We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 79 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Claires of Sandton was recommended to us by family who had stayed there before and we are very happy to pass on the recommendations. The rooms and ensuites were very clean and comfortable, the garden and pool are lovely and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff were very professional, warm, friendly and very helpful from the initial contact via email and phone and throughout our stay - a special thanks again to Chantal and Zodwa. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Please thank your family for the recommendation. We loved meeting you and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 313 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything about this B&B was perfect. The room was spacious, comfortable and extermely well-appointed, with a lovely bathroom. The common areas were also great; the pool was immaculate and the gardens were beautifully kept, and quiet. The satt were all excellent, and so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for Chantal who was unfailingly friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was really really good. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Sandton; so much better than the big hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsearsqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Many of our guests have commented on our spacious rooms and bathrooms, thank you! Another "guesthouse convert". Your compliments are greatly appreciated, it was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is definitely the best B&B we've ever tried in Johannesburg, and as far as we'll find availability, that's where we'll stay in the future!

Everything was perfect, but a special point has to be given to the breakfast: attractive, tasty, fresh, cooked to perfection.

Professionalism in each and every detail: congratulation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMMOAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

A perfect stay, perfection & professionalism is high praise indeed. Zodwa really does cook with passion and we are delighted that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

As i have lived in Sandton for 14 years it felt strange to stay in a guesthouse in my old ''home town'. But everybody at Claires made me feel so welcome that this feeling was soon over. What can I say about Claires? Excellent stylish rooms with a beautiful - and really big - bathroom. Wonderful relax area - inside and outside, with a super pool. And the breakfast is really great - everyday something new, escpecially o the fruit side. And it is very close to Sandton City, rather convinient.
All in all - the best stay in Joburg.
Special thanks again to Chantal and Zodwa.
I WILL BE BACK SOON.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

To our favourite "brew masters", we thoroughly enjoy your visits to Claires, never a dull moment. Thank you for sharing your passion with us and we cant wait for your next trip to Jo'burg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A perfect haven, ideally located for visiting Johannesburg and the surroundings. A wonder BnB for relaxing by the pool. The room was beautiful, comfortable and impecable clean. We felt special and most welcome to spend 3 nights. With the help and assistance of Chantal and other staff our stay was perfect. We will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erbpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

It is always wonderful to see guests having such a good time, your energy was contagious.
You are always welcome at Claires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This visit during March 2014, was one of many visits to Claires of Sandton. A truly beautiful, peaceful place to go "home" to after a hectic day in the hussle and bussle of Johannesburg. Sitting in the garden, in the shade of the trees, next to the pool, what a place to wind down and debrief after the day's meetings. Claire, Chantal, Zodwa and Clayton are truly exceptional and make one feel most welcome. Refreshing, well presented breakfast in tranquil surroundings makes for a great start to a crazy day filled with meetings. THE place to stay in Johannesburg, close to all the amenities and a few minutes drive from Sandton City, where you can shop til you drop at the most exquisite shops!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are super luxury and slightly larger and more private than the rooms downstairs, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We wish we saw more of you, we always enjoy your visits and look forward to the next one. Thank you for the restaurant tips, we are hooked on the Portuguese!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first time at a B&B and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The room and bathroom was first class as was the breakfast served by the friendly staff. We will certainly be returning on our next visit to Johannesburg. Thanks to Chantal and Zodwa for your warm and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed the B&B experience, thank you for your kind words.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.6 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 46 in Sandton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $77 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing