We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Ramat HaSharon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel is quite new. Decent rooms with all amenities. Good working desk.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Great breakfast.
Location is very good, about 10 min walk to Nelson Mandela square and Sandton City Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room with a big shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear "Ohad I",

Greetings from the team at the INN! Thank you for the kind recommendations of our hotel and the service received by my fellow team members.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel - which is indeed very central and close to all main destinations in the Sandton area!

Do make sure you return to South Africa soon as we would love to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Sandton!

Warm regards,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    256
    144
    46
    33
See reviews for
38
86
59
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mozambique
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have travelled worldwide and have stayed in many of the 4 & 5 star hotels in Sandton. I haven't had better service anywhere ever than I did at the Holiday Inn. The staff are wonderful, they were helpful, friendly, and cheerful without exception. They have a shuttle bus which will take you to Sandton City Shopping (very close), which leaves every hour on the hour and will collect again. The accomodation was lovely, with a large plasma TV and free Wi-Fi. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neidra_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear "Neidra_Wright",

We are humbled by your kind words. Thank you for your generous recommendations on the service received by our team members as well as the facilities at the Holiday Inn Sandton.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Garnet Basson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is an Excellent place to stay with good staff. I really enjoyed my stay. The free internet connectivity works fine. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The better rooms are the one on top, as they will give you a wonderful view of Sandton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Gershane_Tomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear "J_Gershane_Tomas",

Greetings from the team at the Holiday Inn Sandton! Thank you for choosing to stay at our beloved hotel and for recommending us on tripadvisor. Its truly much appreciated.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon,

Yours sincerely,


Garnet Basson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay there. I stayed for 5 nights during a business trip. This hotel caters very well to the business traveller. Very good WiFi. Room and bed spacious and comfortable. Staff are fantastic. Reception, concierge and housekeeping are perfect. Fantastic showers! Great view if you have a room on a high floor. Location is right on spot. A few minutes walk from Mandela Square and the Gautrain station. I can't wait to go back to JNB and stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton.Food in restuarants was excellent, and you got a big smile from all employes

Room Tip: rooms to the garden is the best part
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjarneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear "BjarneViking",

What an excellent review - I will most definitely share and celebrate your kind comments with everyone at the hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed our hotel's location, the facilities, the WIFI quality, the food offering but most importantly, the friendly service offered by our dedicated team.

We look forward to welcoming you once more, upon your return to South Africa!

Kind regards,


Garnet Basson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good European style Holiday Inn. Modern and new. Free internet that works. Convenient to businesses in Sandton area.

Ok breakfast buffet. Very good for what it is. Not a luxury property but very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear "familyinnh",

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the team at the Inn appreciates the great compliments and recommendations. And once more, thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton during your visit to Johannesburg.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Garnet Basson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay there. I stayed for four nights during a business trip. This hotel caters very well to the business traveller. Very good WiFi. Room and bed spacious and comfortable. Staff are fantastic. Reception, concierge and housekeeping are perfect. Fantastic showers! Great view if you have a room on a high floor. Location is just perfect. A few minutes walk from Mandela Square and the Gautrain station. I can't wait to go back to JNB and stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear "Yannis A",

We are humbled by your kind recommendations of our hotel. It really means a lot to us knowing that we have been able to turn you into an ambassador of our hotel and the Holiday Inn brand. Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with your fellow tripadvisor users.

Do make sure you come back to sunny South Africa and the Holiday Inn Sandton soon.

Kind regards,

Garnet Basson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are clean and basic. Service ok but dont expect much. Location ok near a decent mall. Was booked for me would not stay here otherwise. It isnt scary at all just dont expect luxury. Room service menu limited but food is okish.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear "ConstantTraveller4"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to read that we have not lived up to your expectations. I do apologise for this and do hope we will have another opportunity to show you our true Holiday Inn hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Burnedette Botha - Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing