We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting adventure but you will leave hungry”
Review of Saigon

Saigon
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Rivonia
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exciting adventure but you will leave hungry”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoy experiencing different cultures. If you like small bowls of different sauces and bits of this and bits of that to dip in here and there, then you could find it exciting. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, I would do it again - but we did stop by MacDonalds on the way home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WarriorBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    41
    25
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Food and experience is absolutely worth going!! Full experience of vietnamese food at its best! Bringing home the vietnamese food experience!
I'll go back again and again!

Helpful?
Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
280 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What a pity. A great restaurant gone bad. ”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Saigon restaurant is in Rivonia, Johannesburg, about 1km/ 0.6 miles off the freeway.
I went there for a business lunch about a week ago.
It had been over a year since I had gone there before and remembered it as a great restaurant with fantastic food and a great vibe.
This time, it was virtually empty, the food was very average and although the waiter was good and attentive the whole atmosphere was simply non existent.
I did have a slight problem with the cost of one meal and asked the waiter to call the manager as I wanted to speak to him about it.
The waiter returned after a few minutes and said the manager said "he was to busy to talk to me and anyway that was the price so just pay it"
As I stated the restaurant had maybe another 10 guests at the time.
I paid and we walked out, never to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor food and poor experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant in June 2013. The sushi was fresh. I had ordered seafood hot plate hoping to be a special experience. It was disappointing in that the actual seafood was very small, perhaps a spoon and a half. Inside there is not a thing that is outstanding, starting with the staff, decor and ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heartensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big expectations, poor reality”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've wanted to visit Saigon for ages. It's a well-known landmark in Rivonia and one assumes that's because it has staying power.
Very disappointing. Jaded interior. Disinterested staff. Worst of all was that the food came on sizzling skillets and both my partner and I found it to be burned by the time we ate.

Won't go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon also viewed

Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing