We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Excellent view from the rooms and restaurant. One of the best Hotel fitness centers I've ever seen. Breakfast is very, very good. Hotel decoration is nice and above all the hotel is calm and silent, Room quite confortable with all the amenities. Staff is helpfull and you have a free shuttle to Mandela Square. I strongly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

The hotel is quite new and very clean, the rooms are from the 13th floor onwards so nice views are guaranteed, there are 3 floors of gym/ swimming pool/ indoor running track, the rooms are very spacious and well equipped (incl. the bathroom), the service is very friendly (although I prefer swimming without a mandatory swimming cap and the free bottle of water coming in the evening could be there earlier) and, more importantly, there is a shuttle service to Sandton City every 30 min and free (and fast) wireless internet

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmerkwirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Great new hotel on a good location. (I know it's big question what is good location in Jo Burg but for me it was very good).
Room are spacious and very nice. We had a suit and there is one issue there if you share a room with someone who is not your very intimate friend - there is a glass wall between bedroom and bathroom. So, yes, you see your roommate more then you actually want to see. :)
Service is perfect. I had some urgent need to scan some documents and reception guy did it in few minutes very efficiently.
Food is also very nice. Both breakfast and lunch where very good.
Fitness center and pool are amazing! There is more than 100 different machines and big pool with sauna and steam room. You have to wear swimming cap for the pool. You can buy it on reception desk for 6-7 EUR.

I had great time in this hotel and I look forward to visit it again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Has a great location
- Great gym and spa areas
- Good responsive staff
- Good restro and breakfast
-Great room views
- Good reward program

- A little weird way of lift operations with dual lifts.
- A little inconstancy in service

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unknown2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before we left Johannesburg. Our room was very spacious and with a good view. However, because of the layout of the hotel, both nights we were woken up by noise coming from the bar (and we were on the 18th floor). The hotel is not located at Sandton square, but it is not that far and you can take the shuttle.
We ate a nice breakfast one morning at the hotel and had a snack at the bar one afternoon (very good sandwich!). Overall, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed in the Radisson Blu in April 2010.

It's a slightly strange layout in a mixed use block, meaning Reception is on the 13th Floor, and you take one lift there and then another to your room. Despite booking a single room, I got room 1506, a corner suite, with separate office area, two toilets, and a glass partition towards the double bed with floor to ceiling corner windows overlooking Sandton and Joburg. Definitely a good room for couples. Although, on the downside, there was a plumbing access panel just by the deck, so I could hear every toilet flush and shower from the room above when I was working!

The breakfast is very good, as you'd expect, and English breakfast buffet was kept hot and topped up - it did get very crowded in the mornings, however. The bar is also very nice, but there is a fairly limited selection of bar snacks, however.

Room service was similarly limited in selection, but more shocking in quality. I had a mozzarella salad, mushroom risotto, and ice cream: the mozzarella was long-life, the risotto was reheated and cold anyway as it was delivered uncovered, and the ice cream was melting, but also had ice crystals nonetheless. Radisson have some work to do for the food to match the building. As someone who invariably ends up working and eating room service on worknights, I'm glad I was only here a few days.

Otherwise, the gym must probably be the best in a hotel I've ever used - a "Platinum" members club, on three stories, with a decent sports pool downstairs, cardio middle, and full range of technogym weights machines upstairs - all in new condition. There's a sundeck and pool outside, and incredibly, a 220m indoor air conditioned running track that loops around the outside of the 10th floor. Impressive, but no match for a run outdoors, and no match for the treadmills upstairs.

Overall, the Radisson Blu is an excellent hotel, aside from the dining shortcomings, but is priced accordingly, of course.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Good clean hotel, good rooms and friendly staff. Good breakfast too. Only downside is that you`re not over the sandton square shopping which leaves you dependant on he hotel shuttle which only operates every half hour and is often full.
Bottom line, good hotel but I'd choose a better location if prices comparable

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thewired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street | Johannesburg, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $121 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing