We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service...”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 220 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service...”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having a light afternoon meal after that gruesome meeting with prospective clients and the smile and eager to serve attitude of the waiters is all but so uplifting. Down to the menu the options are plenty and the waiters is so glad to give us time to take a pick. If there is one thing that I can take out of this experience its the service....perfect- 10 on that guys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harmam-Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ‘Harman-Global’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    251
    84
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
“Phil, John and Richard from the UK”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Here in Sandton on business and we have just had venison, steak fillet and ostrich. You have to come here and try this, let alone the rest of the menu. Ask for Vusi he is an excellent waiter, the whole concept is great everyone is friendly and make you feel so welcomed.

The BUTCHERS SHop is good BUT not as good as THe BUll REstaurant, here you can sit back and relax and enjoy the evening.

Helpful?
Thank holidaydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ‘holidaydanger’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise about Vusi in particular is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to pass it on to him.
We look forward to your future patronage.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“When next in the area, I'll definitely go back”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were wandering through the area, trying to find a better option for dinner than our
**** hotel, and came across The Bull Run. What a pleasant surprise!

It was a perfect evening, so lovely to have sat outside surrounded by trees, despite being
in the very heart of Sandton. In winter, it would be lovely to sit inside because there's a
big fireplace, which would make it very cosy. Then too, the service was efficient and
friendly.

Neither my companion nor I were particularly hungry, so we only ordered a salad and
the cheese platter, so we can't make a comment on the quality of more substantial
dishes. But what we did have was very good, and very nicely presented. Price was ok,
for Sandton. Even the drinks were substantially cheaper than what we'd have paid at
our nearby hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NautieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ‘NautieZA’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. This is much appreciated. How wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a pleasant one.
We look forward in your future patronage.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Inside not Out”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Bull Run has a captive market for hotel residents who are pressed for time and who want to eat without ordering in.

The first 2 meals were taken outside and have been commented on in a previous post. Friendly service but unimpressive food, incomplete service and expensive wine. (I noticed after the meal that inside patrons were given finger bowls when eating baby chicken, but clearly outside patrons are expected to take the KFC route).
By contrast, on evenings 3 & 4 I chose to eat inside the restaurant and it was a totally different experience. I took note of the waiters comment when asking about the fish, that "our specialty is our meat", so opted for a fillet. Well done and good taste. Too heavy though when still needing to go back and work for half the night.
Night 4 (before a major assessment the following day), I was ready for a lighter sea-food option, so took a gamble on the kingklip. The gamble indeed paid off, and I was very happy with the choice.
In my opinion, the wine is overpriced, but maybe it is simply because that's what you pay in Sandton.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The steaks were amazing and the service is excellent. Was staying at the Balalaika hotel with two grown up boys who had their wisdom teeth removed. The Bull Run went out of their way to cater a special meal for them to eat. What service!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear ‘Sandra F’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. We are pleased to read that
your ‘ 2 boys’ were able to enjoy a special, delicious meal, despite having had their wisdom teeth removed. It is of great importance to us, to make sure that all our PATRON’S needs are catered for and that they feel at home.
We look forward to welcome you all back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing