We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice to be there, but Concierge service was weak this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the 4th time to say there. We had two suites of which one was pointing to the noisy street. Upon request the staff offered to change the room immediately. The rooms offer a nice view on the city. Lunch and dinner in the Restaurant on the 13th floor was very good. Compared to other times, there were however much fewer guests. The quality of service and infrastructure in the Spa is very good too. The weak link this time was the concierge service. Coordination of pick up service at the airport went wrong as we were told that the service was outsourced to another company but they did not know to which after we wanted to inform about a flight delay. On the occasion of booking a Restaurant for dinner on Sunday and getting confirmation for the booking, we ended up standing in front of a closed Restaurant (for many years Sundays the Restaurant is closed).

Please vote YES if you find this comment useful. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jadore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a great hotel, safe, friendly, close to everything, good staff to help with whatever you need.

Very good vibe, relaxing and nice places to sit around and gather.

Highly recommend this hotel going to SA.

Room Tip: Pool is great, food wonderful, close to the biggest shopping malls....
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haidee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April. I arrived in themorning, hotel taxi pick-up from the airport was ok, I received the room in the morning without any waiting. It is modern, clear, nicely decorated. Staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is great, I liked mainly the fresh fruits selection, in the same restaurant you can have a very good dinner too (especially baked Salmon, Pinotage red wine, etc.). Check-in area is on the floor 13, which confused me a bit at the beginning, maybe it is for a safety reasons. Hotel has a pool outside (10 floor) but in case of bad weather, there is one also inside (8 floor). The gym and Spa are perfect. My room on floor 21 had a splendid view. It was large, nice, with coffee and tea making amenities. Bathroom was also huge and clean. Wifi was a bit slow and it worked better in the outside pool area. From this hotel it is about 45min drive to Lions Park. I believe this hotel offers all you may need during your stay. I do not attach any fotos, as the hotel and the rooms look the same as you see on their webpage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzkazuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a really nice stay here. I would recommend it to any business travelers.The food is good and the service is fantastic. Also, take advantage of the gym and indoor lap pool--Olympic quality. The location was good for someone working in Sandton. I stayed here for two weeks and it felt like home at the end of the trip. There is also a free shuttle service to the mall and in-between hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlainG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here one night before moving onwards to Capetown. Rooms were large and quite nice, huge bathroom with nice amenities.

Check in area is on the 13th floor which is separate from the lobby area on the ground floor. Not sure if this is for security or design reasons. Hotel staff was a mix-- the bartender was super nice as well as the other restaurant staff. However the check-in staff was only ok-- we had a bored man whom checked us in and was too impatient to get back to his phone to tell us more details about the hotel shuttle and restaurant locations but we had a really nice woman the next day that printed out our boarding passes.

There is a free shuttle that takes you to Sandton mall which was handy as we went to eat at the Butcher Shop (recommended) and the shuttle stops right in front of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent 5* city hotel in the heart of Sandton!

Lovely modern & comfortable rooms with full bathroom & great views of Sandton.

All public areas clean and with super trendy decor. Nice atmosphere. Breakfast excellent and service extremely efficient.

Made use of the world-class gym - high recommended.

Great size swimming pool with stunning views of Sandton.

Complimentary shuttle to Nelson Mandela Square which offers a massive shopping mall and a large array of restaurants. The square is a real buzz in the evenings.

Overall Sandton made us feel very safe and the people very friendly. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapetonianForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good quality accomodation within east reach of Sandto shopping centre. Staff friendly, food pretty good and rooms well equipped, quiet and comfortable. Actually, the restaurant was very good - try the springbok steak it was great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCreosote21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street | Johannesburg, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $121 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing