We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to be”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Large hotel in a rich subburb of Johannesburg. Very large Gym in the building, incl. a 25m, 5 lane indoor pool, sauna, steam bath and a jogging lane around the building in the 10th floor. Outdoor pool on level 8. Unfortunately no restaurant or bar outside. Good restaurant and very good breakfast. Very large rooms. Parking in the building.
5 minutes to walk (safe) to Mandela Square in Sandton with lots of restaurants and a large mall. Also 5 minutes to walk to the Gautrain station with connection to downtown Johannesburg, Pretoria and Joburg international airport (O.R.Tambo). 25 minutes by car to the airport.
I stayed there several weeks and woiuld definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UAGDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton as your home away from home for your lengthy trips to Johannesburg - your positive comments are highly appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities in the hotel including our Super Breakfast and large hotel rooms.

Getting out and about in a city is very important on lengthy work trips so we are glad that you made use of the summer evenings/weekends to get about and on your next visit we also have our free shuttle bus that will take you within a 3km radius of the hotel.

We look forward to your return to Johannesburg in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    441
    152
    58
    40
See reviews for
88
228
59
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very comfortable hotel with a crazy lift network and one too many desks when you are trying to check in, other than that I'd stay there again... all be it forewarned that I need to bring a swim cap next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return on your next visit - we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Best breakfasts of any hotel ever. Cater for those who want to be healthy, like cranberries, nuts, awesome fruits etc ( there are the waffles, fried eggs and pancakes too) Awesome touches like reception and dining room on 13th floor. Brilliant wifi (free and fast). Top class hotel in a great area. Rooms have scenic views over JHB. Only negative: shockingly rude parking staff, extremely unhelpful if your parking ticket fails. But two completely useless bad eggs didn't manage to destroy an otherwise excellent hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Super Breakfast - there is nothing better than waking up to a spread of delicious and healthy items.

I am also pleased to hear that you were able to take in the magnificent views of Sandton and Johannesburg as well as enjoy our reception and free wifi.

I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the parking guards, I shall be sure to address this with the parking company who manage the parking area in order to avoid this from happening in the future.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Level Contributor
254 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although this wouldn't be the hotel I'd pick if I were on holiday as it is full of business people, it is great if you are in Joburg for work. You can easily and safely walk to Madela Square during the day. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The food is also quite good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel even though on holiday and hope that you will return to relax at our out door pool or rejuvenate at our spa upon your next visit.

We look forward to your next visit to sunny Johannesburg.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I moved there after an awful night in Garden Court Milpark. So.. I was just astonished, how non-comparable are both of them, even if there was almost no difference in price. It’s clean, SAFE, and nice hotel relatively close to Sandton mall (unfortunately without direct access). Room was quiet and clean, breakfast very good, coffee excellent. And smiley and helpful staff – just like businesslike hotel should be, even in crazy Johannesburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on TripAdvisor.

Your review has brought a smile to my face to know that you have experienced what every traveller should experience on a trip to our hotel. Our warm South African hospitality mixed with our unique Yes I can! Service is visible throughout your review and this is brilliant news!

We take pride in ensuring that our guests are looked after away from the comforts of home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Decent hotel....clean rooms...and great food (the pork ribs are ab-fab)

service is a tad bit slow (the housekeeping took 2 hours and 5 calls to bring the iron and iron board) and the guys at events on the 12th floor are downright awful.... unhelpful and just could not be bothered..... maybe they are (like most banquet staff) casual labours or maybe its just the usual 'Curse of the Unions'

the famous Yes I Can service is advertised everywhere - every staff seems to wear that pin on his lapel - but it is seldom practiced.

Room Tip: probably the higher ones will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you did not experience our unique Yes I Can! Service from all of our employees. We will be looking into this.

I would also like to apologise for the poor service from our banqueting team and will address this with the management involved in that department.

On a positive note it is great to hear that you enjoyed our food and rooms.

We appreciate your feedback and will utilise this to rectify the areas that need improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are two Radisson Blu hotels within about 400m of one another outside the Gautrain station at Sandton. This one, a little further away, is in a mixed use building that has some benefits (3 level gym and full size swimming pool) but can be a little tiresome to access using two sets of elevators to get from the ground floor to your room.

The rooms are of a good standard, clean, spacious, and the flip side of being so high up is that pretty much everywhere has great views over the city and surrounding areas. Besides the fantastic gym, there's little else in the way of a entities, only one average restaurant and a lobby bar.

The location is fairly good, if you don't mind a short walk to the Gautrain station and shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. We are also delighted to read that you appreciated our great views and gym.

We sincerely hope to host you in the near future and please follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@RadbluSandton) to stay informed about our hotel.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing