We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 224 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Bull Run is next door to the Protea Hotel Balalaika. For dinner, I tried out their beef burger, which was very juicy and priced right. During lunchtime, they have an outdoor takeout stand and everything is made to order right in front of you. Their rice and curry is very good along with their wraps. Service was decent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear ‘ BayAreaTraveler6’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    251
    84
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love the streaks here...not fussy...you get good quality food...but well cooked. Good service, nice staff, good menu...even for non meat eaters....!!!
I always return here when in Joburg!-that says it all really.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear ‘Sarahws888’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your loyal patronage is greatly appreciated and we are truly pleased that your dining experiences have been so positive.
We look forward in spoiling you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Myself and a colleague have stayed at the adjoining hotel for 4 nights, and have eaten in here every night. The food has been delicious, with steaks cooked to perfection every time. Service is excellent, with all staff friendly and very helpful. I hope to come back here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ‘CGinger’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise about your service experience is much appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing a great job!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Friendly excellent service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I ate her twice, once with my wife, once with a large group of friends. On both occasions the staff were friendly and efficient giving good advice about wine selections from a selection total foreign to my experience. Food was served quickly and apart from a fish dish being a little over cooked, everything we were served was excellent with particularly good salads and fresh vegetables. Certainly this is not the best restaurant ever but as an augmentation to a hotel it is more than adequate and is easily recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear ‘John P’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We are very pleased to read that your all round service experiences had been positive.
We look forward to your future patronage.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service...”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having a light afternoon meal after that gruesome meeting with prospective clients and the smile and eager to serve attitude of the waiters is all but so uplifting. Down to the menu the options are plenty and the waiters is so glad to give us time to take a pick. If there is one thing that I can take out of this experience its the service....perfect- 10 on that guys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harmam-Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ‘Harman-Global’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing