We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant experience”
Review of Saigon

Saigon
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Rivonia
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I went there with a friend about 2 weeks ago and I really enjoyed it. Nice decor, big terrace overwieing Rivonia road and good vibe. Excellent service, very good food (I loved their dumpplings and their sizzling plate). I asked my husband to brought me back there again for Valentine's day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 137 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoy experiencing different cultures. If you like small bowls of different sauces and bits of this and bits of that to dip in here and there, then you could find it exciting. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, I would do it again - but we did stop by MacDonalds on the way home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Food and experience is absolutely worth going!! Full experience of vietnamese food at its best! Bringing home the vietnamese food experience!
I'll go back again and again!

Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Saigon restaurant is in Rivonia, Johannesburg, about 1km/ 0.6 miles off the freeway.
I went there for a business lunch about a week ago.
It had been over a year since I had gone there before and remembered it as a great restaurant with fantastic food and a great vibe.
This time, it was virtually empty, the food was very average and although the waiter was good and attentive the whole atmosphere was simply non existent.
I did have a slight problem with the cost of one meal and asked the waiter to call the manager as I wanted to speak to him about it.
The waiter returned after a few minutes and said the manager said "he was to busy to talk to me and anyway that was the price so just pay it"
As I stated the restaurant had maybe another 10 guests at the time.
I paid and we walked out, never to return.

1  Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant in June 2013. The sushi was fresh. I had ordered seafood hot plate hoping to be a special experience. It was disappointing in that the actual seafood was very small, perhaps a spoon and a half. Inside there is not a thing that is outstanding, starting with the staff, decor and ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heartensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing