We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery and a nice place to relax”

Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$157.64*
and up
Gardens in the City Private Tour in Johannesburg
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Roodepoort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to an Eden hidden in the West Rand of Gauteng where beautiful nature welcomes visitors and the rushing water of the Witpoortjie Waterfall, gushing from a height of 70 metres, soothes and revitalises careworn city-dwellers. The garden is home to a pair of breeding Verreaux's Eagles (Black Eagles) which have become proud symbols of this majestic garden. Walking, hiking, picnics, exercising, bird watching, relaxing, nature appreciation, are some of the popular activities of visitors to the garden.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Vietnam
Level Contributor
247 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and a nice place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I came here a few times during my time spent in South Africa. It is a great place to chill, have a picnic and go on hikes taking the trails through the park. The waterfalls are beautiful and when flowing with water make a great photo. I was lucky enough to see eagles flying and making nests while I was there, and there is lots of information available on the nesting eagles. A great day out and caters for all ages.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    129
    19
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place for true R&R”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were a group of about 20 friends. The expanse of space, lush green lawn and ample trees ensured that we found probably the best picnic spot I've ever had! We even had a view of the mountains and falls from where we sat! The R30.00 entrance fee is clearly well used as the park is beautifully maintained with perfectly trimmed lawn and plants and neat walkways. The presence of the porters in the parking area was definitely a plus point as with any picnic, there's loads to cart around so having the porter service really helped. Rest rooms were clean however one of the taps was oozing green goo - a bit of a turn off but other than this, it was a fantastic day out!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MamtaMithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithopman, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear MamtaMithal

Thank you for writing a review of the Botanical Garden, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will return again with your family and friends. We must apologise for the problem eith the tap, please take the time to mention any issues to any of our staff in future so that we can address it immediately.

Kind regards
Andrew Hankey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My Favourite Place Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I would say I am at the Gardens 4-5 times a week and there is never a dull moment! From the beautiful waterfall up to the peaceful and tranquil hut that watches over the Sasol Dam. I commend the staff who keep the garden clean as every visit is free from litter! I recommend going on an early walk just as the gardens open to capture the ultimate beauty from the gardens as the morning glow shines through the trees of the Woodland Walk and the grass shines like glass from the morning dew. Thank you!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithopman, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Kenton V

Thank you for your kind review of the gardens. Its always encouraging when visitors recognize the amount of work and dedication that goes into developing and maintaining a venue such as this.
We hope you continue to visit as regularly and enjoy the changes and improvements we are planning in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Gauteng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I rate this place BEST VALUE FOR MONEY and BEST FAMILY OUTING. It's always immaculately clean because of the no bins policy, Thankfully no one is allowed to braai or bring any balls or bikes. The kids love the mini train and of course the waterfall. We are always on the lookout for tortoises, interesting bugs, birds and of course the eagles. Everytime we come, improvements are made : new indigenous gardens, kids play areas etc, but all the while not detracting from the natural charm of this haven in the midst of Johannesburg.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithopman, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Yasmin L

Thank you for your kind review of the Walter Sisulu National Botanical Garden. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy visiting and appreciating the work we do as well as all the mini beasts and natural environments which we are very proud of.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A break from city life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

On a bright sunny day, during a weekend, you know there will be hardly any parking. So come early to get the best spot.

The park is well maintained, excellent place to have a picnic with family and friends. Als a great place forva brisk walk. Inside the park you'll find a restaurant that caters a wide viriaty. This too can be busy during lunch time on a sunny day.

There is a hall that caters for venues, but not too much in tge public eye, but isn't that private either. There's a mini concert podium with the occasional performance.

There are different paths/trails for an easy hike where you can stop and learn/read tge info boards on plants and animals.

Really safe, beautiful place too get a away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Just remember your sunscreen and entry fee. Especially worth visiting during the summer months.

Helpful?
Thank Hedri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithopman, Manager at Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Blom17

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Sisulu Garden, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you coming to enjoy the garden again, maybe in winter this time!

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing