We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I want to share my experience : during my stay (july 2011), my wallet was stolen in my room.
After investigation, the hotel told me they believed one their staff member participated to the robbery.
After several discussion, they refused to accept any responsibility arguing there is a locker in the room (try to put 2 lap top, cell phones, camera, ... in a small lap top !!).
So, if you go to this hotel, don't act like in a 5 star hotel : lock every belongings in your locker and don't expect any comprehensive behavior from hotel management !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    432
    145
    58
    40
See reviews for
88
224
58
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Correct business hotel, without any faults.
Near to Sandtorn offices and Shopping Malls (there is even a shuttle service to the Mall)
Fitness Center Facilities are above the ordinary!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vankoents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here with friends, while we were in town for an event. I loved the hotel and the rooms. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite, where they had a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and the best view in Sandton! The gym must be the best thing about this hotel. I would stay here in future just to use the gym: they have yoga classes, a Pilates room, a big swimming pool and all the equipment you need. Before dinner we had a drink in the bar, which was very nice and cosy. They provided a shuttle to Sandton Square where we had dinner. The only thing I didn't like was breakfast the next morning. Service was slow and the hot items on the buffet oily and not replenished regularly. It was very difficult to get tea and coffee, even though the restaurant was not that busy. But overall it was a good experience in a lovely modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I agree with many other reviewers that the 3-floor gym which is located in the same building as the Radisson Blu makes it more than worthwhile to stay in the hotel - access to the gym is complementary, and the gym includes a large indoor pool and running track. I've never seen anything like this before. Back to the hotel: Even without the gym, it would be my preferred place to stay in Sandton. The rooms are good-sized and the king-size beds are very comfortable. The bathroom met all my expectations except for the broken rubber seal of the shower door which regularly caused minor flooding. The hotel has a very nice, impeccably clean outdoor pool deck with comfortable chairs and sunbeds. The (Italian) restaurant has an attractive menu but service was spectacularly slow, as if deliberately running on slow motion. The breakfast buffet is very well stocked and has a great variety of hot and cold food. Again, when it came to ordering coffee/tea, I was always at least half way through breakfast until one of the attendants cared to show up. Those service disappointments aside (which I think should be addressed by the management), I'd still highly recommend the Radisson Blu Sandton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip_Fan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

After an horrific stay at the former flat hotel in Sandton, The Michelangelo Hotel it was an sheer pleasure tostay at this hotel modern roomy and friendly. The gym is the best I have ever used and the late checkout 5pm for a flight out to London makes it a huge player for the best business hotel there, 14.00 being the usual norm.

Anyway looking forward to staying there again when next in SA

PLEASE use it

You will be happy you did

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWHITE1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I often stay at the Hilton a few buildings up Rivonia but as it seems to be more and more dated and more pricey i tried this place. I was amazed. Its a very new hotel so has the latest trendy look with high ceilings and lovely lighting. The rooms are modern, clean and have a large LCD TV in. The air con is a bit weak, but otherwise its ok. The restaurant produces some of the best food I have tasted in an hotel in SA and is very reasonably priced. the gym attached to the hotel is astonishing. I haven't been to a gym and fitness centre spread over three floors and plenty of equipment

The location is just a short walk from the Gautrain and ideal for santon Square. I really couldnt fault the hotel, apart from be careful when the ladies of the night chat you up at the bar each evening!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I travel to Johannesburg about 10 times a year on business and have stayed in all of the Sandton hotels which are all quite good. What's lacking in service is generally made up for by a pleasant and helpful attitude.

This hotel in particular has a few issues - very poor internet speed and reliability, no business centre, some build quality issues (particularly in the bathroom resulting in minor flooding) and a general lack of attention to detail (mini-bar and toiletries not replenished every day for example).

On the plus side the staff are super-friendly and always try to help. The restaurant is not bad and the selection of wines by the glass is excellent. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The location is fabulous and there is an AVIS chauffeur drive office in the building which is very convenient. It is a 3 minute walk to the Sandton Gautrain station which is real win for traveling to the main airport.

As a very frequent traveller I always factor in the gym facilities and this is one of the best I have seen anywhere. Three stories with a great selection of machines, free weights, pool, indoor running track, sauna and steam bath. It is also super clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing