We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beef”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 240 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed a filet cooked with jalapeno peppers and cheese. Tender and flavorful. Service was a bit hectic but adequate. Wait for food not too long. Came in a group of 6 and all went away satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘DanielG’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you and your friends enjoyed your meals.
We look forward in welcoming you and your friends back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 490 of 713 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

While the food is always excellent, the wines can be even better! With the expertise of Clive V., we always have the perfect pairing...and an overabundance of it! Many thanks to all the lively, friendly staff (Irene at the front desk, waiters Patrick & Kyle) and the very accomplished kitchen for making our dinner such an experience. It's such a treat to come dine...again and again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear ‘Katie N’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. We are delighted to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. Your praise especially about Clive, is greatly appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated him for doing a great job.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is at the Protea Hotel Balalaika and due to the convenience of my stay, I went for dinner there on my first night. The service took too long to come up with my order, but it was worth the wait. The meat was really tasty and cookies the way I ordered as recommended by the waiter. For desert, I had the double chocolate brownies, that were not bad either.
All and all the food was very good only the service needed a little more attention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DoCamandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear ‘DoCamandro’.
We were delighted to receive your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’, which was greatly appreciated.. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your steak so much.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant one evening during our stay at the Protea Hotel Balalaika in upscale Sandton. The restaurant is adjacent to the hotel and dinner can be charged to room. Menu was conveniently quoted in US dollars, Euros and British pound equivalents of the South African Rand. Nobody raved about their dinners and a couple of people sent steaks back, as they were overcooked, but in general food was good. Entrees were served with choice of starch. Other items were ala carte. My husband and I shared an order of good creamed spinach. Nightly specials are offered. Nice variety of wines. Considering we were a party of 14 and asked for separate checks, service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G1032AJbarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant is attached to the Protea Hotel Balaika Sandton  Hotel. The menu is interesting. As the spot is located opposite the South African Stock Exchange, menu items are listed like commodities being traded. Once we figured that out, it was easy to select the ala carte selections. We were a large party of 14 and our waiter handled everything well, including separating out several checks for our group. As the restaurant highlights beef, just about everyone ordered a steak or hamburger. Several steaks were overcooked, but replaced quickly with properly cooked ones. The salads were large and easily served two people. The Greek salad we split was so good I ordered it for lunch the next afternoon. Steaks were tender and tasty. The side of vegetables was also a huge portion. Prices were reasonable, service was good, and we would look forward to future meals if we were ever here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg Z, Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear ‘darbymo’.
We were delighted to receive your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is great to know that any shortcomings which had been brought to our attention and that we were given the chance to immediately rectify them. It is of great importance for us that our Patrons feel comfortable and that they enjoy their meal.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing