We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel was clean, area seemed safe and staff were friendly and helpful. Good gym and aircon. Close to Gautrain for travel to Pretoria. Free wifi worked well. Room service was quick and adequate. Breakfast had a good range of food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minkey-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    381
    131
    46
    36
See reviews for
75
187
58
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We called for a complimentary shuttle before we left the aiport but had to wait again when we got to the gautrain station. But when we got to the hotel the staff made us feel welcome. I was dissapointed that we had to wait 15minutes for our room, as my child was hungry and tired. Our room had a beatiful view facing the south, oh and the one-touch lady was very sweet when we ordered breakfast and lunch (room service) through out the stay, she suggested different things all the time since we did not have a menu in the room, and when we wanted soaps etc and they where delaying she called to assure us they will deliver and she checked if we got them. A very kind lady indeed, and ofcause the overall kind staff. We will surely stay at the Sandton Raddidon again on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harjones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spent four nights here. A great stay. Service: Superb, Room: Superb. Only a couple of things: A little mould in the bathroom and the sliding door to the Bathroom was constantly jamming.
I loved the remembrance of our first names by the staff namely the receptionist and the concierge , wonderful. Great to have also the complimentary shuttle service to the Sandton Shopping Centre and the Nelson Mandela Square.
Finally the breakfast room: What a View.
Over all, for me; a wonderful stay. Thanks to you all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Difficult to review this hotel - stayed here on a business trip in 2012, and whilst the hotel was undoubtedly very chic/trendy with pretty decent service, I found the concept of having the bar in the lobby area a little soulless - not the kind of place where you can sit on your own nursing a drink and meeting some people, as it seems to empty out pretty early. As a regular solo business traveller, this is something important to me, but this is obviously a personal thing, and not necessarily a reflection on the hotel offering in terms of value for money. Depends on what you're looking for - very decent business hotel on the balance of things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Decent hotel, rooms were comfortable and fairly big. The restaurant was nice as well, being vegetarians we could get a nice veg curry. The hotel has a shuttle to the sandton mall which is very useful. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Natarajan_Sankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night while in transit. The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the Gautrain, which takes you to the airport in 15 minutes. There is another Radisson Blu that is right across the street from the Gautrain station, which we would have preferred to stay at, purely for location's sake. The Radisson Blu Sandton's location is not bad, and they do offer a free shuttle.

Our room was very typical for a Radisson Blu, nice, light, very comfortable king bed and a beautiful bathroom. However, the shower had some issues. The soap dish was broken off (and missing), and the shower door wouldn't close. There was no separation or lip to keep the water in, so the bathroom floor flooded every time we showered.

At check in, the front desk person showed us where the breakfast room was and what time it was served. He did not mention that there was an extra charge for it. Perhaps we should not have assumed, but for $170/nt, we expected it to be included in the price of the room. It wasn't included. The food was AWFUL. The hot food tasted funky, the sausages were dry and rubbery, the smoothies tasted strange, and the cold foods were just basic. The omelette chef was nowhere to be found when we were there. For over $20/pp, this was GROSSLY overpriced, especially since we hardly ate anything. This was the biggest regret of our stay. Stick to a light room service meal if your b/f is not included. We also ate dinner there the night before, but my main course was chewy and hard to swallow. I left half of it on the plate.

All in all, the Radisson Blu Sandton is a nice, pretty hotel with friendly service, and we love the Radisson Blu chain in general. But we have stayed in much better valued places, with much better food. We would try the Gautrain hotel next time, just for the proximity to the train station.

Room Tip: We always get a high room away from the elevator. They are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The pics make this hotel look very chic but it's a little deceived. The main issue is that all 3 rooms we had were full of maintenance and design issues. The shower doors don't close properly. The shower sprays water at the door so out into the room. In fact the shower is only useful when handheld. One room leaked water under the glass shower wall and flooded the toilet area. The front doors in 2 rooms wouldn't close properly. You get the idea.

Positives were an excellent breakfast buffet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Rezidor, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing