We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some good bits some not!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A very pleasant looking hotel but it's situation is not great with nothing much around it. Taxi to a local restaurant was a bit of a rip off, The hotel rooms were very pleasnt - very clean and breakfast was pretty good. The bar area is small but ok. The oddest thing about the place is a lack of a lift. It is a modern hotel built over four floors and the lack of a lift is very strange - and it is needed,!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're from the UK then the most accurate comparative for this hotel is that it's like a Travelodge. I've stayed probably 3 or 4 times and it is just about acceptable. Rooms are small, the beds are a bit short and they have that nasty 'sheet plus synthetic blanket' combination. Breakfast is pretty good but there is no restaurant serving food in the evening, so plan to either go out or order take away. NB there is nowhere within walking distance, basically you need a car if you're staying here. Finally it's pretty noisy from the numerous large roads nearby! Staff are all polite and helpful. WiFi (not free) usually works but not always.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here in Feb - March 2011. We arrived very late after a 24hr trip. The rooms (6) had been paid for by our company months before but we were asked to pay again....we had been advised this might happen so asked them to "please check again" and they found our booking!! :) The rooms are clean, comfy and well decorated, nice bathroom with large shower. Coffee facilities also. The only downside were the ants...but my perfume soon killed a few off!

Breakfast is very good, full slection and freshly made items. Take a muffin with you for the day, we all collected one and gave it to our driver as a treat! There isn't food in the evening but you can call up lots of places like Pizza and Nandos for food, very cheap. We did order Chicken Pitta's one night and due to our accents ended up with 6 lots of Chicken livers! Try the Brutal Fruit, its a cider in lots of flavours, I think we drank them dry!

All in all a nice place, felt safe and looked after. The fish in the lake behind are enormous!! Take or get supplies before you go back to the hotel, once you are back you stay there!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairs! Take a morning muffin after breakfast! Try the Brutal Fruit Cider!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Looking at the hotel from outside you can see something wonderful!
It is really clean and all the staff is really kind BUT:
- there isn't the elevator (my room was at the third floor)
- in the room I didn't have a safe-deposit box
- the only water you can havem you have to buy it from an automatic distributor, also during the breakfast (when I asked for some water, the girl answered me that I should had to buy it from the distributor)
- no restaurant in the hotel, there is a take-away service that bring you everything (good meat), but you will have your lunch/dinner pratically in the lobby.
- good breakfast
- safe place (and here in Johannesburg is really important)
- free wifi only 15 minutes per day, if you want more you have to pay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiPiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Roodepoort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your comment. Town Lodge Roodepoort is a two star hotel which we as a group believe offers above average two star services. We are glad that you received good service and found the hotel clean and safe. Some of the other services and facilities that you mention - such as room safe, coffee shop etc - are available at our three star City Lodge brand which is well represented in the Johannesburg area. Once again, many thanks for you comments which we will certainly evaluate more closely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Very courteous and helpful staff – had a wait for check in but we were there about 10am, and were served tea/coffee and muffins while we waited. Rooms on the small side but well laid out and clean, large bathrooms and shower – no bathtub. Breakfasts were good, no in-house restaurant but can order-in from selected local restaurants’, which one of our party did one night and found the food good and reasonable. The in-house taxi service is reliable but expensive, check prices before booking. The best thing about this hotel is its staff whom are delightful and extremely helpful and friendly, a particular mention for Glorious at reception an asset to any employer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dees-Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pberbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Roodepoort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
64 reviews
5.7 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
All Suite on 14th
All Suite on 14th
#32 of 66 in Johannesburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
14.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Roodepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Roodepoort

Address: 1 Constantia Boulevard | Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort 1709, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Price Range: $74 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Roodepoort 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to the N1 highway just off 14th Avenue in Roodepoort, this lodge offers business and leisure guests 106 rooms in a variety of double, inter-leading and twin configurations. It comprises features synonymous with Town Lodges around the country – such as spacious rooms with maxi showers, ample free parking, a swimming pool, breakfast facilities and an evening bar service. It offers ideal accommodation for visitors to the rapidly growing western edge of Greater Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Town Lodge Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Roodepoort Hotel Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing