We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blu - consistent or not?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Radisson Blu - consistent or not?”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I like to stay in the Radission chain as I feel they are modern and fresh looking. I have stayed in several locations from Iceland to Africa and they do vary and I would imagine it's more down to culture and management style. I have stayed here several times now as I work in jo'burg on a regular basis and I find it's a great location for me and has a great gym ( it's fantatic over three floors). The let down has been the food repetitive menu (if you are visiting only once should be fine) however, I have stayed at the sister hotel only a walk away at the guatrian, and the food is fantastic. So sometimes I eat there and in Mandela square. The staff are great here they look after you 100% but sometimes I see the management at breakfast lacking a little direction. Slow coffee and tea service, I tend to help myself now. But I do return here so I accept the points I've identified and would still recommend I am seeing a gradual improvement in the points mentioned as I do share any feedback I have with the customer service team. Last time I was here Hilary Clinton stayed, we had dinner together (well I was in the same restaurant at least!) so it can't be that bad!

Room Tip: Try and get the business room as you get some nice extras and a great coffee machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    455
    159
    62
    41
See reviews for
93
235
63
638
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a very comfortable stay. Rooms were nicely decorated; the gym is absolutely fantastic; breakfast was good. The location isn't really central in Sandton, ie. not walking distance to Nelson Mandela square but it is a good hub for getting around the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Work trip to south Africa had me staying in sandton. We te to use this hotel a pool area as we are staying at a sister hotel. The staff here are a real pleasure an nothing is too much trouble. The sunbeds are very comfy and there are plenty of towels. There are also a few round beds for couples. Free fruit water is available in two jugs in the entrance way. The pool and pool area are spotlessly clean. Thanks to the hotel team for their efforts

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wau Wau, Bahr al Ghazal, South Sudan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I enjoyed living in the penthouse on the 23rd floor, the whole view of Sandton was mine, grabbing from the Giad Airballon to the affluent residential spots of this gorgous city down to the CNBC studios. Sandton, like no other remains Sandton in style. The Mall, NM square, mention them

Room Tip: Penthouses are ur pefect choice as u don't have to come downstairs for services
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary Bourne
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Everything was as you would wish, great rooms, staff, restaurant and in particular a fabulous Gym. Got to be one of the most comfortable beds, and lucky enough to get a lie in, followed by a super breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Was a guest for an extended stay. Realizing that everywhere you'll stay your hosts will try to be friendly and welcoming, but these folks really did it well. Coming back late in the evening after a long day, it is nice to receive a genuine smile and personalized hello. This was consistent with everyone I met there. Free access to the best gym in the city (there is also a fancy looking spa, but I didn't partake), the most consistent wi-fi signal I've found in any J-Burg hotel, and a shuttle that really runs to a consistent schedule were also welcome benefits. Walking distance to Nelson Manela Square and it's many restaurants/shopping, or to the business district. The breakfast buffet is fantastic and has an incredible amount of selection. The dinner menu is also very good, if a tiny bit limited (try the Springbok + Pap, but they have several other South Africa dishes to choose from as well). As other folks mentioned, be careful that there are two Radisson Blu hotels within shouting distance of each other. The room was very clean and comfortable and there was plenty of desk space for two laptops and paperwork. I'll definately book here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the low xx20's have a good view, but in the high teens are even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugger003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is a great option in the Sandton business district. Centrally located within walking distance of nearby offices, Sandton City mall and lots of dining options, and across the street from the Gautrain station (which you can take to/from the airport).

The common areas are modern and bright with lots of natural light. There are a lot of comfortable sofas in nooks in the third floor reception area - nice for doing work outside of your room or hanging out with a drink. A fast wi-fi connection is available everywhere in the hotel free of charge.

Rooms are on the small side but well equipped with a nice (although small) LCD tv, mini-bar, desk area, and armchair. Beware that many rooms offer two twin beds (twin, not double) so specifically request a queen/king if this is important to you. Bathroom is nice, with both tub and shower area - with one of those Rain showerheads (not my favorite) and limitless hot water.

The buffet breakfast is worth the price (actually, I'm not sure what the price was - but I would have paid almost any amount!) There is a broad selection of breads, pastries, cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit - as well as hot items and eggs prepared any way you like them. All very good quality!

I have recommended this hotel to all my colleagues who come to Jo'burg, and will definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPortuguesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing