We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location close to the Gautrain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location close to the Gautrain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good service, nice atmosphere. Only a couple of blocks of Mandela square mall, not that I'm into malls at all but on this one I was surprised by the quality of the restaurants in there, and not being Joburg a very "friendly for walking" city, it's a big plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    372
    129
    45
    36
See reviews for
74
179
58
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a decent, well priced business hotel.

Staff are extremely helpful and there is a great gym and swimming pool.

The reception is a great place to have a beer and watch people and the food at the restaurant was great. I would, and am, stay again in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staff on the whole are very friendly and warm, however the hotels overall service lets it down - dont expect much and you will be fine. In room dining - got my orders wrong, phones not answered..wake up calls a few mins late. The gym at the hotel is amazing and if i came back it would be for this...one of the best in the area. Restaurant food is ordinary and not much variety though bfast was good...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoSince78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my honeymoon between going on a South African safari and Mauritius. The staff were excellent, they made a fuss over me and my husband giving us the honeymoon treatment with champagne etc and there was nothing they couldn't do for us, I was delighted with the service! The hotel was funky with a goegeous gym and pool, it was a shame I wasn't there long enough to use it. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Overall we were very happy with our brief stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madam_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has lots going for it but I do prefer the other Radisson Blu (Gautrain) down the street. This hotel has a good pool (at least when its warm), a great gym, very good rooms and a decent restaurant. The design is excellent but the service pales compared to the other one. Very friendly, just not as well trained-at all. Restaurant and bar hours are terrible. The elevator system is over engineered and confusing. Good luck parking if you have a car bigger than a motorcycle.

Room Tip: Face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am accomodating here for months. It is not my choice. I am here because of it is my company's negotiated hotel. Poor staff, poor security, poor restaurant. Only thing beautiful in this hotel is gym. It is really designed successfully but rest part is a waste. All the sounds in the bar is directly coming to your room even you are in 22 floor. My colleague's bag was stolen from restaurant in the 13 floor.

I am counting days to finish my project and leave this hell.

Room Tip: Find another hotel for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very modern hotel in all respects. On arrival you have to go to the 13 th floor using a key card(which you pick up at reception on the ground floor) then once on the 13th you can access separate elevators to your room. Main reception area on 13 th floor, all staff v helpful, pleasant bar and modern restaurant. Very spacious and light which makes it an enjoyable experience. Room size was excellent, well laid out, well stocked mini bar, good quality furnishings, bathroom excellent. You can also open the windows! Always a bonus. Fabulous views over the city. Wifi good, and if you are a gym bunny, the gym is stunning with pools, a staggering number of machines and a useful health bar. Excellent shuttle bus to the mall. All staff outstanding. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Cancelon, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing