We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Lourie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lourie Lodge
Ranked #48 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed with the family for a stop over in Joburg. Really nice family room, good decor and the whole guest house is very well maintained. It gives you a feeling of being at home - quiet, well maintained gardens, nice lounge etc. The staff are helpful..but similar to other places in South Africa, could be more friendly, show some heart in the job. The quality of cooked breakfast could be significantly improved for the standard of the guest house. They should get a proper cook and STOP using untrained room cleaners to prepare breakfast for guests. The breakfast room leaves you with a feeling of what if it was served on the open verandah by the poolside! Overall, nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Lourie Lodge desperate for accommodation, it was 21.00hrs and we had been driving all day, we didnt exspect to get an answer when we rang the bell, but our savior appeared (he was the night security guy) and yes we could have a room. So this was our introduction to Loirie Lodge and what a gem it is, our room and subsequent rooms have all been top quality by, the service recieved from various members of staff has been excellent and pleasant to. The accommodation is very secure with pleasant relaxation areas, on our last stay at Lourie Lodge our room was large with arm chairs to relax in, a large flat screen tv, a free standing bath, fridge, and the the linen was top quality to, we couldnt wish for better, you can be assured any future stays in Johannesburg will be at Lourie Lodge. (We have stayed in Johhanesburg many times over the last 15 years)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcr4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Recently (March 14th-18th) I've been to Johannesburg and I’ve lodged to the Lourie lodge, this has not been the first time I stayed there as I already had the chance to spend some nights there in the previous year.
I usual I found the hotel perfect for my needs, quiet surrounded by a luxury garden and trees. A small pool where resting after a long business day while smoking a cigar with an excellent glass of rum!
Rooms are beautiful with a very comfortable bed and big bathroom.
The hotel is very quiet and you wake up in the morning with bird singing.
Interesting is the honesty bar open 24 hours a day where you help yourself any time you need a drink, just don’t forget to report in the book.
Personnel is discrete and you feel like at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have lived in the Fourways area for 15 years but relocated overseas last year.When we return to Johannesburg we definetely want to stay around Fourways, and we always want to try a new place in order to find the ultimate "home-away-from-home". Here it is. Stayed in room 6 with a beautiful view to the well kept garden and pool. We want that room again next time (4 months from now). Breakfast is nice but you have to order extra bacon if you are going for the English breakfast. It is perfectly made to order, however in small portions. As you can expect from a lodge that markets itself "Exclusive" the interior decor was very upmarket and African. Staff were OK, but their interest in providing service and smiles did vary. Hosts were hardly visible. All together great place, highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a suite with a great view over the garden. The veranda offers privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viggotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I have stayed here a couple of times on business and it is absolutely lovely . Beautiful house in lovely grounds, excellent rooms, friendly staff, charming owners, good food decent prices.

Swimming Pool in garden which I was not able to use as every time I visited was in winter.

I will try to stay here when i visit with my family , I love the place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CummingDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Recommended by a relative who lives locally this small B and B is a gem in the middle of the suburbs. Very secure with 24 hours staff cover it comprises only eight rooms, all of which look out onto the lawns and pool.

The staff could not be more attentive and pleasant, chatting away to the two year old in our party like an old friend. Also on the subject of children, the owner offered to fence off the pool if we wished, a nice touch.

Usual full or part English breakfast if you prefer but a full choice of cereals and juice.

Secure (carpeted!) garaged parking.

Very handy for the Fourways shopping mall and Montecasino.

Only one criticism - the tennis court needs resurfacing (not that it makes much difference to my game!).

This is a 'word of mouth' place that is worthy of a bigger audience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carodou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,389 reviews
7.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
7.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
7.8 mi away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
7.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lourie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lourie Lodge

Address: 56 Mulbarton Road | Beverley, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $79 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lourie Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lourie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lourie Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing