We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here in early February and absolutely loved it. The service we experienced was second to none. We got a very good rate and stayed in one of the standard rooms which was spotless. We had a fabulous view of Sandton city and in the distance Johannesburg itself. The hotel is right beside a little park, called 'Mushroom Park' which seemed very safe and a great local amenity. The minute we made our reservation I contacted the hotel and requested an early check in, which we got. Degratia from the Reservations Dept. patiently answered all of my questions ( I asked lots of them) and even accepted and took care of a parcel ( of a disposable braai from Ignite) for us until we arrived.

We thought the hotel was in a great location, very close to the main motorways etc. We used the shuttle daily and thought it excellent. One night we called the concierge and the shuttle came and collected us from our restaurant within 5 minutes. I thought it ran until 11 pm, but I could be wrong. The breakfast buffet was delicioious. The fruit selection and the yogurts and the smoothies were particularly yummy.

I must mention some staff who were just so kind to me. Rhea and her buddy( whose name I cannot recall) and their manager Sue were just brilliant. I had a minor mishap at the swimming pool and they came to my rescue. They were kind, caring and very sweet and I would really like to acknowledge their professionalism.

We will definitely stay here again, every chance we get.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Super friendly service in a modern hotel. The checkin in is on the 13th floor, and the security is apparent and I guess warranted. Breakfast is extensive and the views from the 22 floor are far and wide. Air con works good, as does the free wifi. Bathroom is also a good size.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Raddison for 3 nights during our honeymoon. In terms of location, there are a few others which are more convientely located to tourist attractions such as the Sandton Sun or Interconnitental. Its very much a business hotel and a little out of the way - nothing in the general area to recommend it. Walking distance to the Gautrain and about 20 minutes walk to Nelson Mandela Square. The hotel does provide a shuttle but ist only available until 9:30pm so you will have to find your own way back if you stay there later.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophied24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After a long day we unfortunately checked in on 22/1 and were upgraded as all standard rooms were booked.We were not told it was to a smoking suite!The smell was not too bad and we were tired so we stuck with it.We enquired about free internet use and were indicated 3 lap tops.Later we tried to get on line to our families but got no joy.When we enquired with customer relations nearby(who had seen us trying) we were told that the internet had been down for quite some time and the lap tops were not therefore in use.No other laptop/terminal was available.At breakfast we were ignored,with waiters too busy looking for tables to clear rather than customers to serve.It took 2 requests to get coffee.The hot choice I went for,beans,scrambled egg and sausages were all cold.Enough was enough.At checking out we asked for a feed back sheet to complain and stated our complaints.We were informed that we would be e-mailed a feed -back form.......a week later now.....no form.We will not use a Radisson again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSS3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel! I stayed there twice in December 2012 and was so happy to come back to see the friendly faces and very nice and helpful people. The buffet breakfast was lovely and I made sure I made it there everymorning. The rooms are big and homey, the view of the park was nice, the pool very relaxing and the spa was top notch. Overall this is the best place to stay in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently had a lovely stay at the Radisson. I generally love the decor and service in these hotels, but one thing I've noticed is that certainly with the ones in South Africa, maintenance is really not up to scratch. Everything looks a little bit used and neglected. They have a very nice spa though and the breakfast is good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Oh dear. My approach is usually to review good hotels here - the ones where there are issues I seek to resolve with the hotel and if resolved well then we keep quite about in the hope that it was a blip and not a habit. This is a rare review.

We would regard our stay at the Radisson Blu as 'unpleasant'. From the moment we arrived (after a five hour drive) the service was so far below expectations from such a hotel, as well as the type of service we had experienced over two weeks in South Africa to leave our jaws pretty much on the floor.

Whilst there was a problem with the booking (Agoda had failed to send through updated details, out of our control) we were made to feel as if the whole problem was our fault, to the extent that we felt as if the hotel thought we were trying to con them out of a night there. This was despite having copies of the updated paperwork on e mail.

Even before we were left standing at the desk whilst the first member of staff nonchalantly began dealing with it for some 10 minutes, we had not even greeted with a smile or general pleasantries. There is something seriously wrong with staff training here. We may have booked via a discounter but we were still paying US$275 for this privilege. And even if we had US$25, there is no excuse for such behavior. A second, equally disengaged member of staff got involved and eventually we were given a key to our room leaving US to apologize to THEM for the inconvenience. Far too British for sure...

Once in the room, they are pleasant enough (albeit this one opposite the lifts which is never ideal). Large with room to unpack and a good sized bathroom. However, on opening the wardrobe there were no bathrobes. Completely empty. What do we need to do to get the basics.

The bathroom again is a decent size with separate bath and shower but the shower, whilst having oodles of hot water and power has an outlet drain that just cannot cope and the water slowly trickles away. Your only option is to open the door and flood the floor. We had the bathmat and two towels on the floor to mop up the mess.

Having taken a free shuttle to Nelson Mandela Square for a bite to eat we passed a second Radisson Blu. "Ah, maybe Agoda confused them" (they are on the same road it appears and Google maps gets confused) so on returning we went to the desk to suggest this. We were completely fobbed off with an "Oh no, that won't have happened". There we are, politely trying to help out and do them a favour and the (same) staff treated us with complete disdain. Unpleasant. Terrible.

Whilst the hotel looks modern and trendy it is perhaps a bad refurb job. For several hours we could here a party (of some kind, the hotel hosts BA staff but it may have been someone else) through what are very thin hollow walls. They are so thin that you could hear a cell phone ringing (somewhere) in a different room. It is that bad. Never mind the bathroom door coming off in my wife's hand.

On checking out, we asked to speak to the manager on duty and he duly appeared. The first time we had a smile from a staff member there. We politely explained everything that had been wrong (including giving him the door handle) and how unpleasant we had found the experience. He politely listen and made what appeared to be a genuine apology. Taking our e mail details again and telephone number (they are on the system but it didn't matter) he promised to be in touch. He even wanted the pictures we had taken.

That was over a week ago. We have still not heard a thing. Obviously, the promise to resolve the situation, take it up with the team and feed back was a hollow one, one that fits with the whole attitude of the hotel and it's staff.

This was the last night of our honeymoon. We left feeling pretty sad that our final experience of South Africa had been so very negative.

My wife has vowed never to stay in a Radisson (or Club Carlson) property again. Today, I changed a reservation for a business trip to a Marriott from the Radisson Seoul Plaza. Whilst I am not convinced this will worry the staff they should be aware that the actions and approach from the Radisson Sandton has impacted their brand and already had a further impact on revenue. Whilst we would never dream of returning to this hotel again, it is unlikely that we would ever stay at an Radisson or affiliated property ever again.

With the Hilton (and Marriott) just down the road, options are plenty in this area. I would encourage people to avod such an experience as we had and try other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldtravellersPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#7 of 47 in Sandton
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street | Johannesburg, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $118 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing