We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

my husband and I have stayed here on several occasions. Staff and Management are very very helpful and polite. . Receptionist very professional. Cleaning staff so friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Good Wi Fi reception. Breakfast is outstanding, so many choices and good quality of foods.
we will return again and again.

Room Tip: room 39 is great and special for weekend getaways .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coh4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We truly appreciate all the good things you say about Rivonia B&B and we look forward to your future visits. Our very best wishes. Jill & Gerard Marais and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    70
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
131
44
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Am a business person, my office clearly asked on the phone if the place had a good wi-fi. We were told it had but the wi-fi is very very poor... pity they have no respect for people that need to work a few hours in the evening. Lady at reception very unfriendly, they have 50 rooms so they think they run a hotel and you are just a number..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercuriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Your comment regarding the poor Wi-Fi and the unfriendly service is being fully investigated by the owners and the necessary steps will be taken to prevent re-occurrence. Jill & Gerard Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this is a nice place with excellent breakfasts and friendly staff. The location is a fairly convenient near the highway and 15 mins to Sandton. That said, we were on our honeymoon and were given room 40 near the pool...this ended up being very disappointing (especially as we look at photos of what other rooms are like). The room had no AC, the floor was concrete, there is no privacy for showering and the noise was terrible. We were there 2 nights and both mornings, at about 5.30, we were woken by the barking of the neighbors dog who is locked up right outside this room. After that, we were subjected to the noise of staff getting breakfast ready at 6...so needless to say we didn't get good sleeps. As I read the reviews, this is not the first time comments about room 40 are being made.
Overall, I'd give this place another shot but would only hope the room matches the quality of everything else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CF_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay. In good faith our front office upgraded you to a more spacious room with a king-size bed. Online, a smaller room with double bed was booked. Room 40 has been very popular with our business visitors due to its proximity to the office, parking and dining area. This room is obviously not suitable for visitors on vacation and this has been noted by our front office. Rivonia B&B has 50 rooms scattered over 1 hectare and 14 buildings. The rooms range from Standard, as was booked online, to our spacious Superior rooms which have air-conditioning. Our rates range accordingly. Our front office always endeavours to find the most suitable accommodation to meet our guests’ requirements, subject to availability. Should you again wish to stay at Rivonia B&B, please contact our management directly. Kind regards, Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

People are really nice here. Pool is nice. You can cook for yourself. All the materials are provided. And we got an early flight to catch. They arranged everything for us. Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We really appreciated your comments. We do hope that you will visit us again sometime soon.
Regards. Gerard & Jill Marais and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tema, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

When i got to South Africa Airport, Rivonia B&B had already made arrangements for transport to their location. That was a plus which i really appreciated. Afterwards, i was conveyed to and fro my working place. The internet facility was excellent and the services rendered were five star. The workers always wear beautiful smiles to start your day. On weekends, trips to various tourist sites were organised. The rooms and surroundings are always tidy. I would recommend every one travelling to South Africa stop by RIvonia B&B to have a feel of PARADISE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are excited when someone rates our establishment 'Paradise'. Our main aim is to create a special experience for our guests and provide a haven where they feel cared for in a foreign country or city. 'Happy smiles,' I think sums up the attitude of the Rivonia B&B staff. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write in. Gerard & Jill and the whole Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Whenever I travel to SA I stay in B&Bs. There is a personal attention and friendliness in B&Bs that you don't usually find in hotels. I have to say my stay at Rivonia is the best I have had so far. The people were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and kept clean. It's easy to get anything you want. The arrangement for food delivery from local restaurants was more than convenient. Their breakfast is top notch. The garden!!!!! Wow!!! Feels like you are in your own world. Definitely going back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllCee342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Such positive remarks always motivate us to try even harder. We agree, our managers and staff are very special and, with our rambling gardens, we do try to create a welcoming haven for people away from their homes. Best regards. Gerard & Jill Marais & the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My father said, "You are closer to God in the garden than anywhere else on earth", but during my stay in the Garden Paradise of Rivonia B&B I experienced peace and tranquillity of the perfect garden, accommodation as good as any 5-star hotel in the company of such wonderful staff - unassuming, and mindful of only one aim - to make everyone's stay memorable - outstanding breakfasts, where the omelette "with everything" is a work of art, the choice at breakfast is second to none, service level superb including the best laundry service in the whole of Africa - in 27 years on the road I have never enjoyed staying in a hotel quite so much. Indeed one was left to think that this was one garden that could be described as heaven, close your eyes and the staff here could well be mistaken for angels from God.

Room Tip: rooms 43 to 49
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are quite overwhelmed. Your message, so beautifully written, is highly valued by all of us. The laundry staff (who quietly and expertly go about their business) are very excited about getting mentioned, so thank you for that. Go well, and as you know, you will always be welcome in our little 'heaven'. Gerard & Jill and the Rivonia B&B team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 River Road | Gauteng, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, the Barnyard Theatre, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Mouth watering breakfasts, buffet & cooked-to-order, are served daily. Dinners are served Mondays - Thursdays (by arrangement). A shuttle service is available for transfers to & from OR Tambo & Lanseria Airports (charges apply). Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing