We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive service, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attentive service, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is a corporate type of hotel, far enough out of Joburg to be in a safe neighborhood, convenient to the train station that can not only take you downtown but to and from the airport as well. All the modern conveniences and security you would expect in an upscale design, elevators that are floor specific based on swiping your room key, a nice gym, reasonable internet accessibility and modern and comfortable rooms. I agree the food was merely average...in our case the food service staff was fine, the service polite and perfectly acceptable, the breakfast buffet was fine as well. When I came to asking the front desk to make a special arrangement for me (shipping a piece of luggage from the hotel to the Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel in Cape Town), they were more than accommodating and when I arrived in Cape Town 10 days later, my luggage was waiting for me as promised. This hotel suited our needs well and I would recommend it to anyone for a "corporate" type experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyg07039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    434
    145
    58
    40
See reviews for
88
224
58
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Spent 2 nights in this hotel and was impressed. It is well located, 5 minutes from Mandela Square in Sandton, with regular free shuttles to and from Mandela Square.
Reception is located on the 13th floor, quite trendy and modern.
Hotel security seems to be also a state of the art, operated with automatic lifts using your room key, so don't even think about loosing your key card...
Room was spacious, very clean and with an excellent view of this part of the city as I was in the 19th floor, so it was quite refreshing to open the curtains in thr morning for a nice view, starting the day. Internet is complementary and I must say that the speed is excellent, as well as the coverage throughout the hotel. All you needed was your room number and surname and that's it, you are connected! I kept normal contact with my wife and kids through Skype with video connectivity without a problem even within the lifts.
Breakfast was good, with some variety, but definitely there is room for more in this aspect.
Staff were friendly and really helpful, as at a point in time I was not feeling well and they promptly helped with doctors on call and ready to assist.
A very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

By all rights this hotel should be a typical international business class hotel - nothing over the top, but it has all the basics to make for a pleasant if not memorable stay: newish facilities, nicely sized rooms with decent appointments, good breakfast, free shuttle and decent Internet. However, after staying at the Radisson Blu for 6 nights in November 2011, I will not be coming back. Here is why:
1) My first warning sign was at lunch (1:30pm) immediately after I checked in. Despite the restaurant being relatively empty it took 50 min from the time I ordered to receive my meal (a mediocre pizza). Because the Radission has an open kitchen concept, I was able to see that it took a full 25 minutes before the chef even got to my order.
2) Apparently when we arrived there was a water main problem in the neighborhood and the hotel had been without water. This is not the end of the world, but what annoys me is that the check-in staff did not even both to tell me, nor was there any bottled water in the room so that I could at least brush my teeth. I accept the fact that the water main break is outside the hotel's control, but some simple courtesy would've greatly lessened the annoyance.
3) For several nights there were intermittent power failures. These appeared to be outside the hotel's control, but again management did nothing. We were stuck in the restaurant for more than an hour because the elevators were off and no one seemed to even know if the electronic keys would work. The smart thing to do in that case would've been to give folks a bottle of wine or a dessert or something on the house. Instead, we had to sit in the dark and were told not to leave until the power came back on so we could settle the bill.
4) The hotel advertises a business center, but doesn't really have printing/copying facilities that work.
5) For the most part, restaurant and front desk staff seem to view their guests as an distraction.
6) This is a new hotel and I would've thought the designers would've learned the lesson that having the bar at the base of an atrium that opens to most of the rooms is a really bad idea for noise. While I had only one night where this was a problem, I suspect Friday or Saturday nights could be miserable for those on the 14th floor (like I was).
7) The front desk and the concierge repeatedly lost taxi/car reservations. Basically, we learned to reconfirm at least twice to be sure we would have a vehicle when we needed it.

All of these problems point to weak management in my view and that is why I will not be coming back on my next visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the atrium. There is a bar in the lobby of the atrium that can get loud at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Like most high rise hotels in Johannesburg, it is very corporate, not a first choice for leisure travelers but comfortable non the less. Great 3 storey gym with all possible equipment you can think of. Staff are helpful, lifts are operated on advanced technology system, so don't dare forget your key in your room, you won't be able to leave your floor! Easily accesible from the Gautrain station, hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to and from Mandela Square, which passes the train station. This is a very affordable, quick, comfortable and safe way of getting to Sandton. Decent breakfast variety and overall a very nice hotel...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

My stay in Raddison Blu Sandton in Sep 2011 was marked by a completely different experience - obviously very pleasant and worthy of rememberance. The multi level environment and elevator privacy / security impressed me a lot. the Bar and Restaurant were trendy and very contemporary. The front Office staff were very helpful while I checked in without the actual reservation number etc. The room was very comfortable and had a great view of the roads and nighbourhood. I will definitely be in favour of staying there again in my next visit to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: nothing specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I would agree with most other reviews on this hotel which is comfortable and perfectly fine on most fronts. It is fairly unmemorable I have to say but does the job. Plus points: nice outdoor pool on 12th floor and spacious rooms. Staff generally friendly and helpful.

Minus: being so high, the pool area does suffer from any wind which is blowing -the screens are not high enough to stop the draught. The table service in the pool area was terrible - we waited an hour for some drinks and lunch (very small portions when it did arrive). The chemical smell mentioned by others was truly awful and made all of us feel queasy and made some people's eyes run. They have to do something about that.

Room Tip: avoid those above the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlossyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I've stayed here twice and it is a pretty good business hotel, but lacks anything special.
The rooms are large, properly finished and well equipped.
The staff are civil but not at the standard of hospitality. that I see in such hotels elsewhere. No matter how few people need assitance at check-in there is always a queue.
The only restuarant is Italian - which some may find tiresome if they are eating in the hotel a lot.
Colleagues with rooms directly over the gym complain about the noise (Music) booming into their rooms from 6.00am - The gym is over 3 floors and there is a kind of running track around the outside half way up the building, these facilities are the pride of the hotel.
The ground floor lobby (before taking the elevator to reception on the 13th) always smells strange.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the floor above the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank between_u_and_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing