We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel located right next to the Nelson Mandella square and large shopping centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Sandton City
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Mirboo North, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A hotel located right next to the Nelson Mandella square and large shopping centre”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

A wonderfully located hotel in the ever growing city of Johannesburg. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Although we requested inter-connecting rooms when we booked with our travel agent we didn't get them/ Our rooms were on the same floor and only about 2 metres apart (over the hallway). The food here is fantastic and the service was great. Staff very friendly and did offer to show us the connecting rooms but we couldn't get them straight away so we didn't change. being so close to a large shopping centre makes it an ideal place to stay in Jozi and well the kids will be older the next time we go.

Room Tip: use a travel agent, emphasise your room choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garlick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your making Garden Court Sandton City your choice of hotel to stay at on your recent visit, I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay
Thank you once again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    640
    186
    55
    24
See reviews for
260
264
93
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've been to the Garden Court in Sandton several times on business and will be going again on vacation for a 3 day stop in Joburg.

The hotel is great, but nearly not as luxurious as its surrounding partners. It's the best option for budget travellers who want to stay in a safe and convenient place in the city.

The services and facilities are about what you expect when you pay these rates: good, functional with no big frills.

I thought the breakfast was excellent and the fitness centre is great. Room service was always fast and good - and I ordered a lot!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Revenue Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor
I am delighted that you choose Garden Court Sandton City as your preferred hotel for your most recent stay in Sandton
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Once again thank you for choosing our hotel
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very bad place
I'm coming 01 may and they say me that no laundry, no room service, no restaurant
Why ?
Eastern week ......................................
I don't care
Hotel is hotel
Hotel must give service 24/24 - 01 january to 31 december
Very bad attitude
No service
No fridge in room
Hotel very noisy

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrinexxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

After staying at Victoria and Alfred in Cape Town, this hotel was a disappointment. Good location for shopping, hotel dining was poor. Electricity failed on the morning of our departure, leading to confusion. Accidently left night vision field glasses intended for our safari but calls to hotel resulted in run around from several staff. Never returned.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingwlkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to highlight the points of your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive comments, about teh hotel location.
I would like to apologise most sincerely for the poor service you received in the restaurant and with regards to no one being able to assist you with locating your glasses.
Please would you provide me with further information as to what we as a hotel need to improve on in order to make your dinning experience better
If I may kindly please request if you can contact the hotel on gcsandtoncity@southernsun.com, then will be able to assist you further with the lost property item.
Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention,
Best Regards
Amelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Staff was great and very helpful at all times, rooms were very nice. Was an excellent choice for us. Right across from Mandela Square. Felt very safe at all times and just comfortable to stay at. There are nicer hotels in area but not better values for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to highlight the points of your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive comments and for making Garden Court Sandton City hotel your choice of destination when staying in Johannesburg.
Once again thank you for the positive comments.
Best Regards
Amelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have just recently spent 24h in Jo`burg on our way to the coast. I was looking for a hotel, that was resonably priced and was within easy reach of either the airport and shopping/entertainment facilities, safe enough when travelling with the family. And the Garden Court Sandton City provided all this. I booked via their home page and got the best available deal. From O.R Tambo we took the Gautrain and it is an easy walk (even with luggage) from the station to the hotel (approx. 5-10 mins). Especially on the way back with a departure during rush hour the Gautrain is perfect.
The hotel is just opposite Nelson Madela Square with it's restraurants and bars and of course the many shops. There is a nice garden with a small pool and some sun beds (inkl. towels) and we spend two relaxing hour out there (lovely after an over-night flight).
We didn't eat at the hotel as there are plenty opportunities around.
The Garden Court is no five start hotel, here and there it shows a little age - but it was clean, staff very nice, and again: perfect location!
Just one peace of advise: There is another Garden Court in sandton (belonging to Holiday Inn). Don't get mixed up!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanseat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Reservations Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to highlight the points of your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive comments, I am delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel, and for making garden Court Sandton City Hotel your choice to stay at when you were in Johannesburg.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Best Regards
Amelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The standard of hotel was reasonable for 3 star. The biggest problem was the door keys. During a 7 day stay we needed to re-activate the key a total of 11 times. Back and forth to the room. There was allways a different reason given. Hope management read this because I don't think staff would pass problem on to them. Great breakfast/

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyjohn951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ameliand, Manager at Garden Court Sandton City, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to highlight the points of your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive comments, these have been communicated to the relevant departments.
I would like to apologise most sincerely for the poor service you received at the reception desk.
We have addressed the issues mentioned and can assure you that the necessary corrective action have been taken.
Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention,
Best Regards
Amelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandton City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandton City

Property: Garden Court Sandton City
Address: Cnr West and Maude Streets, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandton City 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish urban design and fuss-free approach to accommodation, Garden Court Sandton City is situated in the heart of Johannesburg. It is here that functional design meets smart technology, resulting in a surprisingly simple hotel that is easily able to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. The convenient location meanwhile has plenty of advantages for all guests. Business travellers are within easy reach of the acclaimed Sandton Convention Centre along with the rest of the Sandton CBD, while leisure travellers can enjoy the world-class shopping, entertainment and sight-seeing attractions found within the area. Getting around has never been easier, thanks to the high speed Gautrain route that spans across the city.Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Features A total of 444 rooms are offered, each furnished in a modern style. Aside from basic features such as baths and separate showers, facilities in each room include invitingly comfortable double or queen beds, workstations, air-conditioning, tea and coffee stations, DSTV, plug points and porter service among others. Wheelchair-accessible and smoking rooms can also be arranged on request. Other facilities that can be enjoyed within the hotel itself include free WiFi, complementary Gautrain station shuttles, Riffs Bar & Grill, a breakfast room, Sandton Sun Spa and access to other nearby amenities. Conferencing venues and facilities include two full-service meeting rooms, with packages on offer to suit your business needs. As a guest at our hotel, you can also look forward to a host of specials that add more value to your stay, such as our Frequent Guest loyalty programme. Take the stress out of travel planning with Garden Court Sandton City – an ideally located hotel that understands your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Sandton City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Sandton City Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Hotel Sandton
Garden Court Sandton City Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing