We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second review....is that allowed ?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Second review....is that allowed ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have become a 'regular' at this hotel and very pleased with the way I was 'recognised' by the staff and management. Virtually all of my earlier review comments seem to have been very well addressed. Especially the restaurant where it is good to actually HEAR the Head Chef calling out orders to his brigade. Not once did I get a 'late delivered warm meal'. Pizzas hot, steaks always cooked perfectly as requested, belly pork succulent, breakfast very well organised. I have no bother with the lift system..after all its the main reason why so many Heads of State in (as I can now say) a number of US Presidents inc the big 'O', Pres of Spain and may other stayed here earlier this week. At times the Reception area was like being on a set of 'White House Down'' with so many Secret Service personnel. The whole staff team managed this extremely well and still looked after the 'normal' guests in a highly professional manner. Top marks to all...well done Rad Blu Sandton under very stressful circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you once again for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton using Trip Advisor as your preferred choice of review site.

We are extremely happy to hear such positive comments & are only too happy for you to review our hotel after each visit.

As we strive to offer our 'Yes I Can!' Service we enjoy looking after each & every guest as if everyone is a VIP. Attention to detail goes hand in hand with good service in order to ensure your stay is a memorable one.

I look forward to your next visit to Johannesburg & hope that you will join us again on another great experience.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    432
    145
    58
    40
See reviews for
88
224
58
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed there a couple of nights because of the proximity to the Gautrain station and client's offices. Rooms are good -- I would say above the average Radisson Blu standard in Europe.

Staff was lost though. I needed a toothbrush before heading to business meetings - sorry, they don't have dental kits. Wanted the Financial Times or WSJ to read over breakfast - they don't have business newspapers. WiFi did not work during the entire stay. The laundry service was very poor - I sent my suit and a couple of shirts for pressing before important client meetings, and couldn't see any difference once I got them back.

The restaurant is very poor - the length of the menu doesn't even remotely correspond to the quality of the food. (This is why you need to take the hotel shuttle and head to the Sandton City mall for dinner -- Pigalle (seafood/Angolan/Mozambican) and Bukhara (Indian) are two great options).

Two things I liked about the hotel were the swimming pool/deck and the excellent breakfast. This is not enough, however, to make me come back when traveling on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor for your most recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

I am sorry to hear of the poor services you received during your stay through housekeeping & concierge services. This is not the Yes I Can! service that we strive to offer & will definitely be address immediately. Thank you however for bringing this to our attention in order for us to make it right for future.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Super Breakfast & out door pool deck & do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future in order for us to make right the wrongs you experienced.

May we wish you a pleasant New Year.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Security was quite tight, room was very nice and modern, what you'd expect from Radisson. Location is good, attached to a shopping mall and convenient to the business district.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOP_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your fantastic review from your most recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

Your positive comments will be passed on to the rest of the team & I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I used this hotel to run a workshop for approx 40 delegates, some of whom were staying at the hotel, including myself. The workshop facilities were generally fine and I would use this facility again. We did, however, have a problem on the first when a number of delegates went to the Radisson Blu Gautrain hotel which is about 300m away...advice to Radisson would be to put the word 'Gautrain' down the side of the hotel, rather than just at the front!
On a personal level, the check in was good and the rooms are well appointed and very clean and comfortable. The lifts have to be the most irritating thing in this hotel and management must surely do something about it...a few minutes in the lobby and the chaos is obvious. The hotel offers free wifi which worked well in the room, but kept dropping out in the workshop meeting room.
Breakfast and dinner were fine, but to be honest the restaurant and bar service was very poor considering the large number of staff who seemed to be quite happy to stand around talking between themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor - we are really happy that you enjoyed your room & conference facilities whilst you stayed with us.

We are extremely grateful for your feedback regarding the wifi & lift challenge as we continuously strive to improve on our services offered to our guests & this will most certainly be on our list to discuss in the New Year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in 2014.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you're looking for a business hotel in Sandton this is it. Once you have gotten used to the elevator system, the rooms are good, internet works, room service with good food, great location and really nice breakfast.
You also have access to a very good gym. Reception there rather unfriendly but the gym is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on your most recent visit to Johannesburg & thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your positive comments is music to my ears of our hard work in ensuring our guests feel at home whilst staying with us however it is disappointing to hear that our front line staff were not as welcoming as they should be - I will be sure to address this with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Johannesburg upon your next visit.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've stayed here and the Hilton Sandton a number of times and prefer the Radisson. It is modern, rooms well equipped, nice bar & restaurant, with great views from the rooms and restaurant.
The food isn't too bad for hotel food, possibly a little pricey, but restaurants are nearby.
I haven't had any issues with the wifi like some others have. I've spend number of days working from th hotel with uninterrupted access and good phone reception.
The gym second to none & the spa is one of the best around. Also they do include hair conditioner which often hotels don't have which is useful!
The shuttle goes every 30 mins to Mandela square £ gaurtain station & they will also come and do an adhoc pick up if necessary.
Definitely my choice of hotels in Sandton.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UK_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear UK_Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us & extremely pleased that you have experienced consistent wifi connectivity - as we strive to continuously improve on our services to our clients your comments help us to recognise what we are doing right.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the near future.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is a disappointment, I could never get the internet connection to work during my 5 days stay, and when it did work, it was always too unstable. Hotel staff was unhelpful , slow response.
It's a good location but only if you lower the standards, this hotel cannot be qualified as 5 stars, weak service, substandard furniture and decoration that are far from providing the experience it promisses.
One pathetic example is the bad frame for a super king size bed and the bed, king size. That is the side table on one side is near the bed and on the other side there is a 40 centimeters gap between bed and side table.
The elevators are energy saving but do not take into account the morning rush, so users end up standing on a line to be able to call the next elevator to reach ground floor only after the full one is gone as if you plug in the floor it keeps pointing to the lift that clearly will not accomodate all guests willing to use the elevator.
There are a number of other incredibly poor solutions everywhere but the worst is to promise a internet connection that never works, and no plan B for when it goes completelly dead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Clo1111,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am concerned to hear you did not enjoy your stay however we have taken your comments very seriously as we strive continuously offer great services to our clients.

We are in the process of assessing our internet as this is a must for any traveller.

We hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Johannesburg & allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

With kind regards,
Eirik Bergvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing