We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling start.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Appalling start.....”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My colleague and I arrived with five cases and would have expected a bell-boy to at least offer help but no such staff member appeared. The initial welcome from the check-in desk was nice but then with a confirmed reservation for two rooms at the Protea Roodepoort, you have to ask yourself why the check-in process took 40 minutes. The check-in clerk seemed to be clueless. Only one of the two rooms reserved had been entered into their system.

Room is OK, reasonably spacious, but basic. No wardrobe or drawers, just a small hanging rail. Bathroom is perhaps the best feature of the room, although still a no frills experience.

Internet (up to 100mb) is included in the cost of the room which is a bonus, although accessing the service was a mission in itself, requiring half a dozen calls and eventually a visit to the front desk.

Use the shuttle service if travelling to the airport, the taxi fare will set you back ZAR700.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear GUEST,

I refer to your recently completed GUEST Feedback on trip advisor. On behalf of the management and STAFF at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

I wish to confirm that I have personally followed up on your comments and rectified the shortcomings in our service that you have brought to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to report your constructive criticism as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.

Your interest and concern are truly invaluable to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance whatsoever.

Yours sincerely

Thabo Rafuthu
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
4
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms are quite cosy & comfortable. The staff is very warm. However you can find couple of issues (like broken light etc) here & there which will not be easily resolved even after complaining. The only food served there is a buffet breakfast, which is pretty average. I have stayed there 4 times so far & experience has been similar all the times. During my last trip - I was staying at 4th floor and the lift was not working for 1 full day!

There is no gym & no swimming pool

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prateek2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear GUEST,

We are in receipt of your GUEST Feedback regarding your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort.Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the unresolved complaints you brought to our attention as well as the dysfunctional lift.We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard. All GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our hotel TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they are.

We appreciate your bringing the shortcomings and problems you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. We can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and addressed with the people concerned, and that corrective action has been taken.
We continually strive to deliver excellent GUEST service and ongoing training will be done with all of our STAFF to address these matters.

With that being said, I would like to inform you that we have recently upgraded our kitchen and we are now serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Assuring you of our best service and personal attention at all times!

Kind Regards,

Thabo Rafuthu
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Its no exaggeration to say this was one of my worst check in experiences ever.

The woman at reception could not find my reservation, and made no effort to try and look any further than her nose. She was completely unhelpful. I find this to be a fairly consistent experience with Protea Group hotels.

The lift was also not working.

As far as the room goes it was actually pretty good. Newly renovated and fairly spacious.

Tolerable for an overnight stay, but anything more complex than a simple bed and shower would be unbearable.

There is no good food inside of 10km of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaheergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sma N, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr Goodman,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback through trip advisor. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvinience and the discomfort that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback regarding the unaccepatable standard of service certainly does not reflect the high standard Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ussualy proud to offer.

I can confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvinienced in this way again.

Without your comments, we would never know when we are going right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong. Thank you for assisting us to strive for excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to the Protea Hotel Roodepoort again.

Yours Sincerely

Thabo Rafuthu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roodepoort hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We recently had the privilege of staying at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort recently.

Check in was smooth and painless, and we offered either a juice or water at check in.
The room is a basic room, but nothing fancy, with a small space to hang your clothes, tea and coffee making facilties. It does have a reasonable size flat screen TV, a double bed and a sleeper couch and also a workspace. A plus point for visitors from outside South Africa, is that there is a multi plug point that can accommodate various types of plugs.

The bathroom is basic, with just a shower and basin. Toiletries are the usual Protea Hotel brand. The shower works well.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, although when we asked for exrtra coffee sachets, we never received them.

The buffet breakfast was standard fare. Enjoyable and well laid out.

The hotel is situated in a business park, and has a Spur Restaurant adjacent, and a Green and Gold Sports bar within waiking distance. We did not make use of the Spur, but went to Green and Gold for a couple of drinks, and were impressed with the menu.

All in all I would recommend the Protea Roodepoort as a good business hotel, and a convenient gateway to places such as the Cradle of Humankind and other attactions to the West of Joburg.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sma N, Marketing Plan Co-ordinator at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Valued GUEST,

We highly appreciate the great response you wrote on Protea Hotel Roodepoort. Please be advised that it is such feedback that gives us courage to contiue meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at Protea Hotel Roodepoort.

Yours Sincerely
Sma Ndlela
Marketing Plan Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The rooms were clean.Much improved since new owners have taken over,and renovated.
However they are not large,even the suites(think NYC).The staff very helpful and the breakfast good(you pay extra).I would put my business guests there no problem for short term stays.

Room Tip: There's a spur restaurant next door,and a fabulous mall,Clearwater within a mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
25 reviews
5.2 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
37 reviews
8.7 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#39 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
9.3 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
461 reviews
10.0 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Roodepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Property: Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Address: corner of 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street | Weltevreden Park, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roodepoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing