We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in a big city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claires of Sandton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #1 of 73 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem in a big city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed for three nights early May and cannot recommend highly enough.
Our room was immaculate with a huge bathroom including separate shower.Outside the pool area is again immaculate with a covered area with sofas for relaxing and a lounge/tv room which again is perfect for unwinding with a beer from the 'Honesty' fridge.
The Staff here really make the difference here;from Claire (the owner) to Zodwa(available 24hrs!!) and Sarah;nothing is too much trouble,and you just don't get this level of personal service at ANY Hotel.
I mustn't forget to mention that the breakfast is exceptional also.
We would definitely return.........a little gem in a big city!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed staying at Claires of Sandton.
We enjoyed having you both here and we are delighted to hear that another guest has left extremely happy.
Next time England gets too cold for the both of you, we hope to see you back again lounging by the pool!
Warm regards,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
69
31
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice, quiet street in a safe neighbourhood. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Free wi-fi a big plus, because in many hotels in SA you still have to pay for it.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

been travelling to south africa regularly for more than a decade now - used claire's as a base for joburg and durban travels and team mtgs - unmatched in simple, comfortable and friendly experience

i spend 240+ days a year in hotels ww - this was my 1st ever b&b - changed my concept entirely of business travel - i'll be back - soon

charlie - canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
All of us look forward to your next visit and hope that you might be able to fit in more play this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I usually only stay at 5 star hotels however due to the high prices in and near Sandton I decided to take a risk and stay at claires, from the onset nothing was too much trouble from gaining access to the room very early on the first day without having to pay more to ensuring my every need was catered for example helping ensure that I was able to get a dongle with sim so I could gain internet access whilst out and about - a vital pre-requisit for my business, while ensuring I also had the perfect driver making sure I got to each of my 25 meetings in 5 days, the housekeeper was also great ensuring that I had everything i needed. I never write reviews however the service was exceptional so I had to

Room Tip: get their best luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We feel privileged to receive your first review and are glad that you felt we were able to make your stay run smoothly. At Claires it is all about a happy guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We only had one overnight stay at Claires on our way to the airport. We arrived much later than expected but Claire kept in touch with us by mobile phone and nothing was too much trouble. When the staff heard we had been stuck on a bus all day and had been delayed 5 hours they offered to make us something to eat or arrange a take away. The rooms are large and well furnished and spotlessly clean. Breakfast next morning was fantastic and the chance to relax in the lovely gardens on comfortable chairs and loungers was just what we needed. Thanks to Claire and her staff for making our time there so pleasant. I have no qualms about recommending Claires the only thing is it is so good I hope it is free when we return again in November.

Room Tip: some rooms are up a flight of stairs. If you are elderly or have problems with stairs ask for a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Good to get your enthusiastic review. Thank you. You are obviously back and waiting for the warmth to entice guests to your part of the Europe. Good luck with your forth coming season. See you in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived early in the morning before our arrival time and we were allowed into our room. We appreciated that greatly, we were really tired from the flight. Claires, and in special Zodwa, made us feel like being at home. The breakfasts are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Claires is comfortable and friendly, full of interesting artefacts too around the pool and in the eating area. Her people are very helpful, led by the charming Zimbabwean lady. A particular pleasure was the chance to have a swim after getting off an overnight flight. The bedrooms are spotless and the breakfasts substantial. This was my second visit to Claires and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gregory k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Gregory,

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again.
I wish you all the success with your new business collaboration and I hope to see you and your colleagues here more often!
Here at Claires of Sandton we pride ourselves on our delicious and varied breakfasts, as well as our 5 star customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
1.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
1.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Property: Claires of Sandton
Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing