We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic and economic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Road Lodge Rivonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Road Lodge Rivonia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic and economic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Jonnesburg durin the Africa Football games and did not have many hotels to choose. The team is very friendly and assisting and the hotel is comfortable as a place to shower and sleep. Breakfast is not included in the hotel price and so is the ... INTERNET!!!! Could not believe it nowadays! Breakfast is continental but sufficient.

Room Tip: Take the side opposite to Rivonia busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
23
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed the night before an overland tour and the 'no frills' operation has made it to Jo'burg. Check-in was tortuous as despite having a voucher for 2 rooms they had logged us in for 1 room and took some persauding the voucher was correct. Given it's not easy to go out at night staying somewhere with no food & beverage offering isn't great when you arrive in the evening after a day's travelling (in the rain). The delivery options were pretty basic and all involved an hour's wait - we gave up. Still the breakfast was good.
Just be prepared for a bed only product.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night after flying into Johannesburg to start an overland tour. The hotel was absolutely fine for this purpose, but I don't think I'd want to stay here for a longer holiday. The rooms were decent sized and clean, but our room was cold (stayed end of June.) The room we stayed in had a separate toilet but the shower opened into the room and just had a glass door - great if you want to watch tv from the shower - perhaps not so great if you end up rooming with someone you have never met before!

The hotel has good security - the gate is locked after dark and there is manned by a guard who will let you in and out. There is a small complex over the road with some good restuarants and shops (and McDonalds - incase you were looking for one!) Breakfast in the morning is good but the breakfast area can get a bit cramped - especially if there are a load of you departing for overland tours with all your baggage. You get 15 mins free wifi everyday - any more than that you can pay for.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in this hotel so ask for a lower down room if you struggle with bags (and make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In_My_Little_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Quite an interesting place to relax. The staff are very accommodating and receptive. I've been opportuned to be there thrice. Always looking forward to spend part of my vacation there yearly. Keep the flag flying...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyOsmondMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Road lodge is sister hotel chains of city lodges....well managed chain...not so for from standton ink a quiet neighborhood. Rooms are smaller but very clean, located walking distance from shopping mall and restaurants!
Wel train staff eager to help...Security is good !
You have to pay extra for Internet, and only local channel on TV....
Take a free muffin every morning FREE!
nice touch!

Room Tip: A Safe and Budget Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dantes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place is OK and better than we expected. The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. It was quiet and we slept well. On our second night we had a room in which the aircon wasn't working, but we didn't need it.
The dining area is small and can get very crowded, so have an early breakfast to avoid the crush. It was buffet style and there was plenty of food.
We saw one staff member smiling, but he was a trainee and his glee hadn't yet been trained out of him. The staff were generally a glum lot. However things got done, just without a smile. Be prepared to carry your luggage up and down stairs as there are no lifts.

We encountered the resident taxi driver. We didn't use his service as we thought his fare to Sandton was expensive. However, we later learnt that it was probably reasonable. We walked the block to Rivonia Mall where there is an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants despite dire warnings from the staff about the risks involved. We found it safe, even at night.

We noticed that there is a Gautrain bus stop outside the hotel and we presume this goes to Sandton station to connect with the Gautrain to the airport. It only runs on weekdays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I often book short term crew members for a TV show into the Road Lodge Rivonia - I have only received positive feedback from them. To top that, the GM is always on top of his game, quickly & effectively responding to queries. I especially appreciated the gesture of being credited an amount that we had paid towards a reservation and didn't end up using. Not very many establishments are willing to do this! Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireSmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
5.5 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
2.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Rivonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Rivonia

Property: Road Lodge Rivonia
Address: Cnr 10th Rivonia Road, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Rivonia 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 km from the Johannesburg airport and situated approximately 2 km from the N1 highway, 2 km from Sunninghill, 5 km from Sandton City and within walking distance of Rivonia Boulevard for shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Road Lodge Rivonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Rivonia Hotel Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing