We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 259 Restaurants in Sandton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ate there 3 times during the last week.
Very friendly staff
Good and exact cooked meet
Nicely decorated
Reasonable price
Glass of wine , veggies, fillet minion and desert cost me 33$

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PurpleLadybug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear ‘PurpleLady_11’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jöerg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 730 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

World class steaks and wine. The indoor and outdoor areas are colonial in decor and it was busy. It is right beside the balalika which is also a great place to be.

Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘AlanC’.
Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Because my husband is an airline pilot, we travel quite a lot. The Bull Run is a restaurant known to pilots for their amazing food, cool atmosphere and generous drinks. This is why pilots tell other pilots to eat here on Jo-Burg layovers.

We visited the restaurant on a weekday in the middle of the afternoon. The weather was perfect so we sat at a table right by an open window/wall. We were warmly greeted by Edward, our waiter, and he proved to be both professional and laid back at the same time. His service timing was perfect, he was patient when explaining unfamiliar menu items, like spicy wors and pap, and he really made our meal and experience perfect. The prices were reasonable and the portion sizes were quite large. The food was flavorful and yummy!

If you find yourself in Johannesburg, you definitely need to visit The Bull Run!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ishopwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘ishopwell’.
How wonderful to read that you and your husband enjoyed your Bull Run experience so much. Thank you for writing it on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise about Edward in particular is also very much appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated him for doing such a great job!
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had such a good time at Bull Run.

We were a group of 6 and fancied a nice peace of South African meat...

The setting and atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice and vibrant, always busy here.
The menu is very straight forward: you pick your meat (from sirloin, ribs, baby chicken, ostrich, t bones...) then you choose your side dishes and sauces...very simple to understand...

Our Waiter Victor was helpful and polite. The red house blend tasted amazing with the food we had(my recommendation) . Service was quick and efficient....and the best part : the value for your money is absolutely great !

I would recommend this restaurant, even to my enemies ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘Tobi1985’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your positive feedback is much appreciated. We were delighted to read that you and your colleagues had such an awesome time with us and that you enjoyed your meals so much. Thank you for praising Victor; this means a lot to him (and us).
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed a filet cooked with jalapeno peppers and cheese. Tender and flavorful. Service was a bit hectic but adequate. Wait for food not too long. Came in a group of 6 and all went away satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘DanielG’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you and your friends enjoyed your meals.
We look forward in welcoming you and your friends back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing