We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms- pity about service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
218 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great rooms- pity about service”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Excellent rooms . Spacious with all amenities. Problem though was the unfriendly service across the board. The tagg were really not paying attention and acted if they doing you a Favour. Was shocked to say the least. The "one touch" service button in room is a waste of time. Nobody answers. Took 45mins for a sandwich to be delivered. The check in receptionist was irritated that she had to do some work to get me checked in. Location is great. Ruined by the staff!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    441
    152
    58
    40
See reviews for
88
228
59
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Last 2 night stop of our holiday before we came back to UK. On arrival found it strange that reception was on the 13th floor but soon got used to it. Liked the security arrangements with having to use the room key in the lifts to the bedrooms. We found the rooms to be very well appointed and with the pillow arrangement we all got a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were to die for, but not from starvation, and with the egg station you could pretty well have eggs any way you wanted. We made good use of the complementary travel back and forward to Nelson Mandella Square. We also made good use of the pool area on the 8th floor. I believe, as my son was there at the same time on business, its good for both business and holiday. As for location i think it a case of cab to most places although as we visited friends we were collected most of the times. Found the staff to be very helpful and having spent an afternoon wandering around the shops the only purchase we made was in the shop in the foyer.

Room Tip: We had standard rooms and founds these to be more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Loved the sport facilities but even better to go running outside. Pool was small but cute. Great staff.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the second time I stay at the Radisson Blue Sandton. The hotel is a very good choice in Sandton.
I just had breakfast and it was really. There where plenty of choices for fresh fruit and also the hot and cold buffet where very well equipped. The fresh made omelet was very yummy too.
Currently sitting by the pool and enjoying the view, the light breeze and the sun. The pool is rather small, but good enough to cool down. If you want bigger pool there is one indoors at the spa, which is outstanding. The gym is very well equipped as well.
Rooms are quite big and clean. Internet access is complementary and the overall service at the hotel is very good. Check in was efficient and quick.

Overall this place is very convenient, clean and has a good atmosphere. If you're planning to relax, the spa or the outdoor pool are the places to go.
The price is a bit at the high side, but this seems common for Sandton hotels this week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrueschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, following a disappointing overnigh in December 2011. The two visits were like night and day, the experiences couldn't have been more different! We were helped quickly, and the lady at reception was friendly.
We received complimentary brownies and a box of nougat, which was very sweet.
Breakfast was delicious, and there was a wide variety to choose from. We enjoyed everything we ate.

The only negative was the parking (again). We had two cars, and had both parking tickets validated by the hotel. The first car was able to leave the parking, but the second ticket would not work. The parking guard was NOT helpful and insisted that we go back to the hotel to have the card validated again. I'm not sure if there is a problem with the hotel's validating machine or what, because this happened twice on this stay, and at least twice on our previous stay as well.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I went to this for business purpose. Despite the fact that i made an error on my booking (wrong month!) they managed to find me a room with smiles, even though the hotel was full.
The rooms are great, internet complementary, service is great, breakfast is astonishing as his the view from the restaurant.
The hotel is coupled with one the best gym clubs in south Africa, and entrance is free for hotel guests. All kind of activities and machines surounds a superb indoor swimming pool with forced stream to exercise even better.
Last but not least, I was allowed to stay in my room up to 6pm the last day for NO extra charge. In other hotels I would already have been charged for late check out, internet and gym club.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivacapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Decent hotel in a good location. Smart modern furnishings and ultra comfy beds. The only issue that I had is that the room had a connecting door, which knocks a point off. No matter how quiet your neighbours are you always get a bit of noise pollution. Why do hotels insist on having these? You never here anyone saying, "I was really disappointed that there was no connecting door", particularly in a largely business hotel: maybe I'm missing out on something!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing