We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star Hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you want a fairly priced 3 star hotel in the heart of Sandton, then this is the place for you. It is just next to the Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton Convention Centre and the Sandton City Centre. There are all walking distance.

The Queen bed rooms are small but have basically all the amenities you require. Breakfast was also good with lots of options but don't bother about other meals in the hotel as there are lots of options at the Mall. Though the had a dinner buffet, I didn't try it so I honestly can't rate it.

Hotel also has a nice sit out area but it was a bit too cold at the time I visited to sit outside. One of the wings was undergoing renovation but this didn't adversely impact on my stay.

Overall, I will recommend a stay here if you want easy access to most of Sandton and you don't intend to splurge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dupri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to post the review.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    657
    189
    57
    24
See reviews for
268
272
93
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Arrived early the morning from a tiring 3 week business trip abroad, en route to Cape Town. Initially the early checkin was not yet ready, during a very busy morning for the hotel, but with one call the entire process was completed in minutes for me. The hotel has a fantastic position, right next to the Gautrain's Sandton stop, and offers the basic services very well. Staff are efficient and cope well under some seriously busy periods in my opinion. Unfortunately I got allocated a smoking room for some reason, though I was not there long enough for this to bother me much. Lobby is tiny, but complimented by a large dining area with a very large buffet breakfast served in the morning (Samson or Sinbad - I can't recall his exact name - the omelette guy is fantastic!).
Having Nelson Mandela Square on the doorstep and 24 Central Centre is just one block's walk away with clubs like Cocoon and Taboo for very late night fun, also means you can enjoy yourself after hours too.

One word of warning, take care to book the correct hotel, as Garden Court Sandton is NOT the same hotel as Garden Court Sandton City. Though near to one another they differ in location and quality like chalk & cheese ;)

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your review.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Slightly expensive for the price you pay - but its got everything you ecpect from a Holiday Inn

Great breakfast, nice clean rooms, good location. Very close to the sandton mall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showersad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your review on tripadvisor
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall

I have just checked out of the Garden Court Hotel in Sandton and wanted to input this whilst still fresh in my mind. I am constantly travelling for work and in hotels 3-4 nights a week clocking up over 180 room nights last year. My preferred hotel choice was fully booked so I was booked into this hotel as it is across the road from Nelson Mandela Square. When I found out my choice wasn’t available I searched for trip advisor reviews and had a bit of dread that I would be spending almost 2 weeks at this hotel. I stayed at the Garden Court Hotel in Sandton for 12 nights and most of the reviews here were evident – however my review will add comparison to other brands and context so people get the best idea. My transfer from the airport had me arriving to check in at approximately 10 o’clock. Upon going to reception I was greeted by the staff and after 20 minutes at the desk had been allocated a room (I wasn’t expecting a room this early but I would have rather had my luggage stored and been shown a place to shower than have to wait with little communication from the check in staff). I went up to my room (343) and was pleasantly surprised that the room was not as some others describe – filthy , it was clean but in need of refurbishment - but shocked at the size of it – would estimate barely 10sqm (see picture). I would compare this hotel to a more run down Hampton inn, Jury’s Inn or Travelodge. This hotel is only 3 Rand per night less than the Sandton Sun (see other review) and I feel that it is a bit cheeky they are charging premium rates when no real amenities are included as other hotels do and everything is extra. I will cover off how much extra this hotel can cost you later.

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but it charges that price. It is more of a decent 3 star hotel which is perfectly adequate if you need somewhere close to Sandton City but not worth the money.

Once can Imagine that spending 12 consecutive nights in one place could become monotonous. It is probably more so here because there is no lounge to sit and the amenities are pretty basic. If you are not willing to pay for internet (also tediously slow) then you may find that this hotel can be quite boring to stay in – treat it as only a place to rest your head. However the hotel is directly across from probably THE most expensive shopping centre in South Africa and right next door to Nelson Mandela square so I wasn’t spoilt for choice in window shopping but be aware that there is a hefty import tax so goods available in Europe can be up to double the price here. There is a small (I mean SMALL) round pool and sun loungers which are nearly always shaded by the hotels two towers but sun screen is still definitely still recommended. You are 6000ft above sea level so the air is much thinner and you will burn faster.

The hotel is basically two 10 or so storey towers connected by a lobby and arrivals area. The breakfast area, slightly faster internet connection and gym are all in this main lobby. There is a medium sized fitness centre with 3 running machines, 3 cycles and free weights

There are 2 restaurants, one which does breakfast only and another outside on the left hand tower – I wouldn’t recommend this as it’s really only for room service orders.

Service
Generally (90% of time) the service was pretty average and the staff always seem to appear nonchalant. Front desk staff can range from uber helpful and cheery to just can’t be bothered. The concierge is happy to help but can’t really do anything that is normally gratis like shuttle buses as everything is extra. Breakfast staff always greets with a smile but I avoided most other amenities at the hotel as you can feel like you are imposing. Asking for the internet can be tricky as they seem to only have a limited number of codes they can sell you for each day tariff and when they run out they are eager to up sell.

Unlike pretty much every other hotel in Sandton, the hotel does not offer a free shuttle to and from most places in Sandton. This is essential at night for security would definitely make me stay elsewhere – will cover off later why.

Food
The breakfast food is almost exactly the same as that at Sandton Sun and other Southern Sun hotels It is a wide selection of pretty fresh items with omelette stations, cooked food etc – i think they buy job lots of breakfast. It is an open buffet and has what you would find at any Hilton, Marriott etc – cereals, cakes breads, meats, cheeses, hot food etc. Most things look the same as Iother expensive hotels but its like close but no cigar. I would avoid the cooked breakfast as it looks ok but tastes like old boots. Also I have seen a lot of people comment on the freshly squeezed orange juice and would suggest that it is actually frozen squeezed orange juice which comes out of plastic bottles (true) – usually concentrated juice with separate pulp added. You can also tell by the taste and there is no sign of a juicing machine anywhere. When it comes out the machine you get about 1cm of thick pith that you end up having to scrape off. It is just an example of the simple differences of what they try to make look high end but actually isn’t.

Value
The hotel is not very good value for money. The per night rate is 3 Rand (30p) less than that of competitors within one block – I didn’t make this booking and my other choice was full, I now know why. Everything is extra except breakfast if you can get a breakfast inclusive rate. So how much extra in a week can this hotel cost you? Everything that follows is free elsewhere and consistently so. There is no shuttle bus between local offices and the hotel – they use the same shuttle that other hotels offer for free but charge 80 (£8) Rand per person each way. Now it is ok to walk a mile or so in the morning but unsafe at night so that could cost you 400 Rand (£40) per week per person. There is no free Wi-Fi. The 7 day weekly charge is 450 Rand (£40) but other rates work out at about 66 Rand (£6) per day. The internet is Stone Age slow but they ask you to contact the contact centre if you have issues. I think it is also to do with where in the hotel you are as it can go from very slow to dead stop. It can take over 1 minute to load a page. There are no amenities like water in the room – very useful each day in a hot climate so this could cost you (at local supermarket) 15Rand (£1.5) per day / £10 per week. The total of all this “extra” stuff could cost you an extra 1000Rand for the week (£90). For 3 Rand a night more I would use the Sandton Sun, Michaelangelo, and Intercontinental all within one block or any other local hotel which offers this for free.

Sleep Quality
My room had a double bed which was adequately comfortable. The bedding was changed every day. There is no duvet to speak of just thin sheets and the pillows are average. Imagine a 4 star priced hotel and you will be disappointed in this effort. The air con HAS to go off at night or the squeaking of the fan will keep even the deepest sleeper awake. DO NOT SLEEP in the wing closest to the Mandela square as the Michelangelo hotel has an escalator which squeaks all night. One colleague couldn’t sleep and had to move.

Cleanliness
Overall the hotel was clean. All the public areas are well maintained. The room and bathroom are maintained every day but could do with a thorough scrub and refurbishment. The international socket bar has no UK plug only euro and SA. The wall behind the TV was pretty grubby and not all the sockets looked safe. Again it is the same standard of cleanliness you would expect at a UK budget hotel or American motel.

Location
As mentioned above, the hotel is right next to the Sandton shopping area and a 5 minute walk to Nelson Mandela square. There is also plenty of things close by such as the Gautrain which takes you right to O R Tambo airport in 15 minutes. That is the good news. The bad news (if you Google earth it you will understand what follows) is that right outside (see picture) is the “informal” taxi rank where in the evening when you walk to Nelson Mandela Square for dinner you get heckled and chased up for taxis. Having crossed that gauntlet, you now go up the stairs to the back of the Michelangelo Hotel and shopping centre which is only a minutes’ walk but is where all the Prostitutes in Sandton seem to gather. So you get propositioned/pestered repeatedly over about 200m. This is the most unsafe I felt in SA as it’s not something you would expect in Sandton. The road the hotel is on is basically the service road for all the plush hotels so continually you feel that you are on the outside of the secured Nelson Mandela complex and also right on the cross roads of the busy Sandton Main road so traffic noise can be an issue. Had the other hotels not been full (again says it all that this one isn’t) I would have moved mid stay!

Rooms
I stayed in 343. The room is average – judging from experience of Hiltons, Marriott’s, Hamptons, Jury’s, Doubletree, Radisson’s which are usually 20-25sqm or larger, this room struggled to hit 10sqm. You have a double bed, tiny wardrobe with digital safe (which incidentally is not secured to the wall so can be carried away), 20inch flat screen TV, an international socket bar so that you can use SA or European plugs (although not UK).

General
Given the chance I would rather stay elsewhere – in a relatively poor location given its competition. Also not worth the money for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

stayed at the hotel and it was very busy
hats off to the staff who coped under the pressure

Room Tip: rooms with double beds are more comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ossie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your review on tripadvisor
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

a great location, 2 minutes walk to Nelson Mandela square which holds countless good quality restaurants and shops. Hotel fairly average..rooms basic but clean. Breakfast buffet great. Internet connection...expensive and slow at best

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your review on tripadvisor
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent one night.quick stop over after safari camps.Very busy with large wedding and many guests.The concierge was so helpful, confirming and booking our tours in the middle of demands from the wedding guests.!Nelson Mandela Square was amazing. Designer shops galore. Being 2girls, mother and daughter we felt completely safe walking around. Food is plentiful around the Square,catering to all tastes without the hotel cost.Breakfast at the hotel consisted of a large array of choices. All staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetto-58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelia v, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to post your review on tripadvisor
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing