We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Birch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Birch
Ranked #3 of 27 Roodepoort B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The rooms where clean ,linen clean one is given freedom to go around surrounding areas no lock up time key gate given . The owner very welcoming. Suggestions are for breakfast to be served in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
13
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent stay. Clean, neat and a well-served breakfast. I will definitely recommend your guesthouse. I would recommend some snacks for late at night arrives. It is sometimes stressful to drive in Jhb.

Boards well displayed on the route.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. Next time ask us for something to snack on. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay - as usual. Good friendly service, room was clean and well furnished/supplied. Location is perfect for the purpose that we needed it for. We are happy to recommend Silver Birch for stays in the Florida area


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Loius was good to see you again. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umtata
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband is still raving about your place! I've always preferred hotels to B&B's..but Kevin's hospitality changed all that!! The place is clean, safe and the food is divine. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for accomodation in Johannesburg West.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zimkhitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Zimkhitha. Thanks for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Xcellent hospitality. Friendly staff & room were cleaned.
The quiet environment worked great for my focus required. The close proximatimaty of Spar & eating places are ideal. Strongly recommend 2 any 1

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Soekie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmit, Owner at Silver Birch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Soekie

Thanks for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your hospitality. I had a great time at Silver Birch, which is clean, comfortable and secure. The host, Kevin, is incredibly helpful and friendly, and I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a wonderful and restful stay I had at this underrated establishment!! From the moment I arrived until when I had to reluctantly leave, I felt at home and safe. The breakfast offering was also great. Why not pay them a visit to experience it yourself?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
2.1 mi away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.7 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alicia's B&B
Alicia's B&B
#1 of 27 in Roodepoort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homestay Travel Guest House
Homestay Travel Guest House
#6 of 27 in Roodepoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
5.6 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Ruimsig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Birch

Property: Silver Birch
Address: 19 Mulder Street | Ontdekkers Park, Roodepoort 1709, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Roodepoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Birch 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well designed bed and breakfast is set in a tranquil garden and in a safe suburb. We cater for both leisure and business travellers. For the business man its home away from home and for the leisure traveller its a sample of true Soutrh African hospitality We are 3 Star Graded by the SA Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Birch Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing