We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Business Meeting Done Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amadwala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amadwala Lodge
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Business Meeting Done Right”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Christine and her staff are so lovely and accommodating. I was there with a small group of twelve holding a meeting, and everyone went to great lengths to make sure we had everything we wanted or needed. The service is very personalized and gracious, making changes at the last minute when important guests dropped in for dinner.

The food is delicious and very fresh. It was so comforting to have home cooked food during a business meeting. It was set away from the city, so it was nice and quiet. The ambiance was great for concentrating on work without feeling cooped up because there were plenty of lovely outside spaces to occupy. For someone who wants to get around Joburg quickly, this place might feel out of the way, but it was really just what our group was looking for.

In the winter, it's good to be aware that the cabins get cold as they are not insulated. However, there were wonderful electric blankets to chase away the night time chill, and the shower water was always piping hot (Jacuzzi tubs don't hurt either!). A wise traveler always brings plenty of layers anyhow.

There aren't a lot of extras in the rooms--no TV and no wireless--but there is plenty of coffee, tea and a little refrigerator and the management was more than happy to help guests access the internet when needed, and obtain anything else that was needed or accidentally left at home.

Some of the cabins are located along pathways that are pretty dark at night, so be very upfront if you have mobility issues. Some cabins may not be right for you. However the grounds are extremely secure; it is gated and there is always a guard on duty at night. In a cosmopolitan city like Joburg, which does have a lot of crime, it was wonderful to feel so safe and cared for.

I would absolutely come back to Amadwala if I'm ever in Joburg again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
38
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Nice place not to far from Joburg for a getaway. The only complaints that I had was that our room was noisy as it was near a busy road and we waited forever for our food to be served. The rest was great, nice setting, nice rooms, jacuzzi in the room and good service.

Room Tip: Make sure its away rfom the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A little piece of heaven on earth!
Thank you to Christine and staff of the Amadwala Lodge who catered to our every need and truly made our week end away amazing!The accommodation is clean,cozy and very beautiful and staff really know the meaning of "Customer care" !
To be in such tranquil surrounds so close to home is really fantastic!

A Rare Find indeed!
And last but not least-Roxy,who greeted us every morning while waiting for Breakfast!Thank you for making our stay that much more special!

Definitely worth the Visit!So worth the visit that we will be doing a photo shoot at the venue very soon!

Varisha & Vaughn

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were due to stay at the lodge on the first day of our honeymoon. We paid in full six months in advance for the honymoon suite for 2 nights and 2 airport transfers. This was a large amount of money. We arrived at Jo'burg airport after a 20hr flight expecting a member of staff from the lodge to be waiting for us, this was not the case. After several fraught telephone conversations we discovered that Amadwala lodge had no record of our booking, eventhough we quoted our reference number to them and had all of our paper work to hand. To cut a very long story short we had to find alternative accommodation and arrange our own transport (incurring the extra costs!). We were assured that once we had provided proof of our booking we would be refunded. 3 months, numerous emails and a LOT of stress later Amadwala Lodge are not responding to emails and have NOT refunded our money, despite accepting they owed us money in a previous email. As far as we are concerned they have stolen money from us. We now know they are a totally untrustworthy company.

Room Tip: Do not book a room - can't be trusted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike_williams_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I spent a large period of time on and off at Amadwala over 3 months and had one of the best experiences of my life! i highly recommend whether you are passing through, wanting to visit Johannesburg or just want a beautiful getaway from the normal hectic everyday life style! this place is relaxed naturally beautiful and quiet! you get to escape to a little bit of heaven! staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and gave me the whole African experience! loved it! only problem is over the time there they got me saying 'Yah' instead of 'Yeah' !! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metcow_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Two of us stayed in the chalet rooms for 3 nights, 2 at the start of a tour and one at the end. The chalets are very spacious and nicely layed out. Bathrooms were big and included a jacuzzi and separate shower (always hot). The views over the hills to the west of Jo'burg are lovely and the whole site is beautifully decked out with wooden features and a well stocked bar. Best of all though must be the staff. The owners were very friendly and good fun, a real family atmosphere. They were happy to arrange tours for us and are close to Soweto and lion and rhino parks. After a very tiring tour it was great to spend our final night back at Amadwala and talk over our experiences with the owners. In the morning our airport taxi broke down on its way to get us and Chris, the owner, immediately offered to drive us to the airport herself so we were not late. Not what you would expect to get in a normal hotel.
Overall, a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeyBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Staff are fantastic the facilities are good but they charge R350 to/from Lanseria airport and R500 to/from JoBurg International and the city. Complete rip off and left a bad impression. We were going to stay at the end of our intrepid trip but didn't due to these charges. If you are on a trip with intrepid avoid this place if you can at the end by getting a drop off at the airport or if your guides are nice, in town.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowrow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
3.8 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
445 reviews
5.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
59 reviews
5.8 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Silver Birch
Silver Birch
#3 of 27 in Roodepoort
46 reviews
3.1 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Ruimsig
3.3 mi away
Eagles View Guest House
Eagles View Guest House
#4 of 27 in Roodepoort
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadwala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadwala Lodge

Property: Amadwala Lodge
Address: 203 Pierre Road | Ruimsig AH, Roodepoort 1724, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Roodepoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amadwala Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Amadwala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadwala Lodge Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing