We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you are staying one night only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok if you are staying one night only”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This really is a basic business hotel designed I think for the busy person that arrives at 8pm and leaves by 7am the next morning. That is the only reason I can think of for the lack of anything at the hotel except for a bed , bathroom and a breakfast area. The staff were lovely cant fault that. A few cheap additions in the room would be great like some foc bottled water or even a mini bar (would have been nice to have a coke or a mini wine in my room). Definately not somewhere to stay for vacation use or for the weekend.
The bed is a small double and I left with an aching back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear AllisonSA,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    60
    16
    15
See reviews for
18
22
7
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If your trip is only few days and your work is in Woodmead or near to it the book here.
There is no swimming pool or gym. There is only one resturant still there people coming to it from outisde the Business Park area.
If you need to do some outs then ask the hotel only to get you a taxi for both trips.
People are so polite and very helpfull. Most of the staff are young people but they are keen on making your stay nice.
The nearst shoopting and eat area is Woodmead Retail (1km away)area still you need a taxi for both trips.
If you rent a car then your life will be easier at night.

The main reason for me to go there was that all my work is in the business park itself.

There is only one resturant, so if your looking for vigitrain, halal, kosher food then probably you need to go out.

There is free tea and coffe in your room and may be the lobby too( they did not charge me in the lobby) there is a 30MB free wifi per day per device also it was fit me.

TV channels are few still you can know what is going around.
This hotel is based on a rate that is saying 'fit to the cost' so don't expect that your in the real luxury one. It is aggod rate for a good service the best fit every thing

Room Tip: Ask for king bed and make sure if you are not somking to be in a non smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Need to be between the two cities with easy access to the highway in all directions, then this Holiday Inn is a good option. We dont really want out be out at night in Joburg, so the in house Butcher Block Restaurant is a huge attraction. Clean, new rooms are nice. The low enery lighting in the room makes it difficlut to see, and the girls complained that it was difficlut to do makeup. Depending on my needs in the area, I would stay here again as the pricing is attractive.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank terryelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a stock-standard Holiday Inn Express situated close to the highway in Woodmead Office Park. This gives it easy accessibility, but of course it is not within walking distance of anything. The service was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. This is perfect for a one-night stay after later arrival from the airport and allows you to get to you meetings early the next morning (which is what we did).

Definitely an affordable short-stay no-frills business hotel. NOT recommended for leisure use. My only complaint would be the lack of proper coffee (after hours) and the silly 30MB internet allowance. This is not acceptable for a "business hotel".

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the road, for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear kobuse,

Thank you for your review of your stay via Tripadvisor. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good quality of our rooms and service. I am sorry some aspects did not meet your expectations. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Sandton. Thank you again.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
131 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

It looks like a pretty new hotel, modern design, fresh look. But there are tons of problems. I moved to a different room because the AC didn't work. Then the water in the shower didn't rinse away and the maintenance had to come and fix the clogged pipes. The free internet is only for up to 30Mb per day. That gives you about 45 minutes with an iPhone...
Breakfast was really good and free. Although the coffee/chocolate machine was out of order. Then one more comment. They are very anal about letting you pay before you get your room. Or they pre-authoroze your card. This causes huge lines at the reception.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear gobitz,

Thank you for your review. I certainly apologize for the issues you encountered and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel is in an interesting environment amongst offices, a nice place to stay over if you are travelling to Pretoria in the morning for a meeting and do not want to be held in traffic.

The Express hotels are generally really difficult to be fair to when making an evaluation, because of the market in which they are designed to operate, but they are still 3-star hotels and there are expectations because they charge a price that should provide a service, which they don't provide!

Personally, I didn't like the reception arrangement, the breakfast food nor the fact that I had to go and pick up my room service dinner downstairs, I thought the whole idea of "room service" is food delivered to the comfort of your room!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I booked some of the family into the hotel for Christmas due to the excellent service i had before. No complaints again. The staff is superb and the rooms are very good.

Double rooms are big and also have a sleeper couch...

The area is right next to a massive mall. There is also news cafe where you can have a few drinks and relax.

Overall a stunning place for both teens and adults!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leacp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
4.5 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
747 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
1.6 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
3.5 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
156 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Address: 54 Maxwell Drive, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Woodmead, Sandton. The hotel is located in the heart of a major business district in Sandton. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity to the newly built shopping mall. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead features 155 contemporary style bedrooms individually air conditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit box and televisions. Holiday Inn Express Woodmead is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Hotel Sandton
Sandton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing