We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good - but location is not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel 3 times between 2008 and 2010. Nice rooms, good service. No Gym to speak off - what they have as a fitness facility is dismal. Hotel is located on the outskirts of Sandton, so if you want to venture out to the main shopping and dining area in Sandton you will need to walk for 15-20 minutes... not the safest of feelings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vereg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stays with us between 2008 and 2010.

We are proud to announce that the Hotel offers a free shuttle service to our guests to and from Sandton CBD which includes the main shopping mall and dining areas alike. All our guests have access to the state of the art reputable Fitness Centre which is just a stone throw away from the property, both our reception and concierge teams will gladly assist with such arrangements.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

BR,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 695 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in Sandton on a friend's recommendation during a layover. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. The in-house restaurant was very mediocre and the breakfast buffet was too expensive so we did not eat it. Actually we didn't eat it because our 0830 wake-up call never came so we slept in and nearly missed our flight. This was also partly because the bed was so comfortable. We were within walking distance of Nelson Mandela Square which is just a shopping mall. Fine for lunch, but nothing to write home about. We didn't even consider leaving the hotel after nightfall due to what appeared to be a lack of nightlife within walking distance. Overall, our stay was good, but not good enough to justify the rather significant airport transfer cost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJekyll_SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Traveler,

We are delighted for having had the opportunity and platform to be at your service after recommendation from one of our Ambassadors.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you found the "Inn Crowd" friendly as we strive to be hospitable to all our guests and pride ourselves on the Stay Real philosophy that we all live by, “Genuine People delivering Real Service” We are proud to confirm that the comfort of our beds is based on the 100 % cotton and 200 thread count used on our crispy fresh linen.

Our location is ideal as the shopping arenas in and around Sandton are definite draw cards when travelers choose their lodging destinations. The well informed hotel’s Concierge Team will be pleased to offer their assistance with any information pertaining to the night life in and around Sandton on your next visit in town.

Holiday Inn Sandton’s breakfast and airport tariffs are in line with other properties within the vicinity, it is unfortunate that it was perceived a bit pricy. Please accept are since apologies for not receiving your Wake Up Call whilst lodging with us, itt is with absolute regret that it happened as our Front Office team is trained to carry out such daily procedures efficiently. Your feedback was shared with our dedicated management team who will ensure that such service lapses are rectified.


Looking forward to welcoming you back in soon !!

Best Regards,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Nice place, brand new, but need to work on service. Why? Minibar is empty and will be filled on request, the sky bar? Closed. Went to the bar in the lobby in stead and asked for a pina colada, bar tender didn't know the ingredients and send me to the sky bar. Which is closed..
Room is ok, but not very clean. Hair in shower and stains on the dark door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesheikhfromdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Holiday Inn Sandton.

We are delighted that you found us to be fast and efficient for we aim to consistently offer our guests the best possible service and product.

I would like to apologise for the unpleasant experiences that were experienced at our Bar’s and in the room on behalf of the Food & Beverage and Housekeeping teams. It is with absolute regret that this happened as our teams are trained to deal with such daily procedures efficiently. We however thank you for your feedback as it gives us an opportunity to rectify the service lapses and to furthermore work on the areas where we failed to deliver the warm Hospitality that we are best known for.

The “INN CROWD’s” management team commits to ensuring that vigorous refresher training is done with all the team members involved, and we sincerely hope that our assurance and commitment with regards to dealing with the concerns raised by yourself will have a positive influence on your opinion and confidence in booking with the Holiday Inn Sandton again.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon,

At your service,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The key issue I had with my room was the use of single glazed windows, which in my room also didn't close/seal properly, meaning that I got a lot of road and people noise from Rivonia Rd. This made it quite difficult to get to and remain asleep.

I was also surprised that when you remove your door key from the slot inside the door it switches off all the power to the room (except the TV surprisingly) including the power points meaning that one night I went to dinner to arrive back to a completely drained laptop. I can see turning off lights and aircon is a good idea but shutting down the power points is a very business unfriendly feature.

Network access was also quite expensive and surprisingly complex in that you not only had to choose time but also a data quota. Was made more annoying when I saw some people apparently being given "complementary" network access later.

The bed was comfortable and the usual choice of firm/soft pillows in the room remains a brilliant idea from Holiday Inn.

The shower was quite okay especially for water volume, except the water pressure kept changing slightly throughout meaning I was constantly forced to adjust the temperature. The finish in the bathroom was also fairly poor especially in the tile work and quite a lot of dirty seals.

The air conditioning also worked pretty well.

Finally more a gripe but when travelling alone and choosing to eat in the hotel I prefer being able to sit in a less formal setting like the bar. In this case you only have the option of sitting in the restaurant as there is no bar menu and apparently no possibility of having the food from the restaurant served in the bar, which is adjacent.

The common areas were nicely spacious and clean and the bar was quite good with nice friendly staff. The restaurant was large and a lot of the tables had their own TV on the wall, which I could see as useful when travelling alone. The food pretty good too and my steak sandwich was perfectly cooked and very tasty though the "shoestring" fries were a little undercooked.

Overall the common areas are good but there are many issues with the rooms themselves, at least the one I was in anyway. The street noise being the key one. Not sure I'd go back again despite being an ICH frequent stayer.

Room Tip: Go for high floor rooms to avoid as much noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton.

We are humbled by the positive feedback regarding certain service aspects received during your stay with us.

The succession of other incidents and disappointments that you were exposed to during your stay are inexcusable service failures that will be addressed to ensure that we eliminate the possibility of this re occurring again in the near future. We are unable to offer free internet services at our Hotel due to the high cost of internet coverage in South Africa and the limited bandwidth available. However as a business traveler we have a package tailor made just for you, our Business Class Room offer that includes internet access and other benefits which comes at a surcharge of only R 350.00 to the standard room rate which is what you might have witnessed as noted above : “Complimentary Network Access”

We fully acknowledge your comments, the management team is taking relevant corrective measures in this regard to rectify areas that needs attention.

We hope that your experience will not deter you to consider our property for future stays.

Yours in Hospitality.

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great services offered by the team in the hotel. Skybar openned until 23 and more if the customers are still in. at walking distance from the Convention Center and Mandela Square (about 10 min without luggage). The hotel shuttle to the airport cost 430 Zar while the train only 105 Zar. the bad side of the train is the schedule for late flights: last one is at 20.30.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BogdanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear Traveler,

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback, we are thrilled to know that you had a pleasant experience whilst visiting out property recently.

Looking forward to hosting you in Sandton again soon!!!

Yours in Hospitality,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hi
I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to the staff for their kindness, friendliness and ever helpful attitude. and especially to Jason Hobbs for making our stay comfortable.We loved stay at the hotel and will definately be back when we come to Johannesburgh again. I have alrealy recomended to collegues, family and friends.

Thank yo once again for your professional and outstanding service

Room Tip: Beautiful views, stunning service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirvana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are truly humbled by your feedback.

Excellence is not an accomplishment, It is a spirit, a never ending process. Positive attitude is the foundation of our Hospitality Career - and the determining factor of our ability to serve.

Customer satisfaction is worthless however Customer loyalty is priceless.

We are “Genuine People delivering Real Service”,Jason Hobbs is truly an asset to the Inn Crowd Family.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and to hosting your extended family !!!!

Humbled,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I only stayed one night, and I didn't eat or drink in the hotel, but can confirm the Front Desk is world-class, the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It definitely helps if you're a Priority Club member, for free wi-fi, free parking, and a few other little luxuries. Location is great. I have stayed in all the big Sandton hotels and this is one of the best in terms of price/value. I must also thoroughly recommend the Gautrain. Don't rent a car at the airport, because (if you need one) Avis has a depot directly opposite the Sandton Station. The train takes 20 minutes, and the drive from the airport is an hour (if you don't get lost).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear PCR Member,

Thank you for affording us the opportunity to be at your service.

Your positive feedback is most appreciated. We consistently aim to exceed expectations for we pride ourselves to be part of Great Hotels that Guests Love. As a Priority Club Member, recognition is vital for we value your support.

We reward Loyalty with the luxuries that add a personal touch to our overall guest experience, as Customer satisfaction is worthless HOWEVER Customer loyalty is priceless !!

Hoping to be your host again soon,

BR,

Pontsho Dikobe
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 46 in Sandton
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $101 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing