in Sandton; however, its centrality belies its quiet tranquillity and relaxing atmosphere. A perfect place to stay in the midst of frenetic and busy Jo'burg. Our hosts, Sylvia and Ian, were so helpful and considerate - especially when we unexpectedly had to extend our stay from three days to ten. Our room, the Martial Eagle suite, was superb. The staff could not have been more friendly. The evening meals are absolutely first class - Daryl, the chef, is so talented. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tladi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tladi Lodge

Address: 16 David Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $135 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tladi Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of lush tranquil gardens, Tladi Lodge Johannesburg, combines all the benefits of a hotel with the intimacy of a guest house. This beautiful area boasts an abundance of cultural, natural and social highlights - you'll be spoilt for choice for things to do. Whether you fancy an awe-inspiring champagne balloon ride or a day on a manicured golf course, the hospitality staff at this 5 star guest house will be happy to advise. Tladi Lodge is an extensive thatched property surrounded by verdant trees and set amidst romantic winding pathways. The on-site tennis court and swimming pool will keep you in shape whilst you enjoy the open-air life. Welcoming business executives, couples and families with children of 8 years and older, the guest house is the perfect haven for work, relaxation or that extra-special break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tladi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tladi Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing