We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.......but!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Sandton on either end of a Safari trip to Kruger. Bookins for both nights were made and paid for by the same travel agent back in August 3 months prior. On arrival our first night booking was fine but we were told the return booking had been cancelled, despite us having a paid confirmation for the 2nd night it took alot of time and only when travel agent from New Zealand got involved did the issue get sorted, but someone forgot to till the front desk!!! and when we arrived we had to again get mucked around until the person(who was most helpful and the only one who seemed to have any brains!!!) arrived and sorted out. Judging by other comments and similar experiances from other travelers in other reviews this Hotel seems to have a problem with communication between staff and the same isssues seem to continue to happen. Someone needs to take responsibility and sort this stuff out, put proper processes in place etc It is a great hotel, staff are freindly, rooms are excellent skye bar is excellent and resteraunt is ok all though the waiter had no idea what was on the menu!!!! This would have been the best Hotel we stayed at on our trip if not for the check in muck ups!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear peegee1,

Thank you for your frank comments and for sharing your experiences with us as well as the TripAdvisor community.

We are disappointed to hear that we have not been able to impress you upon check in when returning to our hotel. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and I can assure you that this will be discussed in detail with all parties involved at the hotel.

On the other side, we acknowledge your kind feedback on the service received as well as the hotel's facilities, which will be shared with the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon upon your next visit to South Africa.

Warm regards,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 669 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stay in this hotel quite allot when i'm in South Africa and I like it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Hotel itself is always clean and comfortable. They have recently renovated the small gym in the hotel and it is much more acceptable than in past years. The location is very good. sorry to see the mall next door is closing down. It was very convenient in many ways but Nelson Mandela square is a short walk or free shuttle bus ride away.

If i were to say something less positive about this hotel. it is the internet service, it works but it is very slow in all areas. Then again talking with friends in the area, this is normal for South Africa it seems.

Room Tip: Corner exec. rooms and very good and very big
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear B787skipper,

Thank you for your kind recommendations and for praising the service provided by the Holiday Inn team. We are glad to hear you like our newly renovated mini Gym on the top floor. The Village Walk centre is currently being renovated but once finalised it will be open to the public again. In the mean time, Sandton City is a 5 minute walk away and a shuttle service at the hotel is offered to all guests.

We are currently reviewing our internet services and are hopefully be able to launch more bandwidth soon in order to improve the internet speed for all guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently took our first trip to South Africa for an overland safari. The starting point for the tour was the Holiday Inn-Sandton. We decided to arrive a few days early to get ourselves acclimated. To keep it simple, we booked three nights at this hotel.. It was a very nice hotel and located in a very safe part of Jo'burg. The room was lovely; well appointed and a great bathroom! The staff was very helpful and attended to all our questions promptly and thoroughly. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UALiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear UALiz,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your kind review on TripAdvisor. Its great to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations by offering you a comfortable and relaxing stay while preparing for your overland safari.

I hope you have been able to spot some - if not all- of the Big Five on your exciting trip and will promote our hotel as well as our beautiful country to all of your family and friends.

Greetings from the entire team at the Holiday Inn Sandton!

Warm regards,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

When you arrive at a hotel and find that you have no room even though you had booked and paid, you know you are on to a bad start in a Hotel. That is what exactly happened to me. And it did not help that I arrived at 12 midnight and had to wait for nearly an hour to get a hotel transfer for the night. And the next day I had to wait until evening to finally get a room. The check in (out) process is painfully slow.OK the room is spacious and has good wireless if you pay for it. But there are no proper views and for a hotel of its standard, having no bathtub and a tiny shower place is almost an insult. Holiday Inn can and should do better! I respect them around the world and what I saw at Sandton is worth management's attention. Small things you may say, but for someone with only two days experience to write about, these things blind the more good things they have like the great buffet, good breakfast, fast and efficient waiters, excellent airport transfers and close proximity to major shopping malls.

Room Tip: This hotel appears to be on great demand by business people and you should reconfirm and reconfirm y...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Paulnairobi,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable thoughts with us. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us in order to improve our service at the Holiday Inn Sandton.

Our sincere apologies for the disappointing start of your guest experience involving the issues with your booking. And your comments around our bathroom facilities at the hotel are noted and will be discussed with our brand partner. The shower only facilities are however a commonly practised standard at many other Holiday inn hotels and comparable brands in similar city centre locations, although I fully understand and support your preference for a bath facility as part of the offering.

Its encouraging to hear that you have clearly enjoyed our breakfast service and buffet offering as well as the efficient airport transfer service.

Again, thank you for the great detailed feedback and supporting us to improve our overall product. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've stayed here twice, mainly because of the proximity to dining & shopping, inevitably after landing in Johannesburg for a short stay and before moving on to other locations. The hotel is quite suitable for our purposes. The breakfast is nice, even though it doesn't open very early and the service is not great. The staff seem indifferent in the breakfast restaurant, except for the lady making omelettes.

We used the gym on the top floor, which, although cramped for space, was a nice amenity. We never visited the roof top bar nor the pool.

I would advise a close inspection of the charges upon checking in AND checking out. For some reason, we had to prepay a set amount/day for incidentals, a policy I've never heard of. Just make sure that you get it back when you check out, if you don't use it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear KelekeWahine,

A short note on behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Sandton to thank you for your kind comments. We will most definitely use your valuable input for further improvement of the service experience in the breakfast restaurant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

The daily deposit taken is simply an authorisation and not a payment. We apology for the confusion and not having clarified this when at the hotel. Furthermore, do make sure you visit our lovely Skye Bar and make use of our roof top pool upon your next visit to Sandton.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had no good experience in this hotel. People in the reception were very rude, not very helpful and slow to make the check-in. My room was not ready and I paid an extra night as I was arriving very early in the morning. So, the room should be ready since the day before my arrival.
Room was good and comfortable. Breakfast is below the average.
Mandela square is 15 minutes walking from the hotel where you can find nice restaurants and shops.
Well, after I came back home, I got my credit card invoice and realized Sandton charged one extra night from my credit card. After complaining and they being rude again, I escalate the problem to the credit card company who is handling the case now.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edubimonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Edibumonte,

Thank you for feedback.

It is most concerning to hear about your poor guest experience when staying with us at the Holiday Inn Sandton. Please accept our sincere apologies for not having your room available upon arrival, which is simply inexcusable. I will investigate this matter personally as the room should have been blocked correctly the night before, ensuring availability on arrival.

With regards to your comment on the payment issue, It could very well be that the second "charge" is simply a " authorisation and not a payment. I will check the account from our side and get back to you soonest.

I sincerely hope that your disappointing stay does not deter you from staying with us in future as we would love to have the opportunity to regain your trust in our ability to host you when visiting our beautiful country for business.

Yours sincerely,


Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is one of the more upmarket Holiday Inns and this is my second stay so I knew what I was expecting.

Which is: reasonable sized room, nice, clean bathroom, reasonable food (and excellent Chardonnay) and a good location for doing business in and around Sandton.

What I was not expecting was wifi that did not support a Skype voice call without breaking up. Or a tatty hotel car that lacked seatbelts in the rear (the shoulder belt was there, the lock-in clip on the seat was not) and drivers who texted/called on their mobile phones while driving.

The staff are attentive but perhaps not so well trained/experienced. I got up at breakfast to grab some more juice and came back to the waitress clearing my table. Ten minutes later, she did the same to the chap a couple of tables over. (And while waiting for my airport transfer the young valet out the front commented that I should give him my rand for safekeeping and he would give it back when I returned on my next trip. It was a somewhat funny comment once...but not the fourth time!)

I would stay again, but I'll also price the InterContinental around the corner next trip, as it's closer to the mall and I've found their staff are usually more experienced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tghu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Tghu V,

Thank you for your frank comments on your recent and second stay with us.

Our sincere apologies for the slow internet connectivity during your stay with us. Unfortunately, we rely on the data feed available to the Sandton area (and South Africa for that matter) which is sometimes insufficient for application such as Skype, depending on the volumes used by other hotel guests at that time. We are however in the process of obtaining an additional fiber glass cable connection for the hotel which will significantly impact the quality of our internet connectivity at the hotel.

Furthermore, we will investigate your comments around the service provided by our transport partner at the hotel and take action accordingly as clearly your experience is far below the standard we like to offer to each and every guest and therefore inexcusable.

We do however hope that this does not deter you from staying at the Holiday Inn Sandton again soon upon your return to South Africa!

Warm regards,

Burnedette Botha - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $112 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing