We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel has a security problem” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel has a security problem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My bag was stollen at the hotel's dining room. Some people saw the thief and inform the security but they just ignore and try the other guests doesn't realise anything. Then we checked the cameras and see that half of them are not working. We report this to hotel management and get a reply as 'do not leave your bag at the public areas'

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serayseray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    412
    138
    52
    39
See reviews for
82
205
58
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We are ending our trip in South Africa by staying a few days in Johannesburg. Just to let people know this is a great hotel, but stay away from the 14th floor. Can you believe hotels still have smoking rooms? Staff was perfect at changing us to the 17th floor. Thanks Vanessa!

Room Tip: Keep to the upper floors as they are non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

乗り換えで1泊する必要が有り、緊張しつつヨハネスブルグのこのホテルを予約しました。交通費を節約するため、空港からサントン駅まで鉄道+駅からのホテルへの無料送迎を利用しました。送迎は無料サービスだけに、「地上で待ってろ」という曖昧な指示のもと、何とか送迎車を発見して無事に到着しました。駅前にも同じブランドのホテルがありますが、こちらは駅からは500メートルくらい、車で2,3分という感じです。歩くにはちょっと距離があると思います。
到着してみれば非常に立派なホテルで、チェックインもスムーズ、部屋は非常に清潔で広く、バスタブもあり、シャワーの水圧も十分です。最上階の部屋だったので夜景が綺麗に見えました。
ショッピングモールまで夕食をとりに出ましたが、無料の送迎サービスがあり、非常に便利でした。朝食も種類が豊富で味もよく、またレストランの席数も十分なので、値段の割に非常によかったと思います。チェックアウト後、また駅への送迎を利用しました。
総じて、非常に快適かつ安心して宿泊できるホテルだと思います。

We stayed one night at this hotel, for transit. We took train from the airport and asked for free shuttle from Sandton, however it was difficult to catch shuttle car at Sandton station, as it was not scheduled and sharing service with other guest. We kept our eyes on the road in front of the station to capture the vehicle with Radisson logo.

The hotel as it is was really fine and beautiful. Check-in was smooth, and our room assined on the top floor was large enough for two with clean and fine shower & bathtab.

We had a dinner in Mandera Square, and their free shuttle service was really helpful and convenient. Breakfast was also nice, good variety and quality, in the fine atmospher restaurant.

I think this hotels is worth visiting once again when I travel to Johannesburg, and their room charge is reasonable considering about serviecs and quality, and safetiness in this city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Over the last two weeks, I have stayed twice there. Both times, I had a clean, modern room. Bathrooms are big. Very good and friendly service throughout the hotel (reception, restaurant, concierge). Breakfast buffet offers the usual variety, but has excellent quality food!
The location is close to Sandton City, a major shopping mall, and Nelson Mandela Square (another shopping mall with great dining choices around the square). The hotel runs a shuttle bus every 30 minutes between the hotel and the Square. Overall, I enjoyed my time there and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've stayed here a few times now it's convenient but check-in etc. needs to be more efficient for exhausted travellers. After a long flight, sorting out hire car & then nervously braving the crazy Jhb roads at busy times the absolute last thing you have the energy for is to stand overtired in the queues at the check-in desks, then only to wait another half hour (!) while they can't find the room we booked (without the weird massive window between the bedroom and the toilet - & unlike other hotels it has no blind to drop down, so you actually have no option for privacy even, not cool architects/designers - not cool) only to be dragged exhausted around the hotel until they finally find the one we booked months ago.

Other than that the rooms seem clean; the bathrooms nice; the food is quite nice if you have to order room service; Tea lovers have to battle with the coffee machine to try make a coffee-free cup of tea (what's wrong with those great little kettles?...); Security seems good apart from it lacking a little illogically at the side of the building where you actually enter the car park; the aircon is good and provides comforting constant white noise to allow a good sleep; the sheets etc. are starched a little too harshly - sounds like you're wrapped in newspaper everytime you turn or move; they seem to respect the Do Not Disturb sign thank goodness & no shrill telephone call waking you up either so that's great compared to some places; we tried the standard room too and it was very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCD-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is a very nice hotel. Good location, close to the financial district, and about less than 5 minutes drive to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City, both are great shopping malls. The hotel has a shuttle bus every 30 minutes to the Nelson Mandela Square, the bus was always on time in the morning and afternoon, and a bit late about 15-25 minutes in the evening. Walking surrounding the hotel is okay, but I will not recommend it after dark.
This hotel is very well decorated, modern, elegance, with a very good ambiance particularly in cafe and lounge area at 13th floor. I have a good time here when hanging out with my friend, watching the English Premier League, and have some drinks. Just a notice that we ordered 2 portion of meat balls and we have to wait around 45 minutes to finally get it.
I love the bedroom, and the bathroom as well. Very modern, clean and tidy. Comfort bed and pillows, very well furnitures and carpet, and I got a nice view from the room. The bathroom was bright and very clean.
I always enjoy my breakfast time here, so many options, good variation of breads and muffin, great salad and fruits, lovely sausage and bacons, and great coffee also.
Due to my experiences I think the area for improvement is the hotel's staff attitude. Some of them are good, but most of them need to be more friendly. In overall, I would say that I have a great stay here, and will defenitely stay here again in the future if I have chance to go back to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnych j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the 4th time to say there. We had two suites of which one was pointing to the noisy street. Upon request the staff offered to change the room immediately. The rooms offer a nice view on the city. Lunch and dinner in the Restaurant on the 13th floor was very good. Compared to other times, there were however much fewer guests. The quality of service and infrastructure in the Spa is very good too. The weak link this time was the concierge service. Coordination of pick up service at the airport went wrong as we were told that the service was outsourced to another company but they did not know to which after we wanted to inform about a flight delay. On the occasion of booking a Restaurant for dinner on Sunday and getting confirmation for the booking, we ended up standing in front of a closed Restaurant (for many years Sundays the Restaurant is closed).

Please vote YES if you find this comment useful. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing