We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I often stay at the Hilton a few buildings up Rivonia but as it seems to be more and more dated and more pricey i tried this place. I was amazed. Its a very new hotel so has the latest trendy look with high ceilings and lovely lighting. The rooms are modern, clean and have a large LCD TV in. The air con is a bit weak, but otherwise its ok. The restaurant produces some of the best food I have tasted in an hotel in SA and is very reasonably priced. the gym attached to the hotel is astonishing. I haven't been to a gym and fitness centre spread over three floors and plenty of equipment

The location is just a short walk from the Gautrain and ideal for santon Square. I really couldnt fault the hotel, apart from be careful when the ladies of the night chat you up at the bar each evening!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    455
    159
    62
    41
See reviews for
93
235
63
638
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I travel to Johannesburg about 10 times a year on business and have stayed in all of the Sandton hotels which are all quite good. What's lacking in service is generally made up for by a pleasant and helpful attitude.

This hotel in particular has a few issues - very poor internet speed and reliability, no business centre, some build quality issues (particularly in the bathroom resulting in minor flooding) and a general lack of attention to detail (mini-bar and toiletries not replenished every day for example).

On the plus side the staff are super-friendly and always try to help. The restaurant is not bad and the selection of wines by the glass is excellent. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The location is fabulous and there is an AVIS chauffeur drive office in the building which is very convenient. It is a 3 minute walk to the Sandton Gautrain station which is real win for traveling to the main airport.

As a very frequent traveller I always factor in the gym facilities and this is one of the best I have seen anywhere. Three stories with a great selection of machines, free weights, pool, indoor running track, sauna and steam bath. It is also super clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Service was excellent, the room was very modern with a super comfortable bed! The hotel is well situated with a good shuttle service that runs until 10:30pm. We loved the breakfast and cocktails in the bar/lounge at night.

Room Tip: The higher floors have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Annabelle109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I've stayed at the Radisson over 50 nights in the last 6 months. The location is really good as it is in Sandton and close to Nelson Mandela Square. The facilities are wonderful: big rooms, amazing gym, outdoor pool with awesome view, etc.
The restaurant is not so great and the high speed internet is not really high speed.

They have significant problems with their services though. Here is a list of incidents I compiled over a period of ~4 months of staying there:
- Cockroaches in the laundry
- Part of waffle iron brush found in my waffle (2 times)
- Parts of room service order missing
-> Salad (2-3 times)
-> Water (2 times)
-> French fries
-> Spoon for soup
- Room service was more than 30' late 4-5 times
- Laundry came back with someone else's socks in
- Storage asked me to find my things in storage by myself 3 times

So, overall I would rank it as average but still recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Sandton offer several hotels that provide the service you would expect at these prices. Most have "fitness rooms" worthy of a Holiday Inn in Dayton, Ohio. This Radisson has a three story gym with a great pool, dozens of weigh machines, free weights, a range of cardiovascular machines, yoga room, etc. There is also a nice outdoor pool and deck. Be sure to book the Radisson Blu on Daisy Street, as there is a second Radisson a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_frequent_flie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

this hotel saved our holiday. having had a mare in sun city in a terrible hotel we emergency booked this hotel for our last two nights. what a choice. great views, great service and great facilities. this hotel is one of the best ive stayed in.

Room Tip: two minutes to sandton shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I booked in here for 2 weeks for work. Overall a very good hotel with the highlight being the 3 storey gymnasium.
Rooms were comfortable with a decent choice of channels, including 7 sports channels! Decent bathrooms as well although you had to wait a while for the hot water in the shower!
Room service was generally good although the odd occasion it turned up cold. The choice was pretty varied with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts (fruit platter was excellent).
Free shuttle to Sandton City shopping centre (worth a visit if you have time) and the gautrain.
The reason I chose the hotel was the 3 floors of gyms! This included an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a 220m indoor running track, countless cardio machines, machine and free weights and sauna/steam room/jacuzzi. By a country mile, the best gym Im ever seen!
I also used the conference faciliites which were of a pretty good standard.
Staff were very friendly and always offering advice and help.

Overall a very good stay and I would definately stay there again when Im back next month!

Room Tip: Make the most of the gym!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbignal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sandton
#6 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing