We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would have preferred a Lodge in the area but my wife insisted on something right on top of Sandton City shopping centre. It's locality is good for that reason and they have a frequent shuttle bus for the Gautrain. Rooms comfortable but I can't understand why they don't have bottled drinking water available ,even when there is no mini-bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    637
    186
    55
    24
See reviews for
259
264
93
618
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just wanted to recount an excellent trip to Johannesburg last month and the stay ay Garden Court Hotel, Sandton City was very good as the staff took special care of all needs right from reception area to food and other services. Considering that its winter now and summer at home in India, adjusting to weather changes was nice as rooms had all modern amenities that one could hope for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartpiscean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A good stay for business trip, very close to Mandela square which offers a good selection of restaurants and shopping opportunities.
The price range is good and, though it doesn't excel, for the business traveler the hotel offers comparable comfort to other more expensive choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Osca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thank you for your prompt and positive reply to my review. I am very glad to hear about the improvements at the Hotel and the resolution of the charging problem. Your positive action means that I will now be happy to recommend the hotel in a much more positive fashion.

Thank you again - very good ,customer relations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The very helpful smiling staff and convenient location, next to the Mandela Square and Sandton City mall and close to the Sandton Gautrain station, make up for the somewhat characterless building that constitutes this hotel. I asked for a quiet room and was given one on the 8th floor, it was always well cleaned and the sheets changed quite often. Internet access in the rooms got a lot of complaints and was subsequently changed to a more user friendly system. Breakfast was good, although the queue for cooked eggs got a bit long at times. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and have no regrets. Although there are no frills, the hotel is clean and comfortable, with a good breakfast spread each morning which whets the appetite.
I was given a room on the ground floor, with a promise to be moved upstairs once guests check out at 12noon. This was promptly acceded to when I returned in the evening.
For such a busy hotel, front desk service was swift and breakfast service was impeccable.
The wifi in the room was fast, with good connectivity.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent three star hotel with one of the best location in town.I stayed in one of the newly renovated family room which was very neat, with quality bedding and towels, although the room seem to be smaller than the normal family room you would find in a Garden Court hotel. I wonder when Tsogo sun would introduce a free wi-fi? you still have to pay for it. The bathroom was bigger with a separate shower that would not fit an oversized person. The food in the revamped restaurant was great, but the atmosphere is mostly suited when you are not travelling with children. The breakfast reception was excellent, and the replenishment of foodstuffs was a bit slow as some guests had t wait. Overall, the atmosphere and facilities are great for business.

Room Tip: If with kids, good for overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heerengracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing