We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claires of Sandton
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
$133
$119
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$242
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$163
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
$170
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
$163
$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
285
39
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
39
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury guest househome away from homeexcellent breakfastlovely guesthousesandton cityfresh fruitevery morningbeautiful gardenwonderful staybreakfast roomsouth africacomfortable roomsan oasisbusiness tripmini barchantaljoburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 325 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Claire's at the beginning of out 8 week Africa/Mauritius trip. We just wanted a few days to recover from the long from Australia and to rest up prior to our month long tour. Our upstairs deluxe room was light and comfortable with a pleasant garden outlook from the balcony. The bed was great, the crockery supplied made eating in a lot easier and the bath helped soak away the aches and pains after the . The next morning we awoke to the sun streaming into the bedroom and a delicious breakfast served in a quaint little breakfast room which overlooked the birds feeding in the garden. Loved the French toast with fried banana and bacon, the omelette (the best I have tasted) a the fresh fruit and yogurt with dried cranberries (a new combination for me!), and the background music which really added to the experience. We were the only guests so it was quiet and peaceful. We then spent a few hours wandering around the neighbourhood and the local shops which were only 5 mins walk from Claires. Even though most of the houses had very high fences which were topped with barbed wire, we felt quite safe. There were a number of different restaurants available for dinner. Later in the day we enjoyed sitting out in the sun on our balcony with a cup of tea and our chocolate croissants (from breakfast!).overlooking the pool and surrounding garden. I do agree that the TV was not brilliant as it was small and located high up on the wall however this did not worry us as we had our and books. I must make special mention of Zodwa. She always greeted us warmly with a smile, cooked the very yummy breakfast and went out of her way to help us in any way she could, arranging taxis, ordering dinner for us etc..We really enjoyed chatting to her about her life in Zimbabwe and now in Jo'berg. Her lovely outgoing personality made our stay both memorable and special. We met Claire the following day who was also very friendly and warm. So it was the perfect place, perfect weather, great hospitality and lovely surroundings for the start of our wonderful holiday. Thank you Zodwa, Claire and Tammy.. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Besides superb breakfasts served in classic surroundings , the rooms are excellent with all the extras one would desire. Good DSTV bouquet.

Room Tip: The Ultra luxury are well worth the small surcharge
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was on a business trip in JHB and finishing a tiring and stressful day to come back to a spacious room which was sparkling clean, comfortable and had a fresh smell was perfect. Staff were very friendly offering excellent service at all times. It made me feel like home. Breakfast was delicious. I felt very safe. I would definately recommend Claires guest house any day. Thank you all for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a very good guest house. But the raves in the reviews on TA really go too far in praising Claires.

Again, this is a very good place, but:
The TV screen is very small and is mounted on the wall at least 15 feet + from the headboard of the bed. Even with glasses you won't be able to view the tv with any clarity.

Also....they have a cable system with over a hundred channels, but only receive 1/5 of the available channels. No problem, except that they don't provide any list of what channels they do provide, so you have to channel surf endlessly to find programming you mite want to watch.

The internet is free and often "down."

The lighting in the bath vanity is really inadequate/poor.

The staff is really a little overly familiar and too friendly. Perhaps bordering on pretentiousness at times.

The biggest problem is that the place is advertised as being in Sandton, but it's not. It's a
mile hike or so (uphill) to Sandton. This place is in the suburb of Parkmore.

And you can't walk anywhere from the guesthouse. Not safe. Positively scary at night.
If you do not have a car, don't stay here.

The place is surrounded by a 10 foot high concrete wall with electrified wiring on top....not
exactly creating a relaxed setting.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $4 per night for the super deluxe rooms, well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Being first time visitors to SA, my friend and I were quite choosy about where to stay. Top priority was safety, comfort and proximity to the Sandton Convention Centre, venue of the Joburg Art Fair we were attending. We researched the internet, and read great reviews about Claire's guesthouse and the pictures looked like it was the perfect place. Having exchanged email with claire, we did not have any anxiety and looked forward to our trip. We arrived Sandton on the 20th for the Joburg Art Fair and was whisked to the waiting arms of Zodwa and Claire. Our stay till the 27th was wonderful. We looked forward to the delicious breakfast and fantastic view of the birds. Our room had everthing and the bed was so comfortable. We were transported with ease to our various destinations by Nelson, who was always patient and kind. Only regret was I could not use the pool cause the weather was sometimes chilly.
Claire, I hope you had a lovely time on your trip. Tammy and Zodwa and the staff made us feel at home and we are definitely coming back! We have told all our friends planning a visit to Sandton - Claires' is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadeBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews