We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

With very few exceptions, I think of the Holiday Inn brand as a bargain hotel chain, with few frills. For that reason, I was very pleasantly surprised to find in the Holiday Inn Sandton an upscale hotel with an exceptional, courteous staff. I was particularly impressed with front desk representative, Wendy, who handled a tricky billing issue with professionalism, empathy, and grace under pressure; the hotel is to be commended for assigning people of her caliber as the "face to the customer". A patron's most aggravating problem can be smoothed over with an empathetic, thoughtful ear as the hotel found in Wendy-- kudos. Specific observations about the hotel: lovely, modern lobby; outstanding breakfast buffet, picturesque sky bar, good and safe location, nice room. Only areas for improvement-- repeated issues with my room key not working, the walls are quite thin and the no smoking requirement was clearly not observed in one of the rooms adjacent to mine. While the thin walls can perhaps be addressed with a good pair of earplugs, the hotel needs to adopt a policy of how to handle smokers who break the rules. I did notify the hotel that I clearly smelled cigarette smoke and the response was inadequate. Nonetheless, it was a nice stay and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spantheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Guest,

Greetings from all of us at the Holiday Inn Sandton! We are thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us while being in Sandton, Johannesburg.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, our breakfast offering and Skye Bar, but more importantly, that our team has lived up to the promise by providing you with genuine and true hospitality. Your commendations of Wendy in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated her for doing such an outstanding job!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours sincerely,

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    263
    146
    46
    35
See reviews for
41
87
59
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I have never been more pleased to be oh so wrong! I had very little expectations of this town and hotel. How wrong was I???? The hotel was a lovely business hotel. The staff were so willing to help and answer any questions etc. The bar area (Chairmans Bar) was very pleasant and the restaurant better than I expected (although only had breakfast - which was a feast in itself!) I'm trying to decide why I really loved this hotel, apart from the amazing bed, I think it was simply the staff that made my staff so good. The roof top pool is also a nice touch! There's a good restaurant just outside called the Europa. (I've previously reviewed Ruths Chris steak house in NYC - Trust me, the fillet steak in the Europa is just as good at a FRACTION of the price!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Usual Suspect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Sandton, I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind words.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were "pleasantly suprised" by the level of service offered. I can assure you I will pass on your commendations to all of our team members.

Our beautiful pool deck, our comfortable rooms, our Charmain Bar, the Lettuce and Lime Restaurant but more importantly - our team - will be looking forward hosting you during your next stay in Johannesburg!

Yours sincerely,


Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This hotel met expectations. Decent, clean room. I ate the hotel breakfast twice and it was full of fresh fruits and a variety of other healthy choices. Chefs make eggs promptly to order, etc. There is a shopping mall next door with some other dining options.

Service in this hotel is attentive and quite friendly. My only complaint is a common one: The wireless Internet service was slow to the point of being unusable. I paid $21 US for this and felt ripped off. This has become all too common in big hotels.

I used the microscopic gym and it was the usual for this kind of hotel. Nice view.

Good security, bellmen, front desk and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback provided on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Sandton. Its great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and service offered by the Holiday In team. I will ensure your positive comments on our breakfast offering will be shared with the entire kitchen team.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused when making use of our internet services. Your feedback on the internet speed is certainly not reflective of the normal levels of connectivity provided. I would therefore like to confirm that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate internet service provider and corrective action has been taken to ensure that this is not a repeating occurrence.

I would like to kindly ask you to contact me at the hotel, in order for me to follow up with you and address your concerns accordingly.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us, and for bringing this matter to our attention.

Your sincerely,

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This HI is quite comfortable, I enjoyed the Location the most, the lobby and the hotel is stunting. Although I am never impressed with the InterContinental Hotel Group product consistency outside of the USA, these guys almost got it right in this property. I loved the bathroom with the shower. I was kind of uncomfortable on the toilet, but thats a design problem. I dont like the fact that the best and TV's are as small as the HIE Holiday Inn Express, which is ridiculous because you pay a much higher rate so expect more in the room. the staff were really friendly and helpful, although the I was in the lobby having a meeting the electricity went off and one like five times, we were still served our drinks with a smile and ensured by Camille that everything was going to be fixed soon. I am glad they have staff like that, which can keep business people calm in a problematic situation like that

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Sandton!

Your feedback on your stay with us is truly appreciated and I can assure you I will share your kind feedback with all of my team members at the hotel.

I regret to hear you've experienced some temporary power failures while meeting in our lobby area, but I am delighted that our team has given you sufficient reassurance during the occurance, served you with a smill and looked after you to limit the amount of discomfort.

We look forward welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We were happy with this hotel and would recommend it. The room was large, modern and comfortable. Check-in was quick and efficient. The hotel was next to a small shopping centre with cafes, restaurants and a supermarket and a short walk to Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton Square shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Sandton, just a quick thank you for your kind feedback words.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward welcoming you back at our beautiful hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a week on business, on the 8th floor and the view from my window was spectacular..........the room was sized right, enough room to feel just right. The bathroom also looked nice and newly revamped....though a little downside was it tended to run out of Hot water quite quickly. I had in-room dining all the while and the food was great but not a very wide variety to choose from. All in all, I feel I got value for my money when compared to my previous experiences in SA.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Sir,

Your positive feedback on your stay with us is very much appreciated. I can assure you I will pass on your kind words to the entire team.

I can assure you we will investigate the issue around the lack of sufficient hot water during your stay as this is not the standard we are aiming to provide to each and every guest. Our water systems should be capable of providing a flawless and satisfying experience each day, all year round. Your comments on this matter are very much appreciated.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel offers the best Holiday Inn experience in the area. New, modern and tasteful rooms are fresh and inviting - with well appointed private bathrooms. The lobby is lovely and staff as accommodating as can be - especially when a burst water pipe caused all sorts of problems! The hotel is just under 10 minutes walk (pretty safe and pleasant at that) from the huge Sandton City shopping precinct so it is not necessary to take the overpriced local taxis when shopping. It's also adjacent to the dying and depressing Village Walk retail development but a few pleasant restaurants punctuate the vacancy signs in this center so eating out is pretty good. Compared to the Garden Court around the corner, this is a delight. And, you get Priority Points here - which you don't get at the Garden Courts in SA! My only grip was no under-sheet on the bed - meaning I had to sleep directly under the duvet which I generally dislike - but then, I am fussy! I would not hesitate to recommend this property. It's built on grand scale (for a Holiday Inn) with wide hotel passage-ways leaving a sense of luxury not often found at these good hotel rates. It will be my Holiday Inn of choice in Sandton from now on!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Its great to hear you had such a positive experience at our hotel and you sincerely enjoyed the new look and feel of the Holiday Inn Sandton.

The feedback we receive from our guests on a day to day basis drives us to consistently improve the guest experience at our hotel. It also assists us in motivating our teams and uplift our product and service offering according to the needs and desires of our guests. Your loyalty to our hotel and the loyalty to Priority Club is very much appreciated.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Nils Rothbarth - General Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing