We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, utilitarian rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small, utilitarian rooms”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a big city hotel across from Mandela Square - an upscale shopping mall. Think Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills. One of our group spotted a 50% off sale on shoes - and at that reduced price, still $280! But there's a good and fairly reasonable Thai restaurant in the "square" and lots of other restaurants at varying prices. Don't expect swift service. All the computers were down at the hotel - and even the phones for a time. Nobody could get connected to WiFi for a time. The concierge service was very efficient, however and helpful in arranging some special tours. We were there during a big rugby match so lots of street noise from partying fans into the early hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    640
    186
    55
    24
See reviews for
260
264
93
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Baie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed there with family on 02.10.2013. Just opposite the Mandela Square and leading to sandton city mall.Centrally located just five minutes walk from Gautrain.The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the gautrain station.Staff are superb and keen for your confort. Breakfast is up to the level. Rooms are nice and clean.the pool is fine.

Room Tip: Just below the hotel at P2 level you will find Game store for last minute shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogesh3177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Garden Court Sandton City is strategically located right next to the Convention in Sandton City, Johannesburg. Mandel Square is also located right in front of the main entrance.
Riffs Bar in the lobby is a great place to have some cool beers and a nice meal.

Rooms are cozy, well organized and clean. Bathrooms are good too although the pressure of the water is not the best.

The pool area is quite good to relax and you have also access to a small GYM. Food in the restaurant is very good, especially breakfasts.

The one thing that kills the hotel is the lack of a decent free WiFi included in the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neocmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room was clean and modern. All the staff were very friendly. About 45 minutes by car from the airport. Free WiFi (350MB) included. food in the pub (Riffs) was surprisingly good. I had the Mexican with jalapeno, blue cheese and salsa. The service in the pub was a bit over the top with staff checking in on me every few minutes. Football (soccer) on the TVs in the pub. Bed was comfy and shower good. Right next to Mandela Square and the Sandton Conference centre. Safe area to walk around. The room and the food were good value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamey, Niger
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel room is good and hotel very well located not to say perfectly. But the service is EXTREMLY POOR! I stayed there for 5 nights and every day has its own challenge. 3mornings out of the 5 I have to call housekeeping because my bath gel towel was not replace. Same happem for the dustbin. I asked for laundry service, when the lay came she knocked I was int he bathrrom, and she now banged seriously by the time I run to open she was already going not even one minute, and when I gave her the dress she ask me "are you aware that you have to pay for the service"? Then I answer by saying " When I ask for a service in a hotel, I dont expect it to be free"!!! When you call fron tdesk you have to be lucky, some times they will pick the phone, some time times they dont and when they do you have to insist by calling many times. They give cimplimentary internet acess but it does not work at all, to opn a google page you have to wait 10-15mn! When I was cheking out to call a porter took me approx 20minutes, and I had to call 3 times befor hey send someone. In top of all this, They stole my colleague money from his room, thee day of our departure. I wont recommend this hotel to whoever appreciate good guest service like me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safiatou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I travel to Johannesburg frequently and then stay at the Garden Court Sandton City. The hotel is located centrally and it makes it easy for me to get to meetings on time even in peak traffic.
The staff is always friendly and helpful. In the morning when I go for breakfast, Mike will come and greet me. Just that little bit extra that starts your day in a good way.

I hope that the upgrade has included the air conditioning system. It has always been marginal at best and inadequate during hot summer nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaingW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Location is good & easily accessible. Average room size. Bath room is small .Average break fast. Very Close to Mandela Square shopping center. Staff friendly . Free Wi-Fi facilities for limited period. Good Hotel for one day stay for Business people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing