We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed there last week and I loved the experience especially the mini gym. Great rooms, the breakfast was ideal and the service friendly. I stayed there for 4 days. It is located closed to the Sandton City Mall and so walking there ad back to the hotel is very convinient. Would definitely love to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ''Tindi R'',

I am delighted to receive your review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton. It is always wonderful to know that we can create a home away from home for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    250
    140
    45
    33
See reviews for
38
84
57
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for almost 3 weeks and service is perfect. We arrived early and our room wasnt ready yet since they said were fully booked so we had to wait a while. But all staff is very courteous and happy. Breakfast is quite complete. Wi fi throughout the entire hotel something might turn it a little bit slow during day since they have to many conferences and turn to be quite crowded during week. Pool was under maintenance so couldn't enjoy it but they do have a small gym on the same floor that was ok. Parking is avail but I find it awkward that you have to pay for it during your stay and is not complimentary for guests. Also since everything in SA starts going on early I think they should change their room service for earlier during day since always found room not ready by mid day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear "Carlita08",

Excellent review! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton! We much appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and to the Holiday Inn brand.

Thank you for pointing out some areas of improvement such as the timing of housekeeping services as well as wifi connectivity during busy conference hours. We will discuss your comments in detail with the relevant team members and take action accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Warm regards,


Burnedette Jordaan - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
582 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I arrived at this hotel at 7am expecting not be able to check in until much later but was met and well greeted and was happily surprised to be allowed to check into my room early as they had availability; all the staff were happy, positive and courteous; good quality breakfast and the wifi worked well; i had a business lunch meeting with a client and was well looked after with prompt attention give to us by the staff; this is my second stay at this hotel and I would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear "roryjdoyle",

Thank you for the kind recommendations of our hotel and the service received by my fellow team members.

It makes me very proud to read that we have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon.

Wishing you a wonderful day.

Kind Regards,

Burnedette Jordaan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very confortable room and bathroom. Bed and pillows were great!
Breakfast was great also, a lot of fruits!
Employees were all very kind. Service was 100%.
Well located, and the hotel has a transfer service to the Mandela Square that made us feel safe and confortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuEsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear "ManuEsm",

Thank you for choosing to stay at our beloved Holiday Inn Sandton. We appreciate your kind recommendations of the service received from our team members. Glad to hear you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is a reasonable hotel in Sandton, walk-able from the Gautrain Station. The rooms are clean and well done.
The limitation of the hotel is it's restaurant, the breakfast spread is pretty limited specially if one is a vegetarian and the same is true for the lunch/dinner menu options.
The other thing I found a bit strange is that the hotel does not have plug converters, if someone is travelling from outside of South Africa and staying in this hotel, it is advisable to carry own converter else one may not be able to charge a laptop.
Over all not a bad bet, but for a few hundred Rands extra one can stay in Radisson just across the road.

Room Tip: During booking mention bed preference i.e. double bed/Twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitinjohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear "Nitinjohar",

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive criticism on the vegetarian food options during breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I will discuss this with your executive chef to see how we can improve on this point, so we can accommodate vegetarian food preferences in a more effective manner.

With regards to the issue on power plug converters, we actually do have these available at the hotel but occasionally run out of stock in case of high demand amongst our guest. Our sincere apologies for not being able to accommodate your request.

We do hope you will consider staying with us when next in Johannesburg. We would love to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton once more.

Yours sincerely,

Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed two nights at Holiday Inn Sandton. I chose Holiday Inn because I was participating in a conference at the hotel.

Holiday Inn Sandton is conveniently located in walking distance from Sandton Station which connects with Tambo Airport by Gautrain (15 minutes only). It is also very close (5-10 minutes walk) to Sandton City - a huge shopping mall with a big selection of high street brands.

My room was tastefully decorated, had a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. Unfortunately, this is where my positive feedback ends. When I arrived, the safe was out of order. After calling the reception a couple of times and waiting for a maintenance person, the suggested solution was to change room. I asked to have the safe fixed (apparently they only needed to change the batteries) the following day as I was heading out and was tired of waiting. The next morning - at 7 am - the same maintenance person insistingly knocked on my door (and woke me up) to change the batteries... In the evening I wanted to watch TV but the TV didn't work. Again, after calling the reception several times, a new person form maintenance showed up - and sugged to change room.

Another - more serious issue - was that I had a package (6 bottles of wine) delivered to the hotel. I had asked if this was ok when I made the booking and I reminded the reception on the day the package was expected. After inquiring 3 times, still no package. I called the delivery company who told me they had delivered it and that the reception had signed for the package. However, the package was not registered in the reception and nobody would take responsibility to look for it. Finally, a reception manager found it in a room behind the reception - and not together with all the registered packages with the concierge. Now this to me is suspicious and I am not sure that the package had reached me if I had not kept on insisting...

I had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant - a cesar salad which was ok but nothing special. The lunch buffet was average. The conference facilities were nice - and the conference coffee and bites delicious.

When I returned home I wrote a complaint to the hotel management. I promptly received a message that ensured me that my feedback was "highly valued and would be used constructively to consistently improve our product and service standards." To me, this just sounds like a standard reply with no real intention to act...

All in all, Holiday Inn Sandton offers good location but the service level needs improvement!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear "Dane-in-Tanzania",

Thank you for writing a review here on TripAdvisor, we appreciate the detailed feedback.

As mentioned in my earlier communication to you, I want to reassure you that we take your comments very seriously and have already discussed your experiences with us in detail with all relevant departments and managers.

The issues experienced with your safe and TV are not of the standard you can expect from us and these matters should have been resolved more effectively. My apologies for letting you down.

Our front desk team has also been approached to ensure we always stick to the procedures in place when receiving packages for in house guests. Our apologies for the initial confusion when picking up your delivery, as it turned out the package had not properly been signed in yet and was still standing at the Front Office Manager's desk behind our service desk.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our levels of hospitality and pay us another visit in future, upon your return to Johannesburg.

Yours sincerely,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the Sandton City mall & Mandela Square which is about 5 mins drive away. They also offer a free shuttle to the malls. We stayed there 3 times via our trips to & fro Cape Town and Pretoria due to convenient location. Hotel staffs are very friendly & helpful. It's also conveniently located less than 5 mins distance to the Gautrain station which heads towards the Tambo airport in 30 mins. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear "meisia",

Thank you for sharing your kind recommendations with your fellow TripAdvisor users. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the team and that you were happy with the location of the hotel, which is indeed very central and easily accessible by Gautrain, by car or by foot within the Sandton area.

Greetings from all of us at the INN and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing